We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is a hidden gem. It's located next to the freeway, but not very noisy if you get the room from other side that's facing the street. It's very close to downtown, about 6 min. drive. Room is very clean and comfortable, good breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit and cook your own waffle. highly recommend this place.

only down side is the lack of exercise room and swimming pool. :(
but it does have a heating pool :)

Room Tip: Room opposite of the fwy is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kc302u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hello,

Thanks for the great review! I am glad that our staff was able to provide you with a clean and comfy stay. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our second or third stay there. And no problems. it was welcoming infact. the tront desk clerk- a manager, I think - a Blonde lady was most accommading and friendly...Room was great.
The ONLY disappointment was the breakfast and the area it was in....I know that it is hard to plan for continental breakfasts but the area seemed sterile, antiseptic under glaring light....
Having said that, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.
Thanks,

Room Tip: Pet owners may wish to be near an exit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spokanimal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I do so appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. They are a great group of hard working people that take pride in pleasing the guest whenever possible. We hope to see you again when in the Bellingham area!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed overnight at the guesthouse and was very happy with the free shuttle to the airport. The staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the free breakfast in the morning was an added benefit. A really convenient stay for travelers using the Bellingham airport. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for the complimentary review. Yes, the border can be a challenge and make you late for your flight! I think it is a great alternative to come down the evening before, rent a room and take the shuttle to airport. A guest may leave their car for a week of free parking with their stay. A great deal to be had! Do come see us again and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few months ago and we intended on returning to the same room but forgot to write down which one. We ended up in the same room anyways! Very pleasant stay. This trip was full of activities so little time was spent in the room. Check-in was early but we were accommodated (again)-we live nearby and visit a student at WWU regularly.

The only reason I am not rating the hotel a 5 is the spa was closed for maintenance just one of the timex we had time to go. Not really a noteworthy negative aspect but there weren't any.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! I am glad that we were able to provide you with a comfortable clean stay. Do keep us in mind for the future! We would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times & have always been happy with my room. It is always quiet & clean, with comfortable beds & pillows. The staff is exceptionally friendly & helpful. There are no amenities , but it is still an excellent value. Breakfast is included too. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the freeway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianelaaksonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I truly appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff! They are a great group of hard working people with a spirit unmatched! I will share your compliments with them as well. Please do visit again when in the Bellingham area.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to a GuestHouse Inn. Given the more economy price, we were anticipating a stay of like quality. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was very clean & comfortable, the service was pleasant & the continental breakfast was above average.

A few concerns: bathroom sink would drain painfully slow, the toilet required multiple flushes, and as others have mentioned the I-5 freeway road noise throughout the night was echoing through the room making sleep a challenge (but given the location, that seemed like an unavoidable side-effort of convenience to WWU.)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank TJA_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for your kind words! I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations! Please do visit us again! We look forward to providing you a great rest, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast to start your day.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There are good things about this hotel. It's usually where we stay in Bellingham because it's the best "value" hotel we are aware of in Bellingham. It seems to be generally well run. We've always found the front desk staff pleasant and attentive. The hotel put in new mattresses several years ago, and they are reasonably firm and pretty comfortable. Although the hotel gets a lot of use, you can see the effort made on general upkeep. On our most recent visit the linens were reasonably good, which was not always the case. There are some drawbacks. The daily housekeeping for guests staying multiple days is rather spotty. Our first morning we used the in-room coffee-making supplies and cups. They were not replaced, which we didn't actually notice until the next morning. Inconvenient. Both days we were there, housekeeping did not clean the coffeemaker--maybe that's standard in a hotel of this category. I'm used to more care being given to housekeeping. Although the Guesthouse has been all non-smoking for at least two years, the carpet in our room had numerous cigarette burns. The carpets in the hallways and stairs also need replacing. We have never tried the complimentary breakfast; we use the in-room refrigerator and eat our own food. This hotel is okay if your expectations match what they offer. The rates fluctuate based on (I guess) demand, so you may or may not get what you pay for, depending on when you stay. Our AAA rate of $75 for a single queen was reasonable. We have paid more here in the past, and did not feel like we got value for our money. Room tip: All 2 queen and king bed rooms are on the freeway side of the hotel. My husband cannot sleep in those rooms. The "quiet side" rooms all have just one queen bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryFromOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. Do keep us in mind when you visit the Bellingham area again. It will be our pleasure to see you again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
426 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Address: 805 Lakeway Dr, Bellingham, WA 98229-6218 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing