We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed two nights on a business trip. The location, while not downtown, is only 3 minutes away by car (or a 15 minute walk). The rooms were clean and fairly spacious. The rooms also included a coffee maker and mini-fridge. The free WiFi worked great - which for me is a huge plus. The front desk staff were great. The continental breakfast included make-your-own waffles!

The only complaint I can make is that while bed was incredibly comfortable, the pillows were a little lumpy. Other than that, this place is a great lodging option - especially for the value!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattypbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am happy your stay went well and that you enjoyed the waffles! Please do keep us in mind for your next trip to Bellingham! We would love to see you again!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    85
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
79
61
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suquamish, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Clean. Right next to freeway bit noise was not an issue. Good size rooms. As this is 2014 I would expect wifi services in the room. Breakfast available but haven't tried it. Coffee maker in the room. Their wifi service is AWFUL and they know it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I apologize about your difficulties with the wifi. You will be happy to know that a new wifi system is being installed this week! We are excited about improving the guests stay whenever possible, and we are quite sure this will be a welcome upgrade! Thank you for bringing this to our attention and perhaps you will visit again and find the new system to your liking.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I were very impressed with the service and wonderful accommodations at the Bellingham Guest House Inn. The staff was very helpful in our plans to visit this wonderful town. In fact we loved it so much we stayed an extra day.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious King size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIbill57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for such a stellar review! The crew here at the GHI work very hard and it is always appreciated when someone takes the time to share about their stay. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Again, Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent access, friendly smart staffing (thanks Sonya), clean, bright and a great price. I looked at several places to stay in Bellingham and this is a terrific value. Location is central to Bellingham and you can be on I5 in less than a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "quiet side" This hotel is very close to US Hwy I 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello and thank you for the great review! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took the time to leave a great review. Thank you again and please keep us in mind for your next visit to Bellingham. We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Memorial Day weekend (2014) our family and friends stayed here for our son's wedding.
It's easily found off I-5, on Lakeway Drive. Breakfast was included: the usual bagels, muffins,
cereal, and you can also make your own waffle. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The only possible problem is if you are on the I-5 side, you do hear the traffic, but we kept the
AC fan on and that hid the noise. Staff was friendly and helpful. A very good budget
accommodation.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the freeway is noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxlady52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am happy that the crew was able to provide you with a clean and comfy stay while in Bellingham. Please do visit us again when you are in the area!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is a hidden gem. It's located next to the freeway, but not very noisy if you get the room from other side that's facing the street. It's very close to downtown, about 6 min. drive. Room is very clean and comfortable, good breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit and cook your own waffle. highly recommend this place.

only down side is the lack of exercise room and swimming pool. :(
but it does have a heating pool :)

Room Tip: Room opposite of the fwy is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kc302u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for the great review! I am glad that our staff was able to provide you with a clean and comfy stay. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our second or third stay there. And no problems. it was welcoming infact. the tront desk clerk- a manager, I think - a Blonde lady was most accommading and friendly...Room was great.
The ONLY disappointment was the breakfast and the area it was in....I know that it is hard to plan for continental breakfasts but the area seemed sterile, antiseptic under glaring light....
Having said that, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.
Thanks,

Room Tip: Pet owners may wish to be near an exit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokanimal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I do so appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. They are a great group of hard working people that take pride in pleasing the guest whenever possible. We hope to see you again when in the Bellingham area!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Dr, Bellingham, WA 98229-6218 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing