We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone here, average food but a lot of fun”
Review of Billy McHale's Restaurant - CLOSED

Billy McHale's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Something for everyone here, average food but a lot of fun”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a fun family restaurant. There is plenty of seating, some attractions for kids (e.g. a train running around an elevated track), a bar, and very friendly service. Their specialties seem to be barbeque and burgers, but they also offer steak, salads, a few pasta dishes, sandwiches... Honestly I had a hard time choosing what to order. I went with a blue cheese burger (very good) and sweet potato fries. Not my favorite burger ever, but it was slightly greasy and had tons of blue cheese, fried onions, and the meat was tasty too. No skimping on the fixin's here. Others at the table tried their mac 'n cheese, brisket, ribs, and sandwiches. Everyone was happy with their meal. The servers were very accommodating. I got the feeling I could have completely customized my order and they would have done it. The food was reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our first visit to this establishment was nothing short of great. What made it especially fantastic was the service provided by "Ashley S". She provided an unparalleled level of customer service, for that we'll certainly re-visit this establishment. (food and drink was also good and very reasonably priced!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average but Consistent”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We've stopped in here a few times. It's OK and consistent. Large selection of menu items and the kids like it. It has a train that runs around an elevated track. Their ribs are good but too sweet for my taste. Burgers are fine. Never have had anything bad but nothing outstanding either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, BC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Extra helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This is my second time at this restaurant. I didn't post. Review of my first time because sometimes food and service changes! But this was not the case for this restaurant. The food was delicious. This is not a fancy place, just a good solid restaurant where people can bring their family and expect good food for a good price. If it isn't good they take it back with no questions and an apology to make it right! This staff was super busy and lots of kids and yet they were all cheerful and helpful! I would go back again!

Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Highly overrated”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place is so overrated, it's not funny. The food is sloppy, mushy and not tasty. I guess it's still open for the crowd who likes a bar scene type of restaurant, kind if pub style with a country western feel. Not for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy McHale's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing