We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great owners, great value”
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Bay City Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay City Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great owners, great value”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and clean. The rooms are spacious and quiet and the bed was comfortable. Very easy access to WWU. They owners were particularly aupportive and helpful when my daughter needed a safe place to stay suddenly for a week.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreynolds6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
33
16
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Do not believe any good reviews of this motel- it's totally disgusting! My worst nightmare-bed bugs! When I called the front desk to tell them what I had found they said the owner would be there in 5 minutes. I waited for about 30 minutes then told the front desk agent that I had to leave. He took my cell number and said the owner would call me. But did that ever happen? Of course not. He didn't even bother to call me and apologize and refund my money. It's the worst motel ever with horrible customer service. Do not stay here. There are many motels/hotels in Bellingham that are so much better.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Muensingen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were in this room only to sleep, and went elsewhere for breakfast. It was a decent room at a good price, which is just what we wanted. Anything better would have cost more money, and would have been overkill for the time we spent there. I would rate it as "good," but, surprisingly, that isn't available in the overall rating above.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I were in Bellingham in August 2012 and chose this motel as it had received good reviews from Trip Advisor. We wanted clean and basic accommodation and this motel turned out to be just what we were looking for. Check-in was efficient and we were given a room on the ground floor. The lobby was spotless and there was a CCTV in the front desk area monitoring the hallways on all the floors. When we remarked on this, we were told that guest safety is a priority for them. The parking lots both in front and in the rear are well-lit adding to our feeling of safety in case we needed to grab a last-minute item from our car.
This motor inn is on a fairly busy street, however our room was very quiet. It is near the freeway and close to the Fairhaven district and in the other direction, it is close to the waterfront (Bellehaven) area.
Our room was very clean and was air-conditioned, the bed was comfortable enough, the TV was basic and worked and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom. In the morning they serve a continental breakfast in the lobby, cereal, muffins and fruit. The milk for the cereal is kept in a refrigerator beside the cereal so it is nice and cold. Juice and coffee is also available and the counters by the continental breakfast are kept spotlessly clean.
On the downside, this place takes going green a little too seriously. Our biggest issue was the energy-saving lightbulbs that have been demonstrated to be a potential health-hazzard. The bars of soap they provide are so tiny they are barely enough for two people for a one night stay. Lamps and the fridge are unplugged and one has to crawl around behind the furniture to plug them back in (the area behind these appliances, happily, were very clean).
I would recommend this place for solo female travellers, business travellers and others looking for a safe, clean place for the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Checked in and they tried to give us a room in the basement but we declined. In the room we got one "small" bar of soap that needed to be used for the sink and the tub. They had economy bulbs in the lamps but the wattage was so low you couldn't read at night. Went to the "continental breakfast" and they had muffins which they cut into fourths, limited fruit in a basket (of which I picked up an orange and it had white mold on one end), cereal in two plastic containers, and coffee which was like drinking dishwater. One of the people in our party tried teach one the employees how to make coffee. The bed was so hard sleeping on the floor would have been better. Asked for an ironing board and iron and the board was a table top so ironing clothes was difficult. We asked to check out a day earlier and was told we couldn't because we booked through a 3rd party (which we did not) - we booked on their website. They said we could checkout earlier but there would be no refund. After 4 days there the "one" soap bar was really worn down to nothing and when we returned in the afternoon the room had been cleaned but they didn't change the soap out. Checked out the "fitness room" in the basement and it smelled really bad down there.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I recently returned from my 7th annual extended stay at the Bay City Motor Inn. As always, it was a most pleasant experience.. The owner - Lucky - and his family and the other staff always make me feel right at home. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-maintained. It is an excellent value and very conveniently located.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinJensenBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went there because other inns were full and they still had lots of rooms availible. They gave us a room (US$ 95) in basement level. The smell in the room was terribly stuffy. We turned on the air conditioning and we couldn't handle the noise from it. The beddings were so smelly. We didn't have a good sleep that night. We didn't change to other rooms because it's the cheapest that night. What they provided for breakfast were Costco muffins, bananas, apples, coffee, milk. We've stayed in other inns just cross the street, so we were very disappointed with Bay City. I hope they take some advice and do some adjustments about their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank River H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#20 of 26 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Orca Inn
Orca Inn
#21 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Property: Bay City Motor Inn
Address: 116 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6029
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing