We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bus lunch I've ever had”

Fairhaven Fish & Chips
Ranked #33 of 444 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
199 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Best bus lunch I've ever had”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed a Dover Sole sandwich, fried cod, fries and slaw at this unique establishment. The fish was just perfect, and the fries were cooked to perfection. Quite a busy, popular eatery in downtown Bellingham--and I can see why!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The BEST fish 'n chips!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Quick stop in Bellingham on drive from Seattle to Vancouver - wandering around looking for a good spot for lunch and a local said we absolutely had to try this place. It is a little funky - on a street corner with only random outdoor seating (couple of tables, few stools at a bar, and a picnic table) - but the fish 'n chips were the best ever. I'm usually not a huge fan of fried food but made an exception because of all the rave reviews, and it was worth it...fish literally melted in your mouth and the outside coating was light and crispy. Down side is the seating, and lack of restroom facilities. If you can get past this, I would highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvp724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Good fish and chips. Chips are wedges, crisp. Fish was lightly battered and tasty. Shrimp on the special small but OK.
Only NO beer to go with the fish. No public restroom so no liquor licenses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joebbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
298 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food from the old double decker bus- not fast food!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

the food was great, but they need more seating and some improved tables. It was very hot waiting in the sun on this July day with little shade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I would have to say I have not had fish that good in a very long time. Seating is all outside. Right in the middle of downtown Fairhaven. People watching was interesting. I would go back again. Was there with my wife who also enjoyed hers. She got me a BlackBerry Italian soda. Very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokinjoe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairhaven Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing