We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”

Black Diamond Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have heard good things about this bakery for years. A friend and I went yesterday. The drive there is beautiful, and the scenery around the restaurant is spectacular. The food was average, though the portion size was big. I ordered a tuna sandwich with sweet potato fries, and asked for the sour dough bread to be toasted. They forgot to toast it, so they took and back and fixed it. We didn't order dessert but the people at the table next to us did, and it looked really great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kadao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch with great views”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Ate lunch at this small town bakery and cafe. Had a very delicious and filling turkey gobbler sandwich with ice tea. The sandwich was made with their homemade sourdough bread, sprouts, turkey breast, cranberries, and I had them add mustard. It was so good!!!! We hoped that the weather would clear up so that Mt. Rainier would appear but the rain didn't quit. They are also known for their pastries and pies. The only problem was the long wait for our order to be taken and the food to be delivered. There appeared to be a few large groups having lunch at the same time so service was slow. I love going there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jav9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service and View”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

In my recent one week trip to Seattle area, this was the best restaurant I encountered. One meal was the "poor man's sea bass" It had an outstanding mild flavor and was topped by a great contrasting cranberry sauce. The other meal was their beef prime rib, a larger than expected portion with the standard horseradish sauce. Prices were average and well worth the quality. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmillikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great view of Mt Rainier!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This restaurant stands out for its great view of Mt Rainier on a sunny day from its terrace. I had for lunch a smoothie and a shrimp Louie. Both were good, the salad more so then the smoothie, but not exceptional. However, what precludes me from giving this restaurant a higher rating is that the prices were relatively high. Service was informal but friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sad imitation of what it once was”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This restaurant is a icon in the area which I often took out of towners to for the pretty view, cloth table covers, good food and ambience. Unfortunately the present management has made cost cutting decisions that add up to a subpar experience. Known for hearty breakfasts including biscuits and gravy; the gravy is now AWFUL. Not milk gravy, but a brown mess that tastes like something from a can along with sad little biscuits. The complimentary peach is gone. You can pay for one, but it isn't even the same type of peach. The portions are smaller, the plates are smaller, even the "fresh" flowers on the table were dead! The wait staff is short handed and NO ONE mans the espresso bar at all. The waitress runs off to make your coffee drink! Just not an enjoyable dining experience. The prices should be much lower since the quality certainly is. The owners need to rethink what they have to offer. Too bad!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Diamond Bakery also viewed

 
Black Diamond, WA
 

Been to Black Diamond Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing