We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway”
Review of Birch Bay Get Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birch Bay Get Away
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised as our cabin was very cozy and slept great as the bed was very comfortable. David is a great guy - he and his staff were very accommodating and handled any requests we had in a timely manner. We looked forward to returning to our cabin each night to unwind after a day of fun. I would request Birch Bay Get Away for anyone wanting to kick back and enjoy a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I are local to Birch Bay Get Away and needed a place to stay in between homes. We were there for just over 2 weeks and it was wonderful. Even tho we weren't on vacation it still felt like vacation! The apartment was great and had an amazing view. Only few steps to the beach and beautiful sunsets! We were able to use the BBQ and there are laundry facilitates right there too so it was completely convenient! I would recommend this to locals who want to just get away and to anyone else wanting a great relaxing place to stay! David is very accommodating! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our group was 12 foodies who also moonlight as golfers. We had 4 cabins and loved the amenities in the cabins, common BBQ areas, and covered porches. We cooked most meals, taking full advantage of the herb garden, and a great dinner in the restaurant one of the nights of our stay. No one would ever go away hungry....delicious fish tacos and the best onion rings you will ever taste! David and the rest of the staff were very helpful to us, we will be back.

Room Tip: Explain to David what you are looking for, he will point you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski bunny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

There are many reasons to like Birch Bay Get Away! First, we could have our dogs; second, the beach is right across the road; third, we could buy food and make brekie, lunch and supper in our cabin. The cabins are cozy; the beds are super-comfortable; and the porch is one of the best features (our dogs loved to sun themselves out there, and we ate there). And, no noise! Management was great. And the cottages are painted in arty colors. That's what first grabbed our interest. We had loads of fun and hope to back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithbarnard49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonsieurCapt-B, Manager at Birch Bay Get Away, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are thrilled that you loved our place and found the proximity to the beach convenient!
Yes,there are many reasons to like Birch Bay Get Away, & you hit the nail on the head! Thanks for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed this cozy get away because of several reasons. It was quiet even though there were people about. the location is as close as you can get to the bay - on the beach in seconds. each cabin has their own patio area. BUT be very aware that there are a variety of cabins ( about 14 total I think) and there is quite a bit of variance in them. Our choice was a lower priced one and we thought the value was very GOOD. Next time, I think we will take friends with and step up to a larger cabin and one of the back private setting. Nate (proprietor) is always around and another guy helping. Very helpful both. Mind you, these cabins have been around awhile and you cannot be picky about modern up to date décor or new this and that. if your standards for yourself are higher end - go pay for it. but if you want location, relaxation, budget, and a flair for what birch bay is really about - this is it!

Room Tip: back cabins more private, some cabins are sunnier while some are shadier. some are much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonsieurCapt-B, General Manager at Birch Bay Get Away, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are SO happy that you enjoyed your stay & that you found our cottages provided for relaxation, budget, and a flair for what Birch bay is really about ! Please keep us in mind for future getaways!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have been a few times and will go back again! The cabin (we love Cottonwood Cottage) is perfect. A little peek a boo view of the water just a stones throw away. The covered front porch has a great picnic table to have a little dinner outside. We genuinely find it comfortable, well equipped, and really enjoy our time here. Rustic furnishings with modern appliances (big flat screen for the rainy afternoon). The location is great as it is close enough to walk to the bay mini market, but not on the busy road part of the bay, peaceful and convenient! The owner is very welcoming and clearly takes pride in having a clean fantastic property!! Thanks for a great stay!! My 10 year old can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daquilatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Pros: You are only about half a block from the water..and you can feel and smell the sea air right from the cottages. The cottages are well built and have real character..kind of artistic surroundings which make it interesting. My cottage had a new kitchen with a dishwasher which was great. Dave the owner is a decent guy and always available for fresh towels etc.

Cons: The owner appears to have a blind spot when it comes to replacing worn and dirty furniture ( hint: take a trip to IKEA). Also he needs to get some professional cleaners who do deep cleaning in the cottages.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank outdoor75xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
296 reviews
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
90 reviews
Semiahmoo Resort
#1 of 3 in Blaine
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Bay Get Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Bay Get Away

Address: 8124 Birch Bay Dr., Blaine, WA 98230
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Blaine
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages and suites in Birch Bay, WA. We are just a stone's throw from the beach. Our lodgings are your perfect base for shore-line and other nature-based activities. Our secluded location is perfect for romantic getaways, or big family reunions. With 13 units, we can host business group meetings, & wedding parties can use our large Gazebo and barbecues. Our fully equipped kitchens to keep vacationing affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birch Bay Get Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Bay Get Away Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing