We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - recently refurbished”
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Management needs to seriously review restaurant food quality and service. Clearly this hotel is still in soft opening mode as the restaurant food and service were well below par. That said - the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattlePJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

It rained for most of the time we were there - in our room. The air conditioner began drip, drip, dripping onto the floor at 1 AM, which explained the wet carpet upon arrival. Front desk did not know how to connect room to restaurant. Restaurant did not pick up the phone the first four tries. The next morning - out of pancakes before 9:00 AM. It did not bode well that the guest next to me upon checkout was characterized as "having a rough go of it". Beautiful property but they do not seem ready for guests yet. Enough hiccups to make us not want to give it another try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PickyTraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our experience was very similar to another reviewer's. We had made a 2 night reservation for Aug 16-17 about 3 weeks prior to arrival. At check-in, it became pretty clear pretty quick that our presence was entirely unexpected. "Uh, er, sorry but your room is still being prepared. Why don't you have a drink in the restaurant while we figure things out." Having arrived at 8:30 PM, this was a bit of a surprise. Restaurant was quite chaotic - very tough to get service, etc. (To be fair, restaurant situation had calmed down quite a bit by the next evening when we enjoyed a very pleasant meal there.) The room we finally got was a downgrade from what we had reserved so it was not really clear what we would be paying. However, at that point we were too bagged to delve into the subject. Room was deficient in several ways: TV, coffee maker, fridge were not working, painters outside the window the next morning (we're on the 2nd floor!), housekeeping finally showed up around 5:00 PM the next day when we were having a nap. I recognize that re-opening a hotel after an 8 month shutdown has it's challenges. However, it should have been known a day or 2 before we arrived that we were not going to get the type of room we had reserved. I feel we should have been contacted and told what the deal was before getting into the car and making the drive. Perhaps this will be a nice place some day but I suggest waiting until 2014.

Room Tip: Could consider staying in 2014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Abbyguy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
writeon1951, Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

In hindsight, we were overly ambitious to think in less than 60 days we could re-open and staff a hotel that had been shuttered for more than 8 months. Admittedly, we were influenced both by prior guests eager to return to Semiahmoo as well as the anticipated economic impact to the local community. Once a re-opening date was determined, all efforts were focused on, at a minimum, meeting guest expectations in terms of accommodations and service; guest room rates were set to reflect the work-in-progress nature of this immense project. The new owner is fully committed to a multi-million dollar restoration to re-establish Semiahmoo Resort as one of the premier lodging destinations in the Northwest. And while Semiahmoo's Four-Diamond legacy is one to which we aspire as soon as practical, please know we deeply regret your recent experience. Also, you have our commitment to straight-forward communication to ensure you have the opportunity to make an informed travel decision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been to this place since the kids were little, for Easter, July 4th. etc. and had many happy memories there. We were sad when it closed down. Last week I received an e-mail of their grand re-opening and was so excited that I made reservation for the opening day right away.
I made reservation on line for one night water view room for the grand opening rate. Arrived before 5 p.m. to find out that our room had parking lot view. We were so disappointed and decided to leave. The assistance general manager came out and talk to us and ask us to wait 5 minutes while he find us a room. In his words, just because you made reservation for a water view room doesn't mean that you will get a water view room. Really? While waiting, I looked around and found that there's still a lot of work to be done. The main restaurant is closed, there are machinery around beach front, paper on windows, workers walking around everywhere, buckets in the hall ways, the café by the beach half open and I was wondering why they would want to invite guests to come now. After waiting in the car for 30 minutes we decided to leave and drive back to Seattle. My advise is if you want to come here, wait until they are completely done and I'm really not sure how you can make a reservation for a water view room and actually get one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank pamseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
writeon1951, Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Please know we deeply regret your less than satisfactory experience. Immediately after acquiring Semiahmoo Resort what quickly became apparent is its importance to the local community, particularly in terms of creating jobs. So we set a date of August 15 and pushed hard to get the hotel open. For a building that sat vacant for more than 8 months, this turned out to be an ambitious goal. But our intentions were sincere and earnest. Also, many of our associates are new both to Semiahmoo and the hotel industry. They're doing their best to take care our valued guests, but the aggressive re-opening schedule admittedly did not allow for sufficient training in all areas. The new owner's objective, supported by a multi-million dollar restoration plan, is to re-establish Semiahmoo Resort as one of the premier lodging destinations in the Northwest, truly deserving of a Four-Diamond rating and solid guest reviews. To this end, your understanding and patience are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Doudoutwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: вид на море!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kogutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSA-GM, General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peça quarto de frente para o mar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristianFigueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
2 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
296 reviews
13.7 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
20.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
90 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
142 reviews
22 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range: £103 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing