We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This resort has been one of our favorite getaways. It recently had a change of ownership and we went there to see what was happening. We weren't just pleased with what they were doing, we were elated. Everywhere we went they were not just rejuvenating the resort they were enhancing it. The staff were not only pleasant they did a lot to make our stay memorable. For example our Border Collie goes with us everywhere. They have specified pet rooms and when we checked in and entered our room there was a water bowl for "Harvey", a comfortable dog bed and big dog cookie! There is an excellent Spa, two golf courses, exercise room, badminton courts and more.
Our favorite activity is long walks and there are many in close proximity. Right out your door is the beachwalk around Drayton Harbour. On this walk we were able to walk right up to an eagle in a shoreline snag tree. Look for him when you go.
The kitchen is also superb. They specialize in fresh fish dishes and are unmatched in this area.

Room Tip: It cost a little more. but ask for a Drayton Harbour view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryM559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You have certainly titled you posting correctly, Semiahmoo Resort golf and spa is a destination for “a perfect gateway”.
Creating the experience that makes it “memorable” and make you feel “elated” is our objective.
Being part of the management team that is focused on building the team of excellence, welcoming you and your furry family member “Harvey”, I certainly appreciate your positive feedback..

Thank you for the loyalty and we hope to see you soon again for another gateway at Semiahmoo Resort Gold and spa

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    145
    49
    37
    20
See reviews for
131
248
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

So glad this place reopened. I had never been before, but when my husband and I were looking for a local getaway - this popped up on Tripadvisor. It got rave reviews and we can see why! We showed up and were greated with fresh chef-made apple cider (which was always available in the lobby). Our room was beautiful and even though we had a parking lot view room (cheaper) - we could still see the water. The resort is on a peninsula - so you see White Rock Beach in Canada on one side, and the Peace Arch border crossing on the other. Every room has a view! They also had a pack & play up and ready in our room, complete with baby sheets. We needed some milk warmed for our baby - what did they do? Delivered us a microwave to our room! The restaurant Packers was also delicious. We could bring our kid with us and still enjoy happy hour deals (Fish & Chips for $5 or a burger & fries for $7). And the fries...truffle fries! SO delicious! The lobby and every room was decorated for Christmas, absolutely stunning. We also spent a lot of time in the hot tub, trying to warm up from the cold 18 degree weather outside. Only downside is the hot tub & pool are half-outside - so it was freezing when you weren't in the water. They had a big garage door open letting the cold air into this area - we requested they shut it but they said they couldn't. Would've been perfect in the summer, but we still enjoyed their hot tub. This will now be an annual tradition, can't wait to come back every December! We want to try summer too! And beds are amazing like everyone says!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you found Semiahmoo resort golf and spa “Relaxing &Beautiful”. Usually during winter time, one may think that the last destination would be to go at the beach, well not this one. As you have indicated, there is so much to enjoy, so much to experience.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy to inform you that we just finished replacing the garage doors in pool area. Now, we will be able to close the doors as the temperature nears the teens (not often that happen around here).
As you make it a tradition, to visit us during the winter, we will make it a tradition to welcome you and your family and maybe during the summer. Lots of good surprise are on the way!
It just gets better!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been to Semiahmoo Restort few years back but decided to return again after it reopened for a relaxing 2 day weekend. The resort under new management has vastly improved service. However, the dedicated staff is still getting used to the facilities and dealing with state of disrepair of some of them. After the 6 million dollar renovation in early 2014, this will be a better place sometime before summer to revisit.
The staff greeted us enthusiastically with a cup of hot cider on a cold day. and though the check-in time was 4pm had our room ready very early. Staff was often helpful with suggestions for activities and quick in attending to service requests. when we were heading for Canada, the front receptionist gave us good tips and options to avoid wait at the border.
The staff accommodated all our requests from delivering extra amenities to the room to delivering our specially ordered entrée for breakfast. On request, they also had a microwave delivered to the room.
Other than the service, the highlights were - comfortable new beds in each room that have been upgraded. The Spa is excellent with plenty of options. They had a full size tennis court in the back that was hardly used and open. the health club had decent equipment for a quick workout and heated as well as outdoor pools. The new TVs and Kuerig coffee makers are a nice touch.

The disappointment is we had to call in for too many service requests. It felt like we were new guests testing out the facility and finding out things that were not working. The shower in the room was cold. They sent engineering who then found out the that a whole block of rooms on 3rd floor were having water heater problems. So we got promptly moved to the 2nd floor to an equivalent room. There was no mini-refrigerator as advertised on the site. So we had to call in to get one delivered
The continental buffet breakfast was included with room was very ordinary and did not included any hot items. Packers Bar had much better breakfast to order.
The servers in the Packers Bar were clearly overworked with a full restaurant and service was slow. they had a small door for guests as well as for delivering the orders thus the servers were constantly bumping into the guests.
the gift shop has not opened. The small discovery theater where guests would watch movies is closed as they are waiting for copyright permissions.
Most of the furniture, carpets and décor in the rooms is old and needs to be repaired. The renovation should fix these problems.

There is not much around Semihamoo unless you are golfing. The resort is isolated but in a scenic location. (Your mobile may catch the Canadian Rogers signal instead of US carrier signal, so you might really be disconnected). They have plenty of activities for families and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are much better with a good view. The rooms on the 2nd floor get better wifi co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Dhan

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa. I truly appreciate your kind words and comments. I am delighted that you had a positive and refreshing and “relaxing stay 2 day weekend”.
I truly appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our staff - I have certainly shared a copy of your review with our entire resort team.

I do apologize for the challenge with the water in your room. We strive for the highest excellence in guest satisfaction and this was an exception to our notable service standard.
As you have mentioned in your detailed posting, restoration of the property was a challenge after acquisition and reopening. Nevertheless with the team we have in place at Semiahmoo, the secondary focus had to be on service excellence and you have validated that we are accomplishing a lot.

It will certainly take time and properly plan and implement the other goals we have for the resort. As we start our major renovation in January of 2014, guest rooms, public space, outlets will be in par with the service you have received and continue along the improvement and strive for excellence.
Thank you for returning and planning your next escape with family at Semiahmoo.
With best regards, I remain at your service

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo resort golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Semiahmoo is a great place to stay and will only get better with the $6mm renovation starting early next year. I've already noticed the staff seems much more friendly, the food has improved substantially, and the rooms are much nicer already with new tv's, beds, coffee makers, etc. we had a great relaxing visit and look forward to our next stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbedling7455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always a delight to receive the accolades from guests valuing the resort’s associates! After four months they certainly made a significant improvement towards making each guest experience high level of customer service. Great to also read that we satisfied your culinary taste.

The upcoming renovation will certainly support uplifting the lost luster.

See you at your next escape at the Semiahmoo.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The old resort failed but the new owners and management are turning this property around and you will not be disappointed. The room was clean, quiet and the new beds are most comfortable.

The walking paths along the seaside are delightful with uncluttered views, clean air, and a peaceful sense of solitude.

Room Tip: If you intend to take advantage of the miles of seaside trails, no need to book a water view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cobber-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
You have certainly titled your posting very well. Semiahmoo resort golf and spa is a great destination for getaway.

Thank you for the great rating as well. The collective team of owners and management has a common goal to return the resort to the same high standards and beyond.
As you have experienced, the team is merely focused on creating the environment for relaxation and rejuvenation. We are pleased that we met your expectations.

Thank you for being part of our journey and we look forward to your next escape.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a girls night at Semiahmoo I celebration of a birthday. Our first impressions of the room were great and we were all in love with the view. The rooms were the perfect size and we never felt cramped. The beds were super comfy! We opted to have dinner in our pjs and ordered room service. The gal who delivered the meal was wonderful! Unfortunately the food was disappointing. The menu items had great potential but the burgers were dry and the crab & avocado sandwich lacked flavor. We suggest adding mini fridges, DVD players and a tea option to the rooms. The resort is beautiful and we enjoyed the small quiet rooms tucked away for reading and games. When we checked in we were not told we had continental breakfast included our room purchase, it would have been nice to know that so we could plan accordingly. We ended up missing it. Overall we really enjoyed our girls night at Semiahmoo. The staff was super friendly, the views are spectacular and the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: The Water view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Semniahmoo Resort Golf and Spa for your recent “Girl’s getaway week end’. There is certainly good reasons it is the Washington Seaside destination.

Truly, your experience with room service was very much the exception and not the rule. Yet I have shared your comments with our restaurant management team, culinary Director and executive chef.

I truly appreciate your detailed review and do hope we have the opportunity to Semiahmoo resort again. Please contact me prior to your arrival as to make sure your next food and beverage experience is worth a five star rating.

With best regards, I look forward to you staying with us again.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My girlfriend and I were down at Semiahmoo for a relaxing weekend. We'd stayed here before and enjoyed it and took advantage of a promotion to come back. We knew that there was new ownership and that the resort was getting a facelift and were curious to check it out.
The exterior has been painted and the color is bright and reminded me of colors I saw recently on my trip to the East Coast.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and eager to help out. Packers Oyster Bar is the only restaurant open on site and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's improved a lot under a new chef and we were highly impressed - I've written a separate review on it.
Our room was a water view and we loved it, the windows open and you can hear the wind and the waves! I suspect our room is one that may be awaiting completion of an upgrade as we noticed a few holes in the wall and ceiling of the bathroom that had been patched up. They looked like old screw holes that were patched and filled in, there was no impact on our visit but visually they were hard to miss.
Our room was also equipped with a Keurig coffee maker and some Starbucks coffee. I hadn't tried this type of coffee maker before and after making coffee the two mornings I think I'll stick with my traditional drip model. There was a nice sized flat screen tv in our room and a couple of comfortable chairs, a small side table and a desk. We would have liked to have had a mini refrigerator in our room as we had some wine with us and we prefer real milk/cream for our coffee so it would have been nice to store those items rather than filling the ice bucket constantly to chill our items.
We noticed that the beds had been upgraded to a nice thick but soft and inviting mattress. They were very comfortable and we slept soundly both nights.
On one of the evenings, a staff member had started a little campfire on the beach for patrons to roast marshmallows and make smores. They provided the ingredients, roasting sticks (rods) and blankets as well! They also had some lit torches around the fireplace so that guests could see where they were going and so avoid missteps. It was nice touch and we enjoyed our roasted marshmallows.
We took advantage of the indoor tennis court and borrowed racquets and tennis balls from the Spa. A couple of the lamps in the court didn't seem to be fully on so lighting was a little off but that didn't prevent us from getting a good workout. We headed from the tennis court over to the pool and hot tub and enjoyed our time there as well.
Overall we were happy with our visit but with more renovations to be completed we can imagine that it will be a fantastic place to visit and stay when everything is finished. We look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: The water view rooms are wonderful for sights and sounds of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa experience. Although you provided two very well intended (and valuable) constructive comments, I can certainly tell that you overall, you had a fantastic experience. You certainly cared enough to provide such incredible detail.

You are certainly correct those cosmetic opportunities will be addressed during the upcoming renovations.

I truly hope to see you again in the future. In the meantime, please know that the entire Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa team remains grateful for your posting of a review on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Property: Semiahmoo Resort
Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing