We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room, good staff, good food, many renovations/upgrades complete with more to come. I would definitely stay again.

The only drawback was the dated fitness area, we were advised this will be upgraded in spring 2014.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank globalpgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you found our "rooms comfortable" and recognizing Semiahmoo staff. Your wonderful experience (from culinary to service and more) is to the team 's credit. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and post a highly rated review on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for escaping from so far away to the Semiahmoo resort golf and spa.

We look forward to your next journey to the US. I am sure you will be inspired to rekindle the experience.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    147
    48
    39
    20
See reviews for
134
251
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Relaxing, diverse, fun, spoiled time with family. We took the family to get away for a few days to quiet the Christmas rush. Friendly staff went out of their way to make our time memorable. Variety of activities kept everyone busy.

Room Tip: While all rooms are excellent, water view is a definite plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear A. family,

I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to have you stay at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa. Every associate here at the Resort is keeping a great memory for the few days you stayed with us.

Semiahmoo is undeniably a great destination for a family looking to relax and enjoy serenity.
By the way, your snowmen created lots of brouhaha and everyone loved them. They unequivocally bit the one Semiahmoo team has made (smile). The interactions and moments spent with you define our culture: fun time for our guests and fun time with them.

Thank you for posting your accolades and we look forward to your next escape at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa.

Regards,


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

For many years my family a few of our close friends and their families have spent Xmas at Semiahmoo we have totally loved the ambiance, setting and the exceptional service over the years. Last year was spent else where due to the closure…but so happy to return to our tradition this year with the new owners at the resort.

Thank you again , and look forward to joining Semiahmoo in their exciting new future.
The Rickman's

Room Tip: waterfront is a "must have!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capistanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Rickman’s family

The entire Semiahmoo Resort, Golf and spa is honored and delighted to receive your accolades for renewing the environment and providing the service that perpetuate your family and friend’s tradition.

Christmas 2013 at Semiahmoo Resort golf and Spa was exceptional with 6 inch of snow on the ground that week and a festive atmosphere.

As a team, we will continue to strive for exceeding your expectation, anchoring into the 25 years of tradition and taking the innovative journey with you and all our guests though our existing time.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Semiahmoo facelift just doesn't have the luxurious, yet homey feel it had in the past. The new orange paint was the first shock. Too much in your face. We were also disappointed with the food over-priced luxuriously named food that looked and tasted like frozen tater tots. Very disappointed; may try another visit and see if the staff and cooks have changed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your unfortunate experience on TripAdvisor. As I read the posting, it is clear that you have had very good experience in the past here at Semiahmoo with the previous ownership and management team.

You are the person we listen to and enjoy getting the feedback from as you have seen and experienced this seaside destination that is prime and unique in many ways.

The choice of color as you probably know is such a pervasive part of everything we visually encounter in the world, that for many of us it becomes an intuitive choice or a well thought process. The hue we have chosen really makes the building stands out and fits in our often gloomy Pacific Northwest days. It gives also the sense of uniqueness embedded in 25 years of existence and invites warmth and family.

I certainly relish the opportunity to learn more about your perception and dissatisfaction for the culinary products we offer. I must say that the farm to table concept the culinary team (lead by our highly experienced Culinary Director Eric Truglas) has put in place is competitive in pricing and taste. However we continue to strive for excellence and like your feedback on this aspect.
Your memories of Semiahmoo and past experience are valued.

Based upon your comments, we will continue to seek ways in which to improve our service and the experience we create. I truly hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future as you said and even exceed your expectation.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This resort has been one of our favorite getaways. It recently had a change of ownership and we went there to see what was happening. We weren't just pleased with what they were doing, we were elated. Everywhere we went they were not just rejuvenating the resort they were enhancing it. The staff were not only pleasant they did a lot to make our stay memorable. For example our Border Collie goes with us everywhere. They have specified pet rooms and when we checked in and entered our room there was a water bowl for "Harvey", a comfortable dog bed and big dog cookie! There is an excellent Spa, two golf courses, exercise room, badminton courts and more.
Our favorite activity is long walks and there are many in close proximity. Right out your door is the beachwalk around Drayton Harbour. On this walk we were able to walk right up to an eagle in a shoreline snag tree. Look for him when you go.
The kitchen is also superb. They specialize in fresh fish dishes and are unmatched in this area.

Room Tip: It cost a little more. but ask for a Drayton Harbour view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryM559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You have certainly titled you posting correctly, Semiahmoo Resort golf and spa is a destination for “a perfect gateway”.
Creating the experience that makes it “memorable” and make you feel “elated” is our objective.
Being part of the management team that is focused on building the team of excellence, welcoming you and your furry family member “Harvey”, I certainly appreciate your positive feedback..

Thank you for the loyalty and we hope to see you soon again for another gateway at Semiahmoo Resort Gold and spa

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

So glad this place reopened. I had never been before, but when my husband and I were looking for a local getaway - this popped up on Tripadvisor. It got rave reviews and we can see why! We showed up and were greated with fresh chef-made apple cider (which was always available in the lobby). Our room was beautiful and even though we had a parking lot view room (cheaper) - we could still see the water. The resort is on a peninsula - so you see White Rock Beach in Canada on one side, and the Peace Arch border crossing on the other. Every room has a view! They also had a pack & play up and ready in our room, complete with baby sheets. We needed some milk warmed for our baby - what did they do? Delivered us a microwave to our room! The restaurant Packers was also delicious. We could bring our kid with us and still enjoy happy hour deals (Fish & Chips for $5 or a burger & fries for $7). And the fries...truffle fries! SO delicious! The lobby and every room was decorated for Christmas, absolutely stunning. We also spent a lot of time in the hot tub, trying to warm up from the cold 18 degree weather outside. Only downside is the hot tub & pool are half-outside - so it was freezing when you weren't in the water. They had a big garage door open letting the cold air into this area - we requested they shut it but they said they couldn't. Would've been perfect in the summer, but we still enjoyed their hot tub. This will now be an annual tradition, can't wait to come back every December! We want to try summer too! And beds are amazing like everyone says!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you found Semiahmoo resort golf and spa “Relaxing &Beautiful”. Usually during winter time, one may think that the last destination would be to go at the beach, well not this one. As you have indicated, there is so much to enjoy, so much to experience.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy to inform you that we just finished replacing the garage doors in pool area. Now, we will be able to close the doors as the temperature nears the teens (not often that happen around here).
As you make it a tradition, to visit us during the winter, we will make it a tradition to welcome you and your family and maybe during the summer. Lots of good surprise are on the way!
It just gets better!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been to Semiahmoo Restort few years back but decided to return again after it reopened for a relaxing 2 day weekend. The resort under new management has vastly improved service. However, the dedicated staff is still getting used to the facilities and dealing with state of disrepair of some of them. After the 6 million dollar renovation in early 2014, this will be a better place sometime before summer to revisit.
The staff greeted us enthusiastically with a cup of hot cider on a cold day. and though the check-in time was 4pm had our room ready very early. Staff was often helpful with suggestions for activities and quick in attending to service requests. when we were heading for Canada, the front receptionist gave us good tips and options to avoid wait at the border.
The staff accommodated all our requests from delivering extra amenities to the room to delivering our specially ordered entrée for breakfast. On request, they also had a microwave delivered to the room.
Other than the service, the highlights were - comfortable new beds in each room that have been upgraded. The Spa is excellent with plenty of options. They had a full size tennis court in the back that was hardly used and open. the health club had decent equipment for a quick workout and heated as well as outdoor pools. The new TVs and Kuerig coffee makers are a nice touch.

The disappointment is we had to call in for too many service requests. It felt like we were new guests testing out the facility and finding out things that were not working. The shower in the room was cold. They sent engineering who then found out the that a whole block of rooms on 3rd floor were having water heater problems. So we got promptly moved to the 2nd floor to an equivalent room. There was no mini-refrigerator as advertised on the site. So we had to call in to get one delivered
The continental buffet breakfast was included with room was very ordinary and did not included any hot items. Packers Bar had much better breakfast to order.
The servers in the Packers Bar were clearly overworked with a full restaurant and service was slow. they had a small door for guests as well as for delivering the orders thus the servers were constantly bumping into the guests.
the gift shop has not opened. The small discovery theater where guests would watch movies is closed as they are waiting for copyright permissions.
Most of the furniture, carpets and décor in the rooms is old and needs to be repaired. The renovation should fix these problems.

There is not much around Semihamoo unless you are golfing. The resort is isolated but in a scenic location. (Your mobile may catch the Canadian Rogers signal instead of US carrier signal, so you might really be disconnected). They have plenty of activities for families and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are much better with a good view. The rooms on the 2nd floor get better wifi co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Dhan

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa. I truly appreciate your kind words and comments. I am delighted that you had a positive and refreshing and “relaxing stay 2 day weekend”.
I truly appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our staff - I have certainly shared a copy of your review with our entire resort team.

I do apologize for the challenge with the water in your room. We strive for the highest excellence in guest satisfaction and this was an exception to our notable service standard.
As you have mentioned in your detailed posting, restoration of the property was a challenge after acquisition and reopening. Nevertheless with the team we have in place at Semiahmoo, the secondary focus had to be on service excellence and you have validated that we are accomplishing a lot.

It will certainly take time and properly plan and implement the other goals we have for the resort. As we start our major renovation in January of 2014, guest rooms, public space, outlets will be in par with the service you have received and continue along the improvement and strive for excellence.
Thank you for returning and planning your next escape with family at Semiahmoo.
With best regards, I remain at your service

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo resort golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Property: Semiahmoo Resort
Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing