We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a beautiful destination resort!”
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Stanwood, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful destination resort!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I must first preface this review and say, that in all reality, it is a 4 star place, BUT...you can tell that after reopening, they are doing their very best to make it a 5 star place. The place isn't perfect, but with current renovations, things should be up to 5 star respectability by Spring of 2014.

The room was beautiful and the entire facility was very, very clean and well taken care of (I notice cleanliness). It is a place you can relax while taking in an incredible view.

The beauty of it is...with not much around, you can easily forget the hustle and bustle of life. I would recommend this place to anyone, but especially to couples wanting to get away for the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Your reasoning for the 5 stars is very supple and it will be shared with our staff here at the resort. They have majorly contribute to work towards restoring the lost lust of Semiahmoo.

You are correct that the view is spectacular no matter the direction you are facing.
It is a pleasure to let you know that we will be breaking ground in a week, with a first focus on our food and beverage outlets.

We hope to see recreate the memorable experience for you and all the folks you will recommend to make us the “destination resort” of the Pacific Northwest.

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    149
    51
    40
    22
See reviews for
138
260
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room, good staff, good food, many renovations/upgrades complete with more to come. I would definitely stay again.

The only drawback was the dated fitness area, we were advised this will be upgraded in spring 2014.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank globalpgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you found our "rooms comfortable" and recognizing Semiahmoo staff. Your wonderful experience (from culinary to service and more) is to the team 's credit. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and post a highly rated review on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for escaping from so far away to the Semiahmoo resort golf and spa.

We look forward to your next journey to the US. I am sure you will be inspired to rekindle the experience.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Relaxing, diverse, fun, spoiled time with family. We took the family to get away for a few days to quiet the Christmas rush. Friendly staff went out of their way to make our time memorable. Variety of activities kept everyone busy.

Room Tip: While all rooms are excellent, water view is a definite plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear A. family,

I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to have you stay at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa. Every associate here at the Resort is keeping a great memory for the few days you stayed with us.

Semiahmoo is undeniably a great destination for a family looking to relax and enjoy serenity.
By the way, your snowmen created lots of brouhaha and everyone loved them. They unequivocally bit the one Semiahmoo team has made (smile). The interactions and moments spent with you define our culture: fun time for our guests and fun time with them.

Thank you for posting your accolades and we look forward to your next escape at Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa.

Regards,


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

For many years my family a few of our close friends and their families have spent Xmas at Semiahmoo we have totally loved the ambiance, setting and the exceptional service over the years. Last year was spent else where due to the closure…but so happy to return to our tradition this year with the new owners at the resort.

Thank you again , and look forward to joining Semiahmoo in their exciting new future.
The Rickman's

Room Tip: waterfront is a "must have!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capistanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Rickman’s family

The entire Semiahmoo Resort, Golf and spa is honored and delighted to receive your accolades for renewing the environment and providing the service that perpetuate your family and friend’s tradition.

Christmas 2013 at Semiahmoo Resort golf and Spa was exceptional with 6 inch of snow on the ground that week and a festive atmosphere.

As a team, we will continue to strive for exceeding your expectation, anchoring into the 25 years of tradition and taking the innovative journey with you and all our guests though our existing time.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Semiahmoo facelift just doesn't have the luxurious, yet homey feel it had in the past. The new orange paint was the first shock. Too much in your face. We were also disappointed with the food over-priced luxuriously named food that looked and tasted like frozen tater tots. Very disappointed; may try another visit and see if the staff and cooks have changed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your unfortunate experience on TripAdvisor. As I read the posting, it is clear that you have had very good experience in the past here at Semiahmoo with the previous ownership and management team.

You are the person we listen to and enjoy getting the feedback from as you have seen and experienced this seaside destination that is prime and unique in many ways.

The choice of color as you probably know is such a pervasive part of everything we visually encounter in the world, that for many of us it becomes an intuitive choice or a well thought process. The hue we have chosen really makes the building stands out and fits in our often gloomy Pacific Northwest days. It gives also the sense of uniqueness embedded in 25 years of existence and invites warmth and family.

I certainly relish the opportunity to learn more about your perception and dissatisfaction for the culinary products we offer. I must say that the farm to table concept the culinary team (lead by our highly experienced Culinary Director Eric Truglas) has put in place is competitive in pricing and taste. However we continue to strive for excellence and like your feedback on this aspect.
Your memories of Semiahmoo and past experience are valued.

Based upon your comments, we will continue to seek ways in which to improve our service and the experience we create. I truly hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future as you said and even exceed your expectation.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This resort has been one of our favorite getaways. It recently had a change of ownership and we went there to see what was happening. We weren't just pleased with what they were doing, we were elated. Everywhere we went they were not just rejuvenating the resort they were enhancing it. The staff were not only pleasant they did a lot to make our stay memorable. For example our Border Collie goes with us everywhere. They have specified pet rooms and when we checked in and entered our room there was a water bowl for "Harvey", a comfortable dog bed and big dog cookie! There is an excellent Spa, two golf courses, exercise room, badminton courts and more.
Our favorite activity is long walks and there are many in close proximity. Right out your door is the beachwalk around Drayton Harbour. On this walk we were able to walk right up to an eagle in a shoreline snag tree. Look for him when you go.
The kitchen is also superb. They specialize in fresh fish dishes and are unmatched in this area.

Room Tip: It cost a little more. but ask for a Drayton Harbour view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryM559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You have certainly titled you posting correctly, Semiahmoo Resort golf and spa is a destination for “a perfect gateway”.
Creating the experience that makes it “memorable” and make you feel “elated” is our objective.
Being part of the management team that is focused on building the team of excellence, welcoming you and your furry family member “Harvey”, I certainly appreciate your positive feedback..

Thank you for the loyalty and we hope to see you soon again for another gateway at Semiahmoo Resort Gold and spa

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

So glad this place reopened. I had never been before, but when my husband and I were looking for a local getaway - this popped up on Tripadvisor. It got rave reviews and we can see why! We showed up and were greated with fresh chef-made apple cider (which was always available in the lobby). Our room was beautiful and even though we had a parking lot view room (cheaper) - we could still see the water. The resort is on a peninsula - so you see White Rock Beach in Canada on one side, and the Peace Arch border crossing on the other. Every room has a view! They also had a pack & play up and ready in our room, complete with baby sheets. We needed some milk warmed for our baby - what did they do? Delivered us a microwave to our room! The restaurant Packers was also delicious. We could bring our kid with us and still enjoy happy hour deals (Fish & Chips for $5 or a burger & fries for $7). And the fries...truffle fries! SO delicious! The lobby and every room was decorated for Christmas, absolutely stunning. We also spent a lot of time in the hot tub, trying to warm up from the cold 18 degree weather outside. Only downside is the hot tub & pool are half-outside - so it was freezing when you weren't in the water. They had a big garage door open letting the cold air into this area - we requested they shut it but they said they couldn't. Would've been perfect in the summer, but we still enjoyed their hot tub. This will now be an annual tradition, can't wait to come back every December! We want to try summer too! And beds are amazing like everyone says!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you found Semiahmoo resort golf and spa “Relaxing &Beautiful”. Usually during winter time, one may think that the last destination would be to go at the beach, well not this one. As you have indicated, there is so much to enjoy, so much to experience.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy to inform you that we just finished replacing the garage doors in pool area. Now, we will be able to close the doors as the temperature nears the teens (not often that happen around here).
As you make it a tradition, to visit us during the winter, we will make it a tradition to welcome you and your family and maybe during the summer. Lots of good surprise are on the way!
It just gets better!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
274 reviews
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
138 reviews
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
442 reviews
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Property: Semiahmoo Resort
Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing