We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax and kick back”
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
woodinville, wa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and kick back”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent two nights at the resort recently and were well pleased with our stay. January is a quiet time since golf, beach walking and outdoors are some of the amenities but if a very comfortable, quiet relaxing time is what you're looking for this is an excellent time and place to go. Service and friendliness were top notch. The property is undergoing a renovation (which must be very quiet as we were never bothered by it) and they have moved the dining area closer to the lobby. It is smaller but very adequate. The food was excellent. The chef, Eric, has come up with a varied menu in both choice and price. Breakfast was terrific as was Happy Hour and dinner. This is important as you are a distance from most other restaurants. We had a small suite with a fireplace and were totally comfortable. The bed was excellent. I understand they will be redecorating the rooms but we were very satisfied with ours as it was. Summer and better weather should provide all the outdoor activities including a swimming pool. There is also a spa located at the property. We will go again. My one complaint is that road signage is terrible even though we knew generally where we were headed. When they have their formal reopening, I hope they will have remedied this.

Room Tip: The best views look north over the bay toward Canada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with humble gratitude that I read your accolades. “Relaxing and kicking back”, things we must enjoy today as we are often on constant “go-go” mode. I'm glad you had a wonderful stay.

I truly appreciate the level of detail in which you described your experience and stay. And moreover, I am grateful for your “renovation" comments and challenge you had while driving to the resort...we have been working diligently with the state, city and local community to strategically place signage leading to the resort. The process is in full swing and we should be completing installation hopefully soon.

Thank you for the four star rating! I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    149
    51
    40
    22
See reviews for
138
260
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Service was poor. It appeared that the staff was new. Check in was slow, food service was slow,40 minutes for hot tea. Check out was slow. We decided to eat breakfast at a restaurant off site rather than endure the slow service again.
Room is okay but Spartan. For example no surface available for a game of scrabble. Wonderful view through windows. No outside balcony.
No signage - walk a block with luggage. In short we walked away thinking that they are not ready for business. Will try again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Although we pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences for all our guests, every so often (very much the exception and not the rule), we admittedly fall short of exceeding the expectations of our valuable guests.

I am equally disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectation. Would you be so kind, at your convenience, to contact me directly to discuss your stay further? I can be reached at 206-901-9268 or via e-mail at odiop@semiahmoo.com.

I very much do not want to lose you as a frequent guest and I feel that I have learned and can continue can learn more from you to help us improve so that the loyalty continues in near future.

Indeed the renovation is not complete yet it is not impeding on our daily service, contrary, it created excitement for our guests, opportunities to have an excellent dining room (the Seaview lounge), rebuild a porte cochere and also offer promotional rates to our guests among other upcoming welcome improvement.

I truly hope to hear from you soon, in hopes that I can regain your loyalty and demonstrate our consistent commitment to creating memorable experiences.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Whether its walking on the beach, sitting next to a bonfire, soaking in a hot tub, this is a wonderful place to relax. They invite you in with warm delicious cider. The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever experienced. Staff is professional and helpful. While I didn't have a spa service, it looked very inviting. I will say the rooms are on the plain side. They could use a decorator. And I wish they would add the $15 resort use fee to the reservation instead of adding it as an additional fee.

Room Tip: The robes are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassywm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had such a relaxing stay and that you found Semiahmoo resort resting beside all the enjoyable activities we offer. I will certainly share your accolades with the team that created the experience and took you on an enjoyable journey filled with serenity.
During our renovation, one of the main focus is the guest room and a great uplift is in the collimator.
To tentatively explain the resort fee, you are correct, there is a possibility of adding it to the rate. We believe we ought to properly disclose it and not misrepresented the price that you can expect to pay for your stay. Yet we will continue to work on excellence and exceed your expectation.

Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope to see you again at Semiahmoo resort.

Sincerely,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the resort on Christmas Eve. The lobby was nicely decorated with a festive tree, lights, and a sleigh display. Check-in was efficient and the staff was very helpful in checking on our buffet reservations. A cup of hot spiced cider was welcome on this cold damp evening.
This is a grand hotel, very nicely furnished with antique/vintage furnishings. There is a game/reading room right off of the lobby, and a warm fireplace invited guests to relax and enjoy a quiet moment.
We got a 3rd floor room on the bayside, which offered a very nice view of Vancouver just a short hop across the bay. The resort is about as close as you can get to Canada without being there.
The room was clean and well-furnished with some style (don't know if they were vintage or just reproductions, but the decor was warm and inviting. The mattress wasn't the most comfortable we have experienced, being very firm, along with the pillows, but the sheets were high quality. All in all a very nice room and we enjoyed the overnight stay.
The hotel is going through a renovation though we saw no evidence of this. It was fun to walk around the hotel, looking in the dining rooms, movie theatre, and restaurants. Oh, about the food...We had the special Christmas buffet, but we have to say that it was a disappointment. Each table had a menu of the buffet items, but we didn't find some of the menu items on the buffet tables like the crab legs and oysters. The food was in general quite bland, and the meat was left out too long and was somewhat dried out. The food presentation was not exceptional either. We left feeling like we did not get a good value for the price. There was another restaurant on the premise but an unexpectedly large turnout left no reservations available if that was what you wanted instead of the buffet.
In the morning we walked around the grounds and enjoyed a rare winter sunshine and beautiful, clear views of the surrounding bay. The resort has plenty of activities, but more oriented toward summer time with beach volleyball, tennis courts, and nearby golfing. We were just grateful for a quiet one-night getaway and overall we were happy with our experience. Someday we will return!

Room Tip: Recommend upper floors with views of Vancouver....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than “A nice gateway!” Your accolades certainly have been shared with the entire staff. As you mentioned many facet of Semiahmoo resorts going from the arrival process to the culinary experience, you are certainly making any reader take a journey through the resort without being on site.

I am pleased to also read that even the resort is under renovation it did not impede into your experience.

We look forward to your next gateway to Semiahmoo resort even if it is for one night again. It just gets better and better!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Another couple, my wife and I spent a weekend recently at Semiahmoo Resort. The resort is currently undergoing a major renovation. It currently is fine, not really rundown, but in need of a facelift. It is right on the water and has a wonderful, scenic location. Right now there is only one restaurant. The menu has a nice variety and the food is prepared well. The rooms are large. Some have a water view. Once the renovation is complete this will be a destination resort. The prices currently are low although they add on that dreaded resort fee. During the summer this would be a great getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattletheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

While it is always a pleasure to receive wonderful accolades , it is comments that are more constructive in nature that help us to improve.

Reading your TripAdvisor post, seems like that you were pleased with many perks we offer. While we pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences, we are also making sure that restoring the lost lust of the resort is a prime focus.

As you mentioned, the renovation has started already and as the value is great, while doing winter traveling, Semiahmoo resort golf and spa can still be your prime destination for an escape to serenity, relaxation and reconnect with nature.

We look forward to your next escape at Washington’s seaside retreat.

Be Semiahmoo!

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed January 15 & 16, 2014. Even though it was the off season, the facility was in excellent condition and the service was full and attentive. The restaurant provided a full menu with great food. Lots of personal attention with little perks such as the hot cider when coming in from a cool walk taking in all the shore birds and beautiful views. Yes, we will return.
John F

Room Tip: Go for the beach side views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandjodyfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you have chosen to stay at Semiahmoo during the winter. This area has its own microclimate and ecosystem. It is great to be at the beach and at the same time be able to enjoy all the birds migrating, the Canadian coastal mountain range, the magnificent Mount Baker, etc.
Funny that the hot apple cider is one of the delight that our guests remember. Well it is part of our identity here at Semiahmoo and we will be delighted to welcome you again and possibly soon as we will be having a birding festival (Wings over water) in March.

Bring your binoculars then it should be a fun time again!

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here in 1/14. Gorgeous as always. Restaurant was awesome, great service and excellent food. The staff are above and beyond accommodating. The spa was marvelous. View is superb. The prices were reasonable. We definitely will be coming here again and again.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a view is a huge plus, but they can be pricey upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and rating. After such posting on TripAdvisor I can only show humble and sincere gratitude on behalf of the Semiahmoo resort team and invite you for more and more escapes.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
274 reviews
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
138 reviews
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
442 reviews
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Property: Semiahmoo Resort
Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing