We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Location!”
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a great resort in a FANTASTIC location. It is still under renovation, but there's little hassle or inconvenience. The rooms are nicely configured and the water views are incredible. Our bed was so comfortable, we're thinking of updating ours (Simmons - "Black").

We have been long-time fans of Packers, the Oyster-Bar Restaurant but it remains closed until re-built. For now, it operates out of the main building, but doesn't measure up to the old very high standard (in food, value, or service). But Tommy (manager) has the right attitude and promises to fix it as they work out the kinks.

The spa (massage) was expensive and thus of poor value, although the masseuse did a good job (you undress/dress in a locker room). We loved the fire at the beach with "s'mores" for all. And then there's the view... and all your troubles disappear.

Room Tip: Unless you want a balcony, any "water view" room will be great. Once the renovation is fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear RichVW

We enjoyed reading about your Semiahmoo experience. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Semiahmoo Resort and we are very pleased to have been the destination of choice. Our temporary location for Packers (the Seaview lounge) just launched the new menu and as the name indicate has a fantastic view.

Come back soon to enjoy the serenity and sample the new epicurean menu!
Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years, & love the cozy ambience. We are so pleased with what the new owners are doing with the resort, the new restaurant is terrific & has amazing sunset views. Our water view executive suite was spacious, the views gorgeous & our bed was heavenly. We requested a pack & play, which was set up & ready when we arrived. David Sullivan is an exceptional manager, he really went out of his way to make our stay exceptional. We found the entire staff to be very attentive, competent & friendly. Love all the fun things for guests like racquetball, tennis, ping pong & of course the pool & hot tub. The work out room is well equipped & there are bike rentals as well.
My husband enjoyed golfing, & my massage at the spa was wonderful! Our kids love the movie theatre, game room & most all the s'more station located at the fire pit near the ocean.
We enjoyed our stay in March so much we booked another stay for April (before we even checked out) to celebrate my husbands birthday & are bringing our friends & family with us!

Room Tip: Splurge & get a room with a water view on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Bbvan

We welcome your 5 on 5 rating!
Please know that we are so glad that your family gateway was “great”. It is always a thrill to learn from guest that they truly enjoyed everything about their stay but more than anything recognize associates that make the “stay exceptional”.
I will make sure to let our team know that you noticed their efforts and to make sure you have the best experience again and again.
We are as well awaiting that birthday celebration. It will be Semiahmoo style!

See you soon!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Exciting views, amazing food, and friendly staff makes this a resort you'll want to visit.

I loved the walk by the water with many various bird species. The spectacular sunsets could be
viewed from the dining room or the room's balcony. It is a resort you'll want to visit time after time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Anne

Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo resort as your seaside destination. I could not ask for a better description of this resort. Glad your experience was “extraordinary”.
On behalf of the entire resort team let me reiterate the gratitude for your posting on TripAdvisor and the great rating. We look forward to your next visit and catch more spectacular sunsets and gourmet food.

See you soon!

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are from Vancouver and Blaine is only a short drive for across the US border, and yet we felt like we had travelled much further away from home (in a good way). The Semiahmoo resort has that Northwest cabin feel, which is cozy and warm. We found it well maintained with friendly staff and overall it was a relaxing experience. The JR Suite was large and comfortable and we had a view of the bay. We stayed only one night, but we will be back again soon for a longer stay. We had dinner in the restaurant and experienced a beautiful sunset while enjoying first class gourmet food at a good value. The Semiahmoo Resort is another hidden gem and one that we will visit again often.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Markru,

I truly appreciate all your kind comments and accolades. Certainly a posting that could be echoed.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay.
We look forward to you visiting the “hidden gem…” soon so you can provide us the privilege of serving you again.

My best,


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

“Passing through months earlier and investigated your site. Spoke with Wendy Dahl and she sold me with her enthusiasm and told me of your "Radio" rate special so I planned then and there to make my next writers retreat with Semiahmoo. Glad I did. It was great and most productive. Well done also to a housekeeper named Dena and to servers named Gabrielle and Tommy. I will most certainly be back and have already told others to go visit you. Last but not least, Torrance at the front desk was outstanding!” See you again soon. Victor

Room Tip: Balcony water view rooms are sunset spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Victor,

Thank you for returning and this time to stay and experience Semiahmoo resort. With your excellent post on TripAdvisor, you certainly highlight one of the attributes of the location- Serenity.

It appears that serenity was not the only highlight, if you enjoyed the service provided by the staff from the front desk to the culinary team. The staff is our main asset and they strive to provide the service you experienced. I will certainly inform them of your accolades.

I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and post a review and look forward to seeing you soon along the one you rave our destination to.

Make us your escape!

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This resort charges a non-negotiable "resort" fee of $15.00 (!) for use of the pool, hot tub, exercise room. It makes no difference if the guest does not use any of these facilities...it is a room charge regardless. (Note to Semiahmoo management: there is an equitable system that can -- and should -- be considered. It's called "pay as you go." ) Just another example of the hospitality/travel industry ripping off the consumer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Cathy,

I am very sorry to read that you are disappointed with our resort fee. Your feedback and concerns are extremely valuable.
Allow me to attempt to respond to a few of your comments:
Our resort fee allows us to offer all the exclusive guest amenities of the resort such as our health club facilities, weekend beach bonfires, weekend movie theater, game room, WiFi, parking, daily newspapers, local phone calls, and much more. We feel that having one all-inclusive fee is simpler and a better value for our guests than having several smaller a la carte fees. However, we do value all our guest feedback and always consider your comments when we incorporate future changes.

While the information above is simply that...information, I know it does not change the perception of your recent experience. For that reason, I truly hope to hear from you soon, in hopes that I can further explain and regain your loyalty. One thing I would like to reiterate is our consistent commitment to creating memorable experiences as we continually strive to improve our service.

Again thank you for your post on trip Advisor and I invite you, at your convenience, to contact me at 360-318-2036 or via e-mail at odiop@semiahmoo.com

Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not too far from Seattle so it's a great spot for a long weekend get away.

The rooms are clean and a good size and I was glad to have a great view of the bay and Canada.

Bonfires on the beach with s'mores and nice stiff drinks made by the bartender named Roger were the icing on the cake.

Great hotel and location overall and would be even better in the summer.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Anna

Thank you for the great review and for giving kudos to one of our asset bartender Roger. He certainly deliver exceptional service in our temporarily restaurant Packers at Seaview lounge and why not be “the icing…”

As you echo many guests about the bonfires and s’mores, it is one of many perks for having Semiahmoo as a seaside destination. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to your next visit as well.

My hint: Return before the summer as good memory is not to fade away and we have good surprises on the way!

Regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
468 reviews
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
291 reviews
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
89 reviews
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range: £106 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing