We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

…time here, sure wish it had been for more than one night!
The water view was beautiful and the photos of the sunset should be award winning, beyond beautiful!
Dinner was excellent, great service too…
The pool was wonderful, a great temperature and huge, hot tub was also nice…
The beach of course was awesome as were the resort grounds, obviously lots of updating and renovations going on, can't wait to return to see the finished product!

Room Tip: Ocean view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingteri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for being so descriptive in describing the favorite parts of your stay. “Amazing” really sums it all.
We truly hope we have the opportunity to be your destination for an escape soon. The entire team will be delighted to serve you again.

Regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

They say, with real estate, that location is everything. Well Semiahmoo is located in a beautiful area with sweeping views of the bay, mountains, and even some city lights. The hotel is clean and very comfortable. I think Semiahmoo in the native language means poor wifi however. We dined out so I cannot comment on the food.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sunamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Sunamijim

It is always wonderful to hear that we are a destination with prime location, but it is even more beneficial to hear of your constructive comments.
Comfort and cleanliness are two this we certainly provide. It is part of the relaxing experience and I am glad that you mentioned so.

Thank you for the comments regarding Wi-Fi. This is indeed a challenge of concern and one that takes high priority for us. We look forward to positive resolution quickly.

Regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although the Resort is in various phases of remodel, the stay was relaxing and pleasant. It was the perfect place for our Retreat and rates were very reasonable.
It looks like the Resort will be fully revitalized soon and I can't wait to see all the updates.....I am so grateful it was "saved" by Coastal Hotel Group.
My Massage appointment at the Spa was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanfront! We were on the 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Shawn

Thank you for sharing your experience from the recent visit to Semiahmoo Resort. We certainly proud ourselves for being the destination for serenity, retreat and relaxation. A renewed culture, a new look, a team of engaged associates, all the elements to make your next visit as memorable as you have mentioned.

We look forward to your return to Semiahmoo soon as we reopen our newly renovated bar and new restaurant. More to come…

Sincerely,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were a crowd of 10 who stayed the weekend at Semiahmoo, and everyone enjoyed their stay. Some of us golfed, so we took advantage of the stay-golf special of $158/night, which was quite a bargain. The non-golfers enjoyed walking by the water, or sitting in the "library," reading.

Although the resort is still in transition, they took good care of us. The restaurant situation is what's mostly in transition - we ate some meals in "Packers," the bar, and other meals in "Stars," which appears to be a temporary space (?) Who cares, the food was really delicious, and the servers friendly!

The spa area is nice, with the pool, hot tub, and other amenities. We did not bring our tennis rackets (this time!) but other groups were having a good time with it.

Our room faced the parking lot, but that was OK - it was very large, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed having the Keurig coffeemaker in the room.

To sum up: we all enjoyed our stay, and would gladly go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear KDUB7

We are so pleased to hear that you and your family of 10 enjoyed the weekend with us at Semiahmoo. Golf, reading in the library, spa and health club, to name few that you have enjoyed.

It seems like you had the chance to have a preview of our upcoming restaurant and bar menu. We have launched the menu in our Seaview lounge9temporary bar/restaurant). This menu has been the talk and your feedback is validating the effort our culinary director and his team have been putting together to showcase the “poetry” in experiencing a nice meal at Semiahmoo.
You certainly listed many activities and amenities we offer here at the resort and guess what? There is more to come!
By the way, next time you return, you will not need to pack your tennis rackets, we have them ready for you to check out any time.
Your feedback on housekeeping is duly noted as well.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Bring the family back soon, We are at your service!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a lovely stay after going to the tulip festival Great little over night get-a-way This was our 2nd stay at the property- the last time was nearly 9 years ago. That's the negative Nothing has changed-- however please note they are remodeling at present. Our room was very very dated Sad round plain tablecloth table with the glass over it and a sad swag scrolled curtain again very dated. Everything just looks fairly old like staying at my aunts guest room vs a nice resort. It is however kept up well - even though its older looking its very well kept up and clean-- and again they are remodeling. I am not sure if rooms will get the same touch up or not. If they do it would be nice to add a jacuzzi tub or something to set the rooms apart There would be plenty of room for one- or at least a soaking tub
My last negative is it is very loud. You can clearly hear others in the room next door and in the hallway, above you etc.
We upgraded to a deluxe room with a wonderful balcony which we thoroughly enjoyed watching the sunset and had or morning coffee there. Infact we got such nice weather we left our door open all night and enjoyed the sound of the water and the fresh air. (it helped the noise issue also)
The room is well appointed with lots of room, nice linens and bathrobes, and a Kureg coffee maker No fridge though which I thought was odd- there is plenty of room for one. It would have been very useful.
We didn't pack bathing suits be could have used the very nice outdoor pool and spa even in April its heated nicely.
All their restaurants are combined into 1 as of now as the remodel. Nice simple menu with something for everyone Thought their prices were very reasonable. We had good service at dinner but the hostess was one of the snobbiest persons I have met in a very long time. Again the dining area is very dated looking but its hard to say what it will be like soon.
We loved the grounds and took a long walk at sunset and the next am. They set up and area to make smores right on the beach - and they have a movie theater area and show 3 movies starting mid afternoon
We had room service breakfast which was very prompt and accurate Again reasonable also . Didn't love the food- mainly because they didn't list ingredients in the menu- (I have some light allergies and both things I ordered had things I couldn't eat yet they weren't described in the menu- but I should have asked I guess)
Overall I'd highly recommend the resort but maybe wait until after they remodel or certainly its not worth full price right now. We had a lovely time

Room Tip: Get a balcony We got a sale and upgraded when we got there- very happy we did Currently the remodel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysMissinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest

We love your pictures!!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us via TripAdvisor.
Thank you also for choosing Semiahmoo as your destination. Your detailed posting really paint not only the tangible but the intangible part of your visit. Lots of improvement since your visit and now that we added new amenities and fully completed renovation and building of restaurant, bar and porte cachere. we look forward to your next visit.

It is time to escape at Semiahmoo again!

Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo resort golf and spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a great resort in a FANTASTIC location. It is still under renovation, but there's little hassle or inconvenience. The rooms are nicely configured and the water views are incredible. Our bed was so comfortable, we're thinking of updating ours (Simmons - "Black").

We have been long-time fans of Packers, the Oyster-Bar Restaurant but it remains closed until re-built. For now, it operates out of the main building, but doesn't measure up to the old very high standard (in food, value, or service). But Tommy (manager) has the right attitude and promises to fix it as they work out the kinks.

The spa (massage) was expensive and thus of poor value, although the masseuse did a good job (you undress/dress in a locker room). We loved the fire at the beach with "s'mores" for all. And then there's the view... and all your troubles disappear.

Room Tip: Unless you want a balcony, any "water view" room will be great. Once the renovation is fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear RichVW

We enjoyed reading about your Semiahmoo experience. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Semiahmoo Resort and we are very pleased to have been the destination of choice. Our temporary location for Packers (the Seaview lounge) just launched the new menu and as the name indicate has a fantastic view.

Come back soon to enjoy the serenity and sample the new epicurean menu!
Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years, & love the cozy ambience. We are so pleased with what the new owners are doing with the resort, the new restaurant is terrific & has amazing sunset views. Our water view executive suite was spacious, the views gorgeous & our bed was heavenly. We requested a pack & play, which was set up & ready when we arrived. David Sullivan is an exceptional manager, he really went out of his way to make our stay exceptional. We found the entire staff to be very attentive, competent & friendly. Love all the fun things for guests like racquetball, tennis, ping pong & of course the pool & hot tub. The work out room is well equipped & there are bike rentals as well.
My husband enjoyed golfing, & my massage at the spa was wonderful! Our kids love the movie theatre, game room & most all the s'more station located at the fire pit near the ocean.
We enjoyed our stay in March so much we booked another stay for April (before we even checked out) to celebrate my husbands birthday & are bringing our friends & family with us!

Room Tip: Splurge & get a room with a water view on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Bbvan

We welcome your 5 on 5 rating!
Please know that we are so glad that your family gateway was “great”. It is always a thrill to learn from guest that they truly enjoyed everything about their stay but more than anything recognize associates that make the “stay exceptional”.
I will make sure to let our team know that you noticed their efforts and to make sure you have the best experience again and again.
We are as well awaiting that birthday celebration. It will be Semiahmoo style!

See you soon!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
297 reviews
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
90 reviews
South Surrey
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Region: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range: £103 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiahmoo Resort Washington/Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing