We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, exceptional sevice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Al's Diner

Big Al's Diner
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Good food, exceptional sevice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first time there, my wife had the Spinach Omelet. I had Bacon, Eggs, French Toast. Only thing better than the food was the service. If you're lucky, you'll get Trista! But all the servers were fawning over all the diners. Homey feel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Typical diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A typical diner with good and ample food. We met family here for breakfast and all enjoyed the meal. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vagabond8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very good food, diner food. Waitress was excellent. We had great fish & chips...the fries were thin cut & very crispy. Hubby had an avocado burger with onion strips that were to die for!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“diner with great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

typical diner food, no surprises, but good enough when you're hungry and the location was just where we needed it to be - right off the interstate, especially on a snowy afternoon when we didn't want to venture too far.

my husband had breakfast (it's served all day) - the only disappointment was the hamburger patty served with his eggs - not the usual chopped steak he expected. i had a chili burger and a chocolate shake - perfectly fine and just what i wanted.

generous portions and reasonably priced

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Retro style...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place is more notable for it's geographic location and architecture than its food. It's probably the northernmost restaurant in the continental United States....it's back door pretty much opens onto the Canadian border. It's also in a 1970's style building that looks like it might have once been a Denny's. It's got a counter and lots of booths...clean and well kept. The food servings were huge. I had the corned beef hash which was nice - I'd never tried hash before. The serving was not as enormous as my partner's blueberry pancakes. I had a taste and they were fine, but seeing that much food on a plate kind of puts me off. The sausage was a patty too, which also didn't make my mouth water. The bill was almost the same as what I paid for a nice dimsum meal the day before, so I can't give this place a great mark for value. But if you want an American Style diner breakfast, this is a good choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Al's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing