We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Northwest Hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Burien B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Fabulous Northwest Hideaway”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Olympic View B&B is a wonderful hidden gem in a quiet neighborhood south of Seattle. With only the one cottage, you are guaranteed absolute peace and quiet. The cottage itself is perfect. Clean, bright and spacious with high ceilings and comfortable furniture. There are thoughtful little touches like books and DVDs on the shelves. And if you have to work, the wireless internet works flawlessly. But the highlight, of course, is the wonderful deck with hot tub and spectacular views. Sitting in the hot tub with a glass of wine watching the sunset is not to be missed.

The well-equipped kitchen is stocked every day with everything you need to make fantastic breakfasts. We loved the flexibility to have breakfast whenever we wanted. Every morning started with a pot of their special blend of coffee. We sat on the deck sipping coffee in the cool air debating what to make that morning. One day it was buttermilk pancakes with fresh strawberries -- the family pancake recipe is already mixed in a cannister on the counter, all you have to do is add buttermilk and an egg! Another morning we made cheese omelettes. And there was always fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, various cereals and orange juice as well. And the owners, Eileen and Dave, insist that you leave all the breakfast dishes for them to clean!

The location was perfect. Even though you are in a quiet little hidden neighborhood, there is easy access to highways that make getting to the city or the surrounding sites quick and simple. We went kayaking at Alki beach, hiking at Mt. Rainier, shopping at Pike Place, swimming in Lake Washington, had lunch at Ray's and dinner at the Dahlia Lounge. All easily accessible from the cottage. But our favorite part of every day was coming "home" to our cottage and the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This is a really nice place to stay if you value comfort, quiet, convenience and an outstanding view in an old neighborhood setting, but desire easy access to the Greater Seattle area and don't want to stay downtown or at a B&B or motel far away.

We paid good money for a short trip to the Space Needle only to discover that the setting and view from "home" at the Olympic View is far superior! The sunsets are stunning and Puget Sound is serene.

Dave & Eileen and their family are very pleasant and accommodating. They're around to talk if you have questions or want to share your day, but they provide plenty of privacy, too. We were delighted to have occasional visits from Corkscrew, Tiger & Zoe, the families' friendly, yet respectful cats & dog.

The Olympic View is like home while you're there, and breakfast is provided but you are on your own to prepare it when and as you like. They have a full kitchen if you want to prepare other meals like we did, preferring dinner on the patio at sunset instead in a restaurant some days.

The cottage is immaculate and you're able to unpack anything easily in all the cubbies and cabinets. It's an open space, with dining table, comfy chairs and couch in living/kitchen area. They have a top of the line mattress on a king bed and plenty of room in the bathroom.

We hate to leave today, after a week here; we'll definitely return and refer the Olympic View B&B to lots of our friends. We know they couldn't be happier in this setting!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LargeOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Our stay at the Olympic View Bed and Breakfast was one for the ages. Our hosts, Dave and Eileen, saw to it that our stay there was comfortable and relaxing and were quick to provide recommendations for fun and excitement. It is very convenient to all that Seattle has to offer without the headaches of staying overnight in the downtown area.

But that cottage of theirs! While the photos on their website depict how nice the place is, the view from the deck is truly spectacular. After a full day of sightseeing, what better way to unwind than a soak in the hot tub while the sun sets behind the Olympic Mountains.

If you plan to visit the Seattle area, you owe it to yourself to book a few days at this place. We know we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodwinkedOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We've been married more than 30 years and from time to time found that an escape from home is a must. So we traveled all the way from the west hill of Kent to find this gem. We had your usual Seattle mix of weather, sun, rain, fog and clouds. It's close and convenient to a growing and thriving downtown of Burien, yet still close to Seattle for a night on the town. But the cabin, the deck and, most of all, the hot tub, was absolutely the best! And and don't forget the view. Breathtaking depending on the sun or moonlight! Whether you are from the Pacific Northwest or from somewhere far away, this is a great place to stay and to explore the region.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The Pacific Northwest is one of our favorite places in the world and Olympic View Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. The weather was great while we were there; every night we enjoyed a magnificent sunset. The cottage is spacious, very comfortable and private. Our hosts have thought of just about everything you need to have a relaxing, enjoyable and comfortable stay. There are many things to do in the area. We particularly enjoy the beach and the Indian Trail.

Visitors from Ontario, Canada.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burien
4.0 mi away
Cedarbrook Lodge
Cedarbrook Lodge
#1 of 34 in SeaTac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coast Gateway Hotel
Coast Gateway Hotel
#3 of 34 in SeaTac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Seattle Airport & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Property: Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Address: 2705 SW 164th Pl, Burien, WA 98166-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Burien
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Nationwide "Most Scenic View" and "Best Kept Secret". Overlooking Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountain range this unique Seattle Cottage offers you plenty of privacy and your own private deck with Jacuzzi Hot Tub - all with sparkling views of the Sound and Olympics! Located in South Seattle, just a 15 minute drive to downtown Seattle, 8 minutes from Sea Tac airport, and minutes away from Three Tree Point Beach. Olympic View Cottage is a completely private beach style cottage get-away.* One Detached Cottage * Private entry * Complete kitchen * Full Breakfast optional of you convenience. (Groceries / Ingredients supplied, guest prepares at their convenience). * Private deck with your own Jacuzzi Hot tub overlooking spectacular Water & Mountain views * Comfortable King Bed * Private bath * Living / dining area * Hardwood floors * Laundry facilities * 40" Flat screen TV with Blue Ray/Netflix movies * Free Wi-Fi* Gas BBQ Grill * Save $$$ by preparing your own meals in our fully equipped kitchen. Walk to beach and Indian trails * Beautiful gardens / Koi pond * Outdoor deck furniture * Private parking * Close to interstate * Minutes from Sea Tac airport and downtown Seattle attractions * Great location for day trips to ocean or mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing