We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carson's got a lot to learn about how to attract and keep customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carson
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Carson's got a lot to learn about how to attract and keep customers”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Hotel rooms are new, rather dark despite the window and kind of stuffy, unless you use the very loud fan hooked up on the "radiator." More importantly there are no refrigerators. They started at $75 which is a pretty normal price but still seemed overpriced to us. There wasn't a soul there (Mon and Tues) but they should at least include one visit to the tubs with the room price. The hotel layout makes you walk the length of the building to go down to the parking lot

The Baths are open 9-4 and since it's summer, we would have preferred to take a hot mineral bath at night. Men and Woman are in separate bath houses, and each house has an, "attendant." For a 20 buck visit, The attendant puts you in an individual tub surrounded by a curtain, and reminds you not to talk. They also time the amount of time you stay in the bathtub soaking. You are asked to get out after 25 minutes, then they wrap you in a towel and give you 25 minutes to sweat. We felt pretty good after the sweat, but there's no freedom in the set up. You are more or less ushered out in less than an hour, which is not what I think most people want in a Spa Experience, even if it is cheap.

The whole ambiance is not really, "bath friendly,' or at all social. We went with friends, so we at least wanted to chat quietly while soaking. I think they need to change their set up if they want to draw more people in.

1. The baths have to be open at night.

2. People need to be able to stay in the tubs as long as they like.

3. The rooms are kind of depressing and dark. NO refrigerators, nothing on the wall

4. At least one bath needs to be included with the price of the room

All in all, it Carson is in a nice area of the Columbia River Gorge, but if given the choice, we would prefer Hood River, or somewhere else.

5. Going for just the baths is not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room on the end of the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gfran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    26
    19
    12
    26
See reviews for
18
42
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Fortunately, the new owners are in bankruptcy to save you from visiting this filthy establishment. The golf course closed and kept the money of it's members. The bath house is a good place to come away with some type of of bacteria that could cause you an expensive trip to the doctor. Wear gloves in the reception area and do not sit down. CK Vancouver, WA

Room Tip: Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank moretravelmorefun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carson hotels

auburn wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

It is a great cozy place to stay and the spa. massage and food are great. The cabins are small but clean and neat. They even smell clean. This place cares about their customers. They have Fantastic food. We stayed the night and had a massage and went to their bath spa. I have horrible arthritis. But did not feel any pain that night. And the minerals in the water kept the pain at bay for about three days. I would highly recommend this place as a great stop for the end of your trip to begin it. Cant miss with this one.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jaxdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Carson Mineral Hot Springs Resort. This is an authentic early American Bathhouse, distinctively original, and quite delightful.

The Bathhouse is separated with Men on one side and Women on the other. After undressing, I was escorted, wrapped in a towel, to one of the old 6ft long claw foot bath tubs for a wonderfully relaxing 25 minute soak.

The attendant quietly woke me and ushered me to another room where I was wrapped in a gauze like material, exactly like a mummy (assuming to sweat out toxins) and promptly fell asleep again.

The attendant again gently awoke me again and guided me into a quiet back room for an incredible hour-long massage. If you like, you can also partake of the Sauna room (I don’t think they have one of these on the Men’s side).

The newer hotel room where we stayed was clean, quiet and very comfortable. We had a very restful sleep.

As stated before, a foofoo spa this is not! But if you are looking for a genuine Bathhouse experience and don’t mind being briefly nude in front of others, I would highly recommend this quaint facility to those smart enough to accept it for what it is, a gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank snovalleygirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is a very old place but in recent years the lodging has been rebuilt and is very nice.
Whast is not nice is the oh so original spa/mineral bath area. they use the word "Spa" loosely as the mineral water is all they have going for them and even that is not a lot.
First you pay to go soak in the mineral water and a wrap comes with you. It is not until you are soaking that they tell you, oops, your time is up, yes your 25 mninutes is up.
The wrap you c an stayin as long as you want. For $20 I felt cheated.
The building is old, the towels are old and town and the wraps are old, torn and awful.
Should you desire to take a show in Dial liquid soap it is there but there is no shampoo.
The carpets are old and soiled or there is cement flooring in most of it.
So IF you go: take shower shoes, your own towl, your own bath soap and shampoo.
They do off you the use of a hair dryer but there is no placve to plug it in.
The old claw tubs for your soaking enjoyment have rust on them and there is no grab bar to assit you in getting in or out of these raised tubs, there is a plastic chair next to the tub and a bath mat.
No SPA music, aroma-therapy, ambiance, nothing like that. Hole in tghe ceiling-so close your eyes and feel the warm water.
There used to be a restaurant in the old original spa building/office but that is long gone and now it is a room with a table and a couple chairs, the resigration area has a few couches on it's oh so warm brown carpet with water stains. your first clue as to what is to come.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank lindazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

First off I am a male and never have written a review. It amazes me how these people whine and cry about the condition of this place...what do you expect, it is in fact an old resort. For the price, it is unbeatable, but if you are paying a quarter of the price that you would spend anywhere else do not expect them to kiss the ground you walk on. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This was very important since this was my first time at this facility and didn’t know what to expect. The bathhouse is old and there is rust around some of the fixtures on the tub but it was not dirty (if the water is too hot turn the cold water on, there are knobs and you should be able to figure out your own comfort level). The wrap and massage were both great with no complaints. I also stayed in the hotel there and it was not fancy, but it was not horrible and well worth the price. After reading all these people’s reviews, I panicked and canceled my reservation, but after thinking about it, I wanted the experience for myself. I made new reservations and I am glad I did. There were no signs of mold, rotted floorboards, unhelpful staff, and noisy people. It’s an old facility that’s NOT new and is inexpensive (compared to similar places), stop being prima donnas and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank stats3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I've been going to Carson for 20 years now. You can still get a good massage there - that's the positive thing - the masseuses are really good - but the bathhouse has been let go and is in such horrible shape that it is just plain creepy inside. The floorboards are rotten, the showers curtains around your old cast-iron tub are moldy - not to mention the ceiling and the walls, the showers are disgusting and the towels and blankets for the body wrap are old see-through rags. It really is a shame to see what has happened to the place. I would love to go back and believe me, I love rustic - but this is not rustic. It is a "dump!"

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank Johnson1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carson
11.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
698 reviews
11.9 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
13.9 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
324 reviews
12.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Address: 372 St Martins Springs Rd, Carson, WA 98610-3185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Carson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Carson Hot Springs where you will find a fabulous vintage vacation! Enjoy our lobby which is located in the original St. Martin's Hotel, or the rustic simplicity of our 1920's Bath House, or maybe hot tubs filled with our therapeutic mineral water on the balcony of your bedroom! Our rustic retreat is perfect for those who want to unwind, unplug and get away from it all. Activities for the outdoor enthusiast include: rafting, fishing, hiking and biking right out our front door. The newly renovated golf course, Elk Ridge, features amazing views from every hole! Most golfer's have it on their "must play" list and we offer Stay and Play Packages. The Clubhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner service to satisfy the hungry traveler. Runaway to Rustic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Mineral Hot Springs Hotel Carson
Carson Hot Springs Washington
Carson Hot Springs Carson Washington
Carson Hot Springs Resort
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing