We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The gold course is open!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carson
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The gold course is open!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I have reviewed this spot many a time. I guess it's our favorite place for a quick trip. Proximity from PDX is less than 40 minutes. The property is always evolving and this time in a positive way. The ownership has changed and it was bought out by Boniville resorts. There is a rustic feel to the rooms and I'm sure the old St Martin building is on the list to go away. The golf course is beautiful and has the front 9 open and for $31 with a cart is a good price. Most recently the restaurant opened for breakfast and lunch and the fare and service were great. I still prefer the bungalo bar for food and atmosphere. Fried chicken is da best and it's so funny that the locals think your from huge city when just from liitle ole Portland. For the price Carson hotsprings and the Bungalo beat out Bonville and Skamina hands down if you take that short trip down the road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Just to set the record straight Bonneville Hot Springs is not the owner of Carson Hot Springs, the same management team runs both properties. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    18
    12
    24
See reviews for
16
36
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were on the second floor - 49 steps up from the parking lot. Basically clean but not spotless. Behind the mattress by the headboard needed a vacuum. No television but sitting on deck in front of the room reading was very peaceful and quiet. We played on their golf course which had just opened. No markers were up yet and no pull carts available. Had to take a cart - thought it was overpriced. I had a soak, wrap and massage. The soak ended up being my feet in the tub only. Those tubs were filthy. No way was I sitting in it. The massage was okay. My husband went on a good hike on the trail behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was our first trip to a Washington hot springs and it will not be our last! Our stay started with a phone call that explained the hot springs and the resort. The person Lanna, that we spoke with told us that it was rustic, in the forrest, and that it would be quiet. The hot springs soak and wrap were great--nothing over the top with the physical surroundings but the water is hot and so very healing--the wrap is warm and just what is needed after the soak. Everyone was nice and helpful. All ways ask question if you are not sure. We both also did the massage and they were over the top-great! Ask for Debbie or John--both were great! You need to take things easy and just relax here. The room is relaxing without a TV, you can walk, take pictures, talk, read, or just enjoy being in the forrest-there are lots of birds to see and hear. Our stay was very much enjoyed! Will go back again!

Room Tip: Top floor is great for seeing birds, the sun, the moon, and just listening for the sounds of nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jewelsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I visited the spa for a soak, wrap, and massage. I am not a day spa person so I have no basis for comparison, except I saw no glass tiles and smelled no spacial spa fragrances. What I did have was two very relaxing, rejuvenating hours in a basic, natural, and relaxed place. The staff was welcoming, and easy going, directing me to my own huge antique tub. I soaked to my neck in mineral water as hot as I wanted for half and hour, left alone in the quiet, simple, historic bath room. After, my attendant Bernice directed me to the wrap beds and covered me comfortably in cotton, flannel, and wool, warm enough to allow me to sweat well for another half hour. It was a simple and natural room; quiet, clean, and peaceful. My massage was preceded by a quick rinse off shower. The massage was for relaxation. I did not ask for any therapeutic treatment so I don't know if that is an option. I had a little soreness from vacation activity that was worked out by the end of the hour long massage. Overall It was just the kind of experience that I find relaxing: time alone in a natural environment with no pretense or expectation. If your needs are also simple, then you will find this rustic experience enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

April 4 2012 - Brought a friend from Alaska out to Carson HS for a soak and a wrap. I had a gift certificate that was still valid (according to the date) however I was told I could not use it because of a change in ownership. We decided to stay because we were there and had made the drive from Vancouver. When we entered the bathouse there was no one there to greet us. The attendant did come in a few minutes and showed us to our baths and then said she would be back in 25 minutes to do our wraps. Having been there several years ago myself I knew what to expect but the bathouse did not appear as clean and even more delapitated. The attendant never checked on us nor did she return. We got out -long after the 25minutes, we waited & waited finally a massage therapist happened to be walking thru so I stopped her and asked is she could find our attendant. Instead, the front office receptionist came in and said she would do our wraps....by this time we were cooled off, one of the cots looked like they still had used blankets on it and the other had sheets that looked liked they had been shredded in a wringer wash machine...we opted out of the wrap - got dressed and left.
.......Bonneville's clean and upscale spa is only $5 more for a soak and wrap.......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carson hotels

Portland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you're looking for a therapeutic, rustic and relaxing experience, you'll be in the right place. The linens were new, clean and comfortable. The tubs were the same old clawfoots with room to spare and the hottest water you could want. Comments concerning the faucets don't take into account that the water is full of minerals including sulpher which isn't kind to chrome (or silver jewelry). The rust on the tub and the faucets doesn't make the water any less therapeutic. The womens side of the baths has windows that let in diffused light while you rest in your wrap. This is done either, loose, medium or tight - your choice. None of the men who went with us chose to do the baths so I can't tell you how it is on that side.The sauna and shower after your soak was a nice finish. The tubs are separated by shower curtains hung on old (probably original) painted pipes attached to the ceiling which creates a little room for you to relax in. The walls have old bead board and the ceiling has new pine boards that give you something to let your mind wander over while you're soaking. The new owner is working on improving and repairing the site but I hope they keep much of the current site as it's so full of character.

Bringing a pair of pool slippers/thongs will keep your feet off the cement floor and can be used in the shower. They have plenty of towels so you can leave yours at home if you wish. The little dressing room is cozy with bins to put your clothing in. There are no lockers so leave your personal items somewhere safe. There is a hairdryer provided but bring your own shower supplies (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel/soap) and deodorant. The baths are segregated into women and men so you aren't together during the soak/wrap if you're there as a couple. Cost is $20 plus WA tax. Be sure and bring some extra cash to tip your bath attendant. She's the one that will fill your tub and wrap you for your rest. Of course she then cleans up after you too.

Overall, this place is worth the drive up the beautiful Columbia Gorge. If you drive I-84 on the Oregon side and take the Bridge of the Gods (toll bridge $1 each way) and can get there in about 45 minutes depending on traffic. The drive on the Washington side (Hwy 14) is a beautiful, winding drive which was a great way to view the Oregon side of the gorge as well as stunning visitas of trees and mountains right next to the road. We stopped at Skaminia Lodge to have an outstanding lunch to make this a day of indulgence.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Hotel rooms are new, rather dark despite the window and kind of stuffy, unless you use the very loud fan hooked up on the "radiator." More importantly there are no refrigerators. They started at $75 which is a pretty normal price but still seemed overpriced to us. There wasn't a soul there (Mon and Tues) but they should at least include one visit to the tubs with the room price. The hotel layout makes you walk the length of the building to go down to the parking lot

The Baths are open 9-4 and since it's summer, we would have preferred to take a hot mineral bath at night. Men and Woman are in separate bath houses, and each house has an, "attendant." For a 20 buck visit, The attendant puts you in an individual tub surrounded by a curtain, and reminds you not to talk. They also time the amount of time you stay in the bathtub soaking. You are asked to get out after 25 minutes, then they wrap you in a towel and give you 25 minutes to sweat. We felt pretty good after the sweat, but there's no freedom in the set up. You are more or less ushered out in less than an hour, which is not what I think most people want in a Spa Experience, even if it is cheap.

The whole ambiance is not really, "bath friendly,' or at all social. We went with friends, so we at least wanted to chat quietly while soaking. I think they need to change their set up if they want to draw more people in.

1. The baths have to be open at night.

2. People need to be able to stay in the tubs as long as they like.

3. The rooms are kind of depressing and dark. NO refrigerators, nothing on the wall

4. At least one bath needs to be included with the price of the room

All in all, it Carson is in a nice area of the Columbia River Gorge, but if given the choice, we would prefer Hood River, or somewhere else.

5. Going for just the baths is not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room on the end of the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gfran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carson
11.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
11.9 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
12.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Address: 372 St. Martin's Springs Road, Carson, WA 98610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Carson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Carson Hot Springs where you will find a fabulous vintage vacation! Enjoy our lobby which is located in the original St. Martin's Hotel, or the rustic simplicity of our 1920's Bath House, or maybe hot tubs filled with our therapeutic mineral water on the balcony of your bedroom! Our rustic retreat is perfect for those who want to unwind, unplug and get away from it all. Activities for the outdoor enthusiast include: rafting, fishing, hiking and biking right out our front door. The newly renovated golf course, Elk Ridge, features amazing views from every hole! Most golfer's have it on their "must play" list and we offer Stay and Play Packages. The Clubhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner service to satisfy the hungry traveler. Runaway to Rustic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Mineral Hot Springs Hotel Carson
Carson Hot Springs Washington
Carson Hot Springs Carson Washington
Carson Hot Springs Resort
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing