We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rodeway Inn(Stevenson)
US$87
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Skamania.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Gorge Inn(Cascade Locks)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Gorge Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Hood River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
317
19
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
19
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshood riverporch swingb bgreen leafeach morninglavender bath saltsroom massagesjetted tubgas fireplacehomemade breakfastthe columbia gorgethought of everythingfresh fruitprivate cabinindividual cabinswonderful weekenddvd player
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After reading other reviews and exploring the Carson Ridge Cabins website, we expected a more remote location, not close to the highway in front of the establishment. Even with a 35 mph speed limit, the roads in this part of Washington are terrible, and noise is a problem. There was no promised view of the River Gorge. The cabins are all nestled close to one another. No real privacy. Fortunately, we had reserved the Mt. Hood, or #10 cabin, furthest away from the road and with only one neighboring cabin. The setting is exquisite nevertheless, with acres of greenery. Tom greeted us promptly, asked whether we had breakfast requests: and , as usual, we asked NOT to have onions. (or coconut) Tom assured us that would not be a problem and that our breakfast would be delivered at 9am.(Why can't breakfast be available earlier at B&B's? Most people we speak to would also like to eat earlier). He appeared to write down our requests.
As our escort to the cabin, Tom pointed out the amenities and the surrounding property. There are several places to sit outside, including the lovely porch swing. The large room is inviting and furnished with top quality, comfortable furniture. The bedding was great: soft sheets, luxurious comforter cover, and numerous pillows. Loved the 2 headed shower--either regular or rain.
The bathtub looked inviting, and after listening to the complex directions for use, I decided to try the tub before dinner. Well...the water took so long to fill the tub that I stopped half way, either being too impatient or trying to save on the large amount of water required to fill the tub for use. I do agree with other reviewers that this tub would only comfortably seat one--my husband and I are not large, but being tall, one of us would take up most of the length.
Back to check in. It was our anniversary week, and there was a nice card, albeit generic, and bottle of Champagne waiting. But, the bottle was at room temperature. The basket of goodies contained 2 granola bars and something else not memorable.
There are bottles of wine to purchase, but the refrigerator only contained some water---no juice, no sodas, plus some beer to purchase as well.
Trekking up to #10 is uphill on gravel and not easy even for a very young person carrying luggage. Tom did not offer to help.
WiFi is available but tortoise speed.
We turned on the air conditioner unit just for the noise reduction.
Do not believe the hype about breakfast here. There is NO buffet, just a simple breakfast served buffet style with one main entree. The Denver Bake was our morning fare--with ONIONS.
We had earlier asked to eat in the main building for breakfast instead of having it delivered, thinking we would have more options, but alas, that was not the case. However, the berry-streusel muffins were amazingly great--we had 2!. There was some homemade granola that contained coconut--but we already knew this since when we informed Tom of our dislike for this, he did warn us. Yet, if it is indeed homemade, then why not make a little without something a guest did not want?
These cabins are very expensive and could demand the high price if not for the illusion of solitude, quiet, and the buffet breakfast.
The grounds are wonderful to roam around on, and do look for the abandoned orchard past the hammocks. I would stay here again if the breakfast improved and the prices was lower. Indeed, this is not what I would consider a Luxury Cabin. But, better than some we have visited.
There was no reason to complain to the innkeepers since the cabins are where they are, and the breakfasts are planned out in advance. Tom and Maryanne are personable and easy to talk with, but neither could silence the road noise nor would a complaint change the breakfast.
The standards for a truly luxury, 5 star establishment are not met here.

Room Tip: Mt Hood cabin, #10, is furthest from the road noise, and with only one neighbor, the most private. Also, being the last cabin on the gravel path, there is no footnoise from fellow cabin dwellers.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carsonridge1261, Manager at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

We always try to listen carefully to guest comments, both positive and negative, so we’re disappointed you didn’t feel you could tell us the things you mentioned in this review. We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your cabin’s many amenities and our lovely setting.

Most of our guests go out of their way to mention the tranquility here (their word, as in the previous review) and rave about the selection and quality of our breakfasts. As you noted, our granola is house-made, and it’s extremely popular. It’s a time-consuming process that doesn’t lend itself to daily individualization. In the last six months we’ve had two guests out of hundreds mention they dislike coconut.

The breakfast buffet served in our lodge dining room each morning includes not only a hot entrée but a freshly-baked “sweet” (those muffins you loved) as well as the granola, yogurt, a wide assortment of fresh fruit, two and sometimes three juice choices. Yesterday morning one of our well-traveled guests said ours was the best breakfast he’d ever been served at a B&B.

We take great pride in accommodating our guests’ varying dietary needs and special requests, and we did that for you, too. You twice mentioned a dislike of raw onions, which appeared in no foods served during your stay.

One of the many wonderful attributes of our location is that Carson is a gateway to nearby Mt. Adams and also Mount St. Helens. The two-lane road that runs through our tiny community does see a lot of travelers in the height of the tourist season, but the road is neither a “highway” nor in poor condition.

We hope you will consider returning during a less-busy time of year – it’s beautiful and there’s a lot to do here year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins. It was everything the web site promised. Tranquility, coziness, and privacy. The quaint cabin was equipped with a comfortable log bed, fireplace, soft leather chairs for watching television, jacuzzi tub and soft bath robes. Everything one needs for a romantic getaway. We looked forward each morning to see what kind of breakfast the innkeepers, Tom and Maryann, made for all the guest. It was always a delicious breakfast that you would find in a five star restaurant. They were wonderful host. They even suggested hiking trails and wineries to visit. We are definitely planning a return trip to Carson Ridge Cabins in the future. It will be a vacation we will always remember.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njdemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carsonridge1261, Manager at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

We look forward to having you back -- one memorable stay just isn't enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had our first experience of the Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins on July 29, 2012, for our wedding night. I'm a native of the Columbia Gorge, but had never visited this gem. The cabins are extremely well-appointed, with large jetted tubs, robes, a nice kitchenette area, and wonderfully soft sheets on a beautiful King bed. We loved looking right out our deck to the meadow and forested hills.
The inn keepers are flexible and friendly, and made everything perfect. Oh, and the hammocks in the forest are a must!
Carson Ridge is also a wonderful home base for exploring the Gorge. There's so much to see around Stevenson, and in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest close to Carson Ridge.
I cannot say enough about this place, and hope to have a good excuse to stay there again sometime!

Room Tip: Pick the room theme you like best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins! We are a young couple who stayed in the Bear's Den cabin for three nights. The room was very clean and had the most incredible jacuzzi bathtub to relax in after an adventurous day in the Columbia River Gorge. The views are incredible and the breakfast was delicious! We had our breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket and we took it up to the tables in the gardens surrounding the cabins to eat overlooking the mountains. The owners were very friendly and hospitable and took great care to ensure our stay was the best it could be. It was a magical experience and I recommend anyone exploring the area to stay at the cabins!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 16 year wedding anniversary. What a wonderful place to stay, the cabins are very nice and comfertable with a small fridge. There is also a microwave, a jettet tub, and fireplace. Breakfast was incredible we had creme' brulee one morning with fresh fruit and fresh juice. The next morning we had an amazing cassarole. Each afternoon they serve snacks and they too were yummy. The main lobby was open 24/7 so if you needed anything like a movie (free of charge) or a soda (free of charge) or you just wanted a good book to read they were there to borrow. There was always fresh coffee and tea. Tom and his wife were very nice and very gracoius hosts. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews