We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Private Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Carson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waldport, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Private Cabin”
Reviewed 22 October 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Green Leaf cabin for one evening. A wonderful place! All the cabins have good privacy, but the Green Leaf is definitely the one that makes you feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

The cabin is cozy, with big leather chairs right in front of the gas fireplace. The bathroom is spacious (loved the walk-in shower with seating, as well as the jet tub for two). The whole decor is tasteful and inviting. We loved the look of the unfinished wood poles used for the frame of the big, plushy, ultracomfy bed. Keep in mind that the bed's mattresses are stacked pretty high--I'm pretty small so I had to use the little wooden step stools to get in.

There's also a nice kitchen area with table and chairs, snacks, tea, coffee, coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. We sat at the kitchen table, sipping our wine and enjoying the view out the window.

The place is just a few minutes north of the Columbia Gorge. We didn't feel like being in the midst of the heavier tourist traffic in Stevenson (which is my favorite little town in the Gorge), so Carson Ridge B&B's location suited us just fine. Carson is just enough "away" while still being close to all the Gorge's attractions.

Jim and Debbie are extremely kind and gracious. We heard of their B&B through the local landscaper who did the work around the cabins. Dan vouched for them as some of the nicest people he knows. And that was our impression, too--very genuine, good-hearted people.

They serve a nice big breakfast at the main house, so you can chat with your hosts and meet the other people staying at the B&B. The breakfast featured an egg-cheese-ham dish, as well as toast, muffins and a fresh mixed fruit salad. They also offered a variety of teas and juices, and good coffee. Not super frilly fancy, but all well-prepared, simple and satifsfying.

A great place altogether! We'll definitely be going back!

  • Liked — cabin's location, room quality, excellent hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
277
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vieques
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

We've just returned from a three week vacation in the Northwest and we had a wide variety of accomodations along the way. By far we both agreed that Carson Ridge was the peak experience of our journey. In fact, the moment we checked into our cabin and saw how comfy it was, how quiet and truly private it was, my husband went back to the office to turn our two night stay into a three night stay! The surrounding area is really marvelous and diverse - great hiking, wine-tasting, visits to Mt. Hood, the Columbia River Gorge and the whole "fruit loop" of orchards and farmstands. But I have to tell you we had such a hard time staying away from our cabin...we kept cutting our days short so we could go back and nap and enjoy the fireplace, the jetted tub and the exceptionally comfortable bed. The breakfasts were positively bountiful, varied and really delicious, and served in an casual setting that invites as much or as little interaction with other guests as you desire. We kept saying to each other that our hosts had thought of everything. There are lots of free treats and surprises in the room and in the common area and everything about Carson Ridge is easy and relaxed but so well thought out and luxurious. We used to own a B&B and we know how hard it is to pull it off perfectly so we can assure you these cabins are about as close to heaven as you're going to find on earth!

  • Liked — luxuriously appointed room
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — don't let the roadside location scare you - the cabins are great and quiet.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaribeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2006

My husband and I had such a great time at Carson Ridge B&B. The cabins offered the privacy and solitude we were looking for when getting away from the demands of "life". The owners were so friendly and they have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

There were so much thought put into the rooms... plush, comfortable mattresses with lots of pillows to rest on after a long week; jetted tubs with sea salts and candles provide for your bath and robes for afterwards; cold bottled water in the fridge; coffee, tea, hot chocolate with large mugs and a coffee maker and microwave nearby to heat water; sparkling apple cider with flutes and a wine bottle opener and towels nearby; snacks baskets with cookies to salty mixes to popcorn along with postcards of the Gorge; delicious chocolate truffle by each of the nightstands. They even left us a couple of beautiful roses with a Congratulations note for our wedding. (Thank you! That was so sweet!) There was so much that I"m sure that I've missed something.

The outside of the cabin was just as nice. The cabins faced a wooded hillside instead of a parking area. The covered patio deck had a table and 2 chairs with a citronella candle provided as well as a log swing.

Unfortunately, we had to leave before the 9am breakfast so we didn't get to enjoy it but I'm sure that we'll be back soon to do so.

This was truly the best place we've ever stayed. We would 100% completely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet paradise. In fact, I haven't stopped raving about this place since we got home. :)

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

My wife and I recently attended the Brew, Blues, and BBQ in Stevenson, WA. With no hotel or B&B space left in Stevenson, we were given a tip to try a B&B in Carson, WA (about 3.5 miles from Stevenson). This B&B is called Carson Ridge B&B. The owner, Debbie Waters, and her staff were very friendly and helpful. Unlike more traditional B&B's where the patrons share a single large household, this B&B has individual stand-alone units on it's large property. Sort of like cabins, but these units are more modular and modern.

We were fortunate enough to have received a complimentary upgrade from a "queen bed" unit to their best unit, the "king bed" unit. The unit was private and delightful! The log bed framed mattres was very comfortable. The jetted jacuzzi bath and separate shower stall were just like new... very modern plumbing and fixtures and truly unmatched by any hotel or B&B I've ever stayed at before. The TV has satellite reception and a DVD player. We did not watch any TV, but I could tell each unit had its own Directv dish, and having that at my own home, I know how good the picture comes in. The unit had a nice fireplace, but again, we did not use it (weather was hot outside during our stay). It had a kitchenette with a nice sized small refrig, microwave, and teas/coffees/bottled water.

The room included a small basket of goodies for us to snack on during our stay. A couple of nice chocolate candies by the bedside as well. The weather was hot this past weekend in Carson, so it was nice that the units are equiped with wall unit A/C. Each unit has it's own porch with chairs and a table. Our unit had a porch swing as well (all units might have that, but I do not recollect for sure). The porches for each unit offer the most privacy possible by the way they are designed and positioned facing the hillside above the property. More hills and views are off to the left.

The property is located just off the main road through the small city of Carson on Wind River Road.

The breakfast was not your traditional English B&B fare, but the caserole dish prepared ham, egg, cheese quiche and peach cobbler were delicious. The fresh fruit, coffee, OJ and freshly made fruit smoothy were delicious as well. There were yogarts available, too. My wife and I noted that it seemed odd that no cereal or toast was available, but we did not leave there hungry either. Overall, we enjoyed our meal. The dinning room is located in the main building, just a short walk from our cabin, and it was a comfortable room with cool pictures hanging on the wall. There is a small refridge in the breakfast sitting area where complimentary pop and bottled water are available.

We booked at $175 (plus taxes) per night for the Queen Bed cabin, but as I mentioned earlier, we were upgraded for free to the King Bed cabin due to availability. Debbie said that unit would normally cost $195 during this peak season along the Columbia River. Rates drop significantly during off-season. I recommend you visit their website at Carsonridgebnb for more information on rates and directions and etc.

At first, my wife and I thought that the rate was a bit high for a B&B in a small city like Carson, WA, but after seeing the property and the unit, the rate is quite in line with what you get in our opinion. We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Carson Ridge B&B and we hope you find this review helpful in your search for a place to stay. We highly recommend it! Doug and Nancy

PS: Sorry for any mispellings... no spell check on this site, and I was kind of in a hurry!

Helpful?
3 Thank RentonDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 June 2006

Carson Ridge Bed & Breakfast is the perfect place for a very nice, relaxing and peaceful getaway! These newly remodeled "cabins" are the perfect setting for a romantic getaway or just a chance to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy life. But these aren't just any cabins! They're filled with wonderful treats - like the big log beds with the most plush and soft bedding, and the private jacuzzi tubs in each, and the ever ready gas fireplaces! And we loved the private deck with the wonderful log swing for two, and nice patio table and chairs. The fridge held all the snacks and food we needed, and the microwave meant we never had to leave our little cabin of paradise. You can eat breakfast prepared in their new commercial kitchen and dining area
or have it brought to you in your cabin. Such service! And there's lots of very nice amenities to enjoy, like the cozy robes provided and the candles everywhere and good coffees & teas, and a basketful of crackers & chocolates and a nice big TV & DVD player and a gift bag full of Burt's Bees Pampering lotions and balms, and a very nice new shower tall enough for most anyone!

Did I mention how clean they are and how pretty the setting is and how nice the people are and how reasonably priced they are for all that you get? If you're looking for peace and quiet and lots of comfort, you will NOT be dissapointed. We haven't relaxed like that since our kids were born. We can't wait to go back! We live right here in Carson and are thrilled to have something so nice right here in our own little place in the Columbia River Gorge. What a wonderful addition to our community, and to the Gorge!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carson
13.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
13.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
724 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
15.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins

Property: Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins
Address: 1261 Wind River Hwy, Carson, WA 98610-3257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Carson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate your soul in the tranquility of your private, luxury Columbia River Gorge cabin. Spa tubs for 2, walk-in showers with dual shower heads, fireplaces, log beds, private porches with log swings, spectacular views, luxury linens, plush robes, spa services in your own romantic Washington cabin...need we say more? Our award-winning Columbia River Gorge lodging has been voted "The Best in the West", the "Top 10 Most Romantic Inns in the Country", "Best Place to Celebrate Romance" and most recently won for the second year running, "Best of the Gorge". We have the Tesla and Clipper Creek electric vehicle (EV) charge station onsite for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins Hotel Carson
Carson Ridge Luxury Cabins Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing