We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West coast finest!”

Chelan County Museum and Pioneer Village
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Cashmere
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum on the history of Chelan county.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“West coast finest!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

One of the best Indian artifacts collections on the West Coast. This well run community of Cashmere museum has outstanding art works and bronze works by artist such as William Reese and others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cashmere, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to take family members - All Ages!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to the Chelan County Museum and Pioneer Village several times with family members of all ages. Their Pioneer Village is a wonderful experience and re is always a new display or exhibit. On special weekends they have volunteers dressed up in pioneer attire and stage reinactments of history in the area. Pack a lunch and plan on spending more than a few hours at this great museum!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyWendlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad we went!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great time here! My daughter got a little scavenger hunt sheet & off we went, exploring Native American artifacts, prehistoric exhibits, and (the best part) the Pioneer Village. She had been told that if she found all the items on the sheet, including a special brass elephant, she would get 2 prizes. We enthusiastically searched all the displays, along with a train caboose & all sorts of animal scenes, until all objects were found and she got her 2 prizes. Lots of fun, very interesting, and the lady up front was super friendly. A nice gift shop, too, along with restroom facilities & a water fountain.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ACG0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still a fun place to visit”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having grown up in East Wenatchee, I have fond memories of visiting this museum as a child. I remember thinking that the outdoor pioneer village was the coolest museum ever. Going back this summer to visit with my husband and 8 year old daughter was nostalgic, especially because little had changed. I was very pleased to see that the pioneer village was still there, was fully furnished as I remembered, and was well maintained. They must have a loyal following of benefactors to maintain this private museum. The interior was much as I remembered; Native American artifacts along with a basement full of dated taxidermy. For me, the outdoor pioneer village and RR exhibits were well worth the trip down memory lane. The family enjoyed it as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The NW
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Small town museum”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

For a fee you can wander around this museum to look at some Native American artifacts, artwork, some pioneer related items, and a lot of taxidermy critters. You can then venture outside to see a variety of small buildings, such as cabins, a small jail, a church, etc. If you are in the area and want to kill an hour or two, it's a nice way to learn about the area and the folks who lived there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NWTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelan County Museum and Pioneer Village also viewed

 

Been to Chelan County Museum and Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing