We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timberland Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Reviewed 16 September 2008

If you like retro 1950's style with pastel colors and pictures of pink Flamingos on the wall then this is the place for you. I stayed there last month but forgot my shaving kit when checking out. Arrived back in Anacortes (200 miles north) that evening and realized what I had done. It was getting late so I called the next morning to check on their lost and found. Told them that there was a couple of heart medicines in the bag along with Insulin and other meds but was told that the lost and found was in the housekeeping section and it would be a while for them to check. When I called back later they said they had no trace of my bag. Apparently they either didn't bother to check or the housekeeping personnel just tossed it. I suppose this is just an indication of their regard for their customers. It costs me considerable expense and time to replace the medicine that I needed to have, since I live in Colorado.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maxwell80524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

I figure you get what you pay for and this place was under $80. The place was clean and the staff was helpful, but the bathroom light would not work, so they had us change rooms. The rooms had little amenities, except an ice box and hair dryer. We did enjoy picking the blackberries in the back parking lot, which we needed because the breakfast consisted of hot drink, juice and small sweet roll. So the place was not bad for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grandmahazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Most of the reviews here are right on the money - we stayed here for 3 nights, and found it to be comfortable, quiet, and very clean (housekeeping staff gets an A+). The room hasn't got the amenities that you'd expect when you're paying around $100/night - no coffeemaker, no iron, no extra blankets or pillows, no wireless internet. It does have soft drink vending machines, coffee in the lobby & also available from an on-site coffee hut, and great insulation in the rooms, which is nice, since you're right by the expressway. Also appreciated was the hot water for showers (some hotels seem to be going overboard with the conservation efforts, and offer water only HINTING at hot), and the a/c that worked very efficiently. There are several restaurants just steps away from the hotel. Not sure about the reviewer who said they'd rather sleep in their car than stay here - we're pretty discriminating, and found this place to be a far cry from a "roach motel".

The Cinedome Theatre right next door - which had a great IMAX-type Mt. St. Helens movie & gift shop - is now closed, but you can see the real deal by driving 52 beautiful miles away. We'd probably stay at this motel again, but a few more amenities for the price would be awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prosperous&abundant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

The hotel is located 5 miles from Mount St Helens entrance. It's near the highway for easy access and next to 2 gas stations with stores and 2 restaurants across the street. The hotel itself was yucky and barely acceptable. it was old and needs serious remodeling. For the price and location it worked for the night but any longer I would rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

This clean and quiet hotel is at the start of the highway that leads to Mt. St. Helens. The rooms are quite large and in good shape. There is a laundromat as well which was quite handy. The front desk was quite friendly and helpful. There is internet, but only via a hotel supplied line.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

For access to the western and most popular part of Mt. St. Helens, Castle Rock is the "city" of choice off I-5. If you only need one bed, find another place. We needed two queens, and based on reviews and availability, we spent two nights here. It was very clean, and the management kept the laundry room (quite convient; right in hotel) open after hours so I could take care of my overdue laundry. However, you know the feeling . . . cheap little perfumey soaps, thin towels, flat pillows (ask for more) . . . just not up to the $86 for two (AAA rate) we paid, without taxes. It works for what we needed which was two beds. Otherwise, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PaulaTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Good Price with few "extras" but no problems. High Speed Internet, Good for locations nearby to eat. Insulation is good and the noise was almost non existent. Great location for Mt. St. Helen.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank ghdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
10.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
9.7 mi away
Best Western Aladdin Inn
3.5 mi away
Blue Heron chateau
Blue Heron chateau
#1 of 1 in Castle Rock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Inn & Suites

Address: 1271 Mt Saint Helens Way NE, Castle Rock, WA 98611-9013
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Timberland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Castle Rock, it's a modern and very pleasant motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Timberland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberland Inn And Suites
Timberland Hotel Castle Rock
Timberland Motel Castle Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing