We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with a great view near Mt St Helen's”
Review of Blue Heron chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron chateau
Ranked #1 of 1 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The building is very nice looking and has many great common areas with couches, books etc. There is also a big porch and each room has it's own little balcony to check out the fabulous view of the lake and mountains. Our bedroom was comfortable and spacious. The inside decor was a bit sparse and mismatched but that's about the only negative comment we had. The manager was helpful in suggesting local places to eat, was generally very hospitable and cooked us up an excellent, huge breakfast in the morning. We would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is the place to stay if you want a spacious, extremely clean, and nicely furnished room with a very comfortable king sized bed (try the jacuzzi suite). You are across the street from the Mt. St. Helens visitor center with a view of the mountain from your balcony, and you have fairly easy access to all areas of the park. However, the best reason to chose this B&B is the lady who manages this property is extremely accommodating and attentive to all your needs, and she is an incredible cook. The breakfasts were delicious, creative, and more food than you could ever eat. My wife and I stayed 3 days instead of the 2 days we had originally planned. We are from Florida and plan to stay here again when we return to this area next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWPandFCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Felt like we were at a family member's home, warm reception upon arrival, room #6 at end of hall was very quiet, comfortable king sized bed, delicious and abundant breakfast, friendly accommodating staff/management. Mt. St. Helen Cellars wine tasting room in lower level was fun and friendly vintners. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllstaedtX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I am echoing the prior review of the Blue Heron Inn. My family of 4 (2 kids 2 adults) shared a large room with 2 queen beds. The room and bathroom was clean and pleasant -- like a Holiday Inn. Nothing too fancy but just right for our sight-seeing and hiking trip. The people at the inn were very nice, friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious (my son loved the "Monkey bread"). The location is perfect for a visit to Mt St Helen's and very easy to find. They were able to provide menus and recommendations for dinners. And the wine tasting room downstairs was a wonderful bonus ... we even bought 2 bottles. There is a pool, but it was closed for some reason when we stayed. There was some road noise in the early morning from logging trucks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were lucky to get a room for two nights at the Blue Heron Inn for a trip we took this month. The people there at the inn were very nice, friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The location is perfect for a visit to Mt St Helen's and very easy to find. They were able to provide menus and recommendations for dinners. And the wine tasting room downstairs was a wonderful bonus ... we even bought a bottle to enjoy in the evening times after good days of hiking. Warm cookies in the afternoon were a very nice touch. We had stayed at the inn many years ago when it was run by the same owner as now. We were very pleased then and we were very pleased again this time. And we will definitely be staying again, the next time we visit Mt St Helen's.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Clean, friendly, good location (view of the mountain on a clear day). Great communal breakfasts. Good clean rooms. Good wifi. The new management/staff are making a great effort to get this place back in the good books after the reputation had apparently been run down by a previous operator.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

What a nice place to stay when visiting Mt St Helens. We enjoyed every minute of it: the nice discussions at the breakfast table with 4 different nationalities, the room, the view, the nice welcoming, the wine tasting. So go there and enjoy!
Marian van den Houten

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavdhouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Heron chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron chateau

Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611-9719
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range: £167 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Heron chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing