We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, warm and friendly place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron chateau
Ranked #1 of 1 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy, warm and friendly place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

This B&B is very pretty, cozy, friendly and convienent. We stayed in the Jacuzzi room (I recommed this!) for 2 nights during our Mt St Helens stay. John the owner, is very enthusiastic, informative and a fabulous cook. The Inn was very clean and nicely decorated. It is easy to find and close (within 30 minutes or so) to all the activities. The breakfast cooked every morning by John was large and very tasty. I would recommend this B&B to everyone wanting to stay in this area. We will be back!

  • Liked — Amazing jacuzzi tub
  • Disliked — noise between floors (walking and such)
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own pillow!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawnamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

BHI is about 30-something miles away from Mt. St. Helens (MSH), but right across the street from one of the MSH visitor centers. It's clean, spacious, attractive and comfy. John, the owner, was a delightful host.

Although we reserved Room 3, we were immediately escorted to Room 2 when we arrived. Don't know why, and we didn't ask because our room had a perfect view of MSH.

Breakfasts were homemade, ample and delicious.

Note: The area has lots of mosquitos in the summer. Be sure to bring insect repellant with DEET!

Helpful?
2 Thank LA2Ventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2005

This place is wonderful and the host, John, is very gracious. We arrived to find wine and cheese available which we enjoyed on their deck with a view of Silver Lake (mostly a marsh view) and Mount St. Helens (when the weather is clear). The room was nice with a Queen and Sofa twin sleeper. The sleeper was not very comfortable but I haven't been on a sleeper that is. Fine for our 5 year old. Room was clean and had a TV. It had its own deck, though the railing seemed a bit weak. All rooms have a view though I think the top floor would be the best. The place is on the highway to Mount St. Helens but during the evenings, there really is no traffic so very quiet. There are several common areas which are great for relaxing. They have a room with a TV, VCR, DVD with tapes/DVDs to use. They offer books and games to play. The breakfast is gourmet but appropriate for the unsophisticated tastes of children as well. We had homemade buttermilk/lemon pancakes, quiche and fruit. John had made the most wonderful homemade strawberry and blackberry jams. No one used the syrup because of they were so good! They are just finishing putting in a nice pool in front so it will be a nice place to swim after a hot day at the mountain. This is definitely the best place to stay in Castle Rock!

Note - This place has stairs and no other option to get to the rooms.

Also, they often will refer you to Hattie's for dinner. It is good home cooking but they do not serve alcohol.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MtnLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2004

Spent two nights here while hiking and exploring the Mount St. Helens area. This offers the best of both worlds – most of the conveniences of a modern motel with the charm of a B&B. Our host was very knowledgeable and friendly, the food delicious, and the facilities first rate. Our only regret was we were unable to take advantage of spacious and stunning common areas nor the nightly wine & cheese receptions due to our busy schedule.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank psawicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2003

I had the best stay at the Blue Heron Inn, Jon and Jeanne Robards the owners were the kindest host I've ever experienced. I can't wait for my next getaway with my wife to the Blue Heron Inn. We found it to be a perfect launching point for our adventures up to the Volcano. Don't miss this beutiful Bed and Breakfast. OBTW when we were there we got to meet a National Geographic Writer who was doing a update on the Volcano. I would have never guessed I'd meet someone famous like that!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
11.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
11.0 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
11.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
3.5 mi away
Timberland Inn & Suites
Timberland Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Castle Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron chateau

Property: Blue Heron chateau
Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Heron chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Heron chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing