We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quick stopover!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castle Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. St. Helens Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Ellen, the owner, was very friendly and personable. I loved that there was a restaurant right next door, as well as a wine tasting and gift shop. My only disappointment was that I could not get coffee before I left at 6am the next morning.
Overall, the room was good, and very affordable. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't notice an elevator, so if you can't do stairs, or have a lot of luggage, ask for fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for one night. We selected the Mt St Helen's hotel based on previous TripAdvisor reviews that were mostly good or better.

It's located just off of I-5 on the highway that leads to Mt. St. Helen. It's been a long time since I stayed at a hotel that used real keys and not a key card, but that's an indication of when anything here was last updated. Beds are old, furniture is old, although the tv has been updated to cable tv.

They did not require a deposit even though we indicated that we would be arriving after 6pm. Reservations are by telephone only, but information is on their website.

The room was clean, but a bit smoky, though we had a non-smoking room. They have coffee and donuts in the lobby in the morning.

Nothing special. Room was $115 plus tax, so not really that great of a deal when most chains provide nicer rooms and a better breakfast. I couldn't rate this hotel anything other than average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent the night here on the way to Mt. St. Helens. It's a basic motel. It was clean and everything worked. It is right next to a dinner house (probably the only one in Castle Rock) which had very good food. Price is reasonable. This is not a chain motel and is lacking a couple of things we have come to expect. There is no in-room coffee and there is no hair dryer. Overall, a decent place to spend a night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank maureen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A great place on the road to Mt St Helen's. We really enjoyed this motel and were really pleased with the owner who was so very helpful in providing information about Mt St Helen's and the local community. We enjoyed the facilities public laundry room as well. We really enjoyed the town of Castle Rock. A beautiful little town with very friendly people. I'd recommend this facility without

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Merle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We wanted a clean, convenient and reasonably-priced room near Mt. St. Helens and found one here. The hotel is close to the interstate on the road to the mountain. There are several restaurants within walking distance, including a steakhouse, a mexican place, and a fast food place. The Mt. St. Helens visitor center is just a few miles up the road (nice displays and helpful staff) and the drive to the top of the volcano is less than an hour (and quite beautiful).The service at the motel was excellent and the room was large, clean and quiet. No frills, but just what we needed and the location was very convenient. We'd surely stay here again if we return to the area for more hiking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fehiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We chose to stay here as it was close to Mt St Helens. Ellen that owns the motel was working on the front desk when we stayed. Please if you want to know anything about the area just speak with her, she's local and when we spoke to her about the eruption we got great insight, as well as a great chat!
We had a room on the ground floor with a fridge and great wifi reception. Everything was clean and perfect for our requirements.
A great value place to stay, in a great location for visiting the volcano.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MagicAltastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel was immaculate but there was an odd smell that you noticed as soon as you walked into this motel. It was also present in the room. I couldn't make up my mind whether it was a musty unused smell or if somebody had been smoking and tried to hide the smell. The rooms were basic no pictures on the walls etc but clean. You had to come out of the motel if you wanted to go to the reception. Donuts, tea and coffee were complimentary in the reception in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
10 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
205 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Kelso
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
0.1 mi away
Timberland Inn & Suites
Timberland Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Castle Rock
84 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Aladdin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. St. Helens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. St. Helens Motel

Address: Mt. Saint Helens Way NE, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Mt. St. Helens Hotel Castle Rock
Mt St Helens Motel
Mount Saint Helens Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing