We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. St. Helens Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castle Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. St. Helens Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Arnold
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We got this motel because it was on our way to Mt. St. Helens. The room was large, clean, nicely furnished, and conveniently located. While shampoo was provided, there was no lotion, conditioner, or hair dryer, and we thought they were a little skimpy with the towels. Breakfast consisted of donuts, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, but there were no tables, so we ate in our room. The room did, however, serve our purpose because it was quiet, wifi was available, the bed was comfortable, and it was on the road that leads to Mt. St. Helens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    73
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
60
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ellen is a gracious host with coffee and fresh donuts from local bakery in the am, nice homey reception area. Had nice size 2 queen bed room with frig/micro. Convenient laundry down the hall. Great launch point for drive up and back from Johnston Ridge Observatory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwhenIcan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesheim, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just a standard motel - but it's clean, well managed and staff is friendly. As a basis to explore Mt St Helens, it's well located, and the rooms are very big. They have all you need, and staff will provide you with good tips.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We picked this motel on our way to Mt. St. Helen's. The manager at the desk was very welcoming. The rate was good and our room was very clean. It was far enough off the hwy to be quiet and the upper floor at the back was probably even better. The room was large and comfortable with a fridge and microwave, quiet A/C and wifi. A coffee maker would have been nice, but there was coffee and donuts available in the lobby in the morning, but we didn't know until check out. The restaurant across the parking lot was convenient, with a bit of a local feel and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
286 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The place has a bit of old-school charm, with its real door keys and wooden furniture. I'll give it that. We also had no issues with cleanliness. Our problem was that at $126 (after including tax), the place was very overpriced. Although pastries and coffee were in the check-in area, there was no breakfast. There was no pool. Also absent were the basic amenities of coffee machine and hair dryer. There was a peculiar odor in the room that was not at all pleasant, and we had to open the window to get rid of it. When my husband went to take a shower, there was no hot water.

What was also surprising is that despite so few guests on the night we stayed there that they would charge so much money. Perhaps if they charged less they would get more guests. I suspect that many people must stay in Kelso or Woodland when visiting Mt. St. Helens and stay at the cheaper inns with more amenities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to stay near Mt. St. Helens. We came across this motel and decided to see about room availability. I e-mailed and received a prompt reply! Ellen was very gracious and accommodating with our room request. The motel was clean and well kept. The beds were comfortable. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The motel was very clean and spacious. An added benefit was there is an onsite laundry. As we had been traveling several days it was nice to "do the laundry." The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a bit lacking. Ellen, the owner/operator was very charming. Fresh coffee made throughout the day and donuts in the morning. P. S. - no hair dryer and no coffee pot, but a nice size frig and microwave!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Rock
10.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
10.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timberland Inn & Suites
Timberland Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Castle Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. St. Helens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. St. Helens Motel

Property: Mt. St. Helens Motel
Address: Mt. Saint Helens Way NE, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Region: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Rock
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Mt. St. Helens Hotel Castle Rock
Mt St Helens Motel
Mount Saint Helens Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing