We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here with our 3, 12, 14 & 16 years old. It was nice being able to rest as needed & our older children were able to come & go when we needed to rest with our little one. Additionally, my daughter & I have Celiac disease & their restaurants have delicious gluten free options. We only had one issue with a staff member & that was quickly resolved in a more than fair manner. Other then that one issue, the staff was more than accommodating to our needs. Similar to any resort, pricing is increased accordingly. Regardless, we had a blast & plan to return again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hzong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,506)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,766 - 2,772 of 3,506 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I just spent two nights at the Great Wolf Lodge. My daughters are 7 and 8 and they and a blast. I think the ideal ages for going here are 8-12 years to fully take advantage of all the great activities they have to offer. The water park was really fun, although the wave pool was shut down for a while because of a poop accident and my eyes and respiratory tract were irritated from the chlorine. But safety was a top priority in a very busy place which makes any parent feel a little bit better amid the chaos. The MagicQuest game was awesome and I maxed out my FitBit 2 days in a row trying to keep up with my girls. The new Howlers rope course was also great but not for the faint of heart for anyone with a fear of heights. The room was spacious and well equipped with a fridge and microwave. And bunk beds for our girls. I would strongly suggest bringing your own snacks and beverages for the room. Food was pretty mediocre and our last dinner was almost inedible by all of us. The best bets by far with the pizzas and salads. Lastly, we experienced fantastic service by all the staff members we encountered during our stay. We will return at least once while our children are in the "golden" age for GWL. Recommended, for sure.

Room Tip: Floor 6-8 for quieter floors and ground floor for no elevator waits.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PortMoodygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

3rd time at a GWL. Kids love it. This trip was spent mostly doing MagiQuest. It was a great workout going up and down 5 flights with my kids. I told them no elevators. We did go to the water park, good thing grandpa likes slides, kids couldn't get enough, and I don't do slides. Ate off site for most of the meals as GWL is over priced. But Howling Wolf does good pizza and the spaghetti smelled amazing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have visited Great Wolf Lodge 3 times- the Dells location twice and recently the Grand Mound, Oregon location. The water park is better than average, but the hotel and overall experience is always disappointing and leaves us feeling that we did not receive reasonable value for the very substantial expense. From the moment you arrive and stand in the long line to check in, the hype begins and continues every minute of your stay. Selling to the children and making parents feel guilty if they don't indulge their children appears to be the business plan. Many attractions do that - some, like the Disney properties do it well (and more subtlety) by providing adults opportunities for enjoyment that reduce the "taken" feeling but many, including Great Wolf, fall far short. Their association with MagiQuest is a gimmick that obviously works for them financially and fills the kid's (and adults) time when the water park isn't open, but can easily add $100 or $150 to the already expensive room/water park admission combo for a small family. On the plus side, the water park is great. They employ and train teenagers to be exceptionally friendly, helpful while keeping the kids safe in the water park. I'll gladly take my grandchildren to a good water park, but I'm hoping that our grandchildren outgrow Great Wolf very soon!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank MikeM025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Mike,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Great Wolf Lodge and for staying at our Grand Mound location! We understand that the cost for additional activities can be a point of contention for guests which is why we offer a variety of discounted add-on packages that can be added on prior to arrival. These packages often save guests at least 20% off the regular retail prices! For more information you can visit us online and chat with a live Great Wolf Representative from 8am to 10pm CST.

We look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Kids has fun, but between the room cost and the wand game, expensive. For a family of 4 it was $500.00 for one hotel night. Even though they advertise express check-in it is not available when you arrive. We were on the 3rd floor and when we left it took us 30 mins to wait for a free elevator. Not what I expect for the price.

Room Tip: It is fun for the kids but very expensive.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Grand Mound! I am sorry to hear you were unable to take advantage of our online check-in option prior to your arrival. This process must be completed by midnight the day before guests check-in, so it would not be available once you arrive.

If the main bank of elevators is occupied, you can go down to the end of the hall and use the elevator that is available there.

We hope to have your pack back soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

So we just got back from GWL, it was ok. The rooms were spotless and extremely clean:). The buffet food wasnt to bad, they make a mean omelette..service was pretty decent.
my older daughter went to the salon last night and got the tiara and sash the girls working were so sweet to her! However my other daughter went to get the same thing this morning before we left and as we entered the girl working said very rudely "come back in an hour! We are closed." I replied "yeah we are leaving in 10mins"..then she said snarkingly "we open at 11!." (Not sure why the door was open and she was helping someone else!!!) She was rude. Not sure if ill ever go back to scoops!
Other then the rude girl at scoops and the burning in my eyes (from the chlorine)when we walked in the water park...it was pretty decent ..we will be going back. (But avoiding scoops! )

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

All 9 of us enjoyed our time at the Lodge. The kids (10, 13, 14 & 16) loved the water slides and spent hours there. In fact, they spent so much time there, they didn't have time for the quests. Our rooms were spacious, and the microwave and fridge were appreciated by the choosier eaters in the group. I would ask for rooms closer to the centre of the hotel next time.

We had the buffet on the first night. If you like buffets, it was great. Lots of selection and something for everyone. I preferred the pizza on the second day. Made to order with a gorgeous crust - mmmm!

Final tip for the next trip - arrive early and stay late to make the most of your time. There are change rooms and lockers, so don't wait until you can get into your room.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the middle, but not too close to stairwells or elevators. Both are part...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
15.4 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
5.8 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Peppermill Empress Inn
Peppermill Empress Inn
#3 of 11 in Centralia
124 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Centralia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 20500 Old Highway 99 SW, Centralia, WA 98531-9708
Region: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range: £178 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Centralia, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing