We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very definition of great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Oscar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Oscar Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The very definition of great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Needed a place to stay for a night on a roadtrip on the left coast, and wanted a stop not too far away from Seattle. Found the King Oscar in a coupon magazine picked up down the road and decided to give it a chance due to its low price. One night - how bad can it be?

The answer is not bad at all, in fact it was really good, especially considering the low price. Comfortable and clean rooms, good laundry facilities and for the kids - an indoor pool! On top of this the receptionist was wonderful, very helpful and pleasant.

Location is just off of I5, but far enough so you won't be bothered by traffic sounds, at least not on the east side of the motel. Neighborhood seemed a little rough when arriving after dark, but in daylight you realize it's quite alright. Motel is situated right next to a cluster of outlet stores, so if you're into that sort of thing you may want to hang around and explore. We pressed on towards Seattle, which is another hour or so north.

The continental breakfast is what you'd expect for the price, but will keep you going.

All in all a better than expected experience. Dont be scared off by the looks of the place. Would definitively stop there again should the opportunity occur.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JothySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    50
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
36
38
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neah Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have stayed in their "sister" hotel in Tacoma, and this one is similar. Nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean, service is excellent, and the price is right. I wasn't looking for a "destination" hotel, just a clean and safe place to sleep on my way south. They are both. Just the basics: fridge, mircrowave, internet (not WiFi, bring a cable or they have them at the office) and a King size bed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

After reading the reviews I was surprised at the condition of the rooms. The first room smelled quite bad and although we were told it was the air freshner the second room did not smell like the first. The second room smelled of air freshner. Both rooms were a little tired but for the price, I guess one should expect that. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randr10040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Centralia hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Have to say it isn't bad for the price. We always stay in Centralia because it is the half way point for us when we travel to see family. We stayed at America's Best Value Inn, and will not stay there again. King oscar was not perfect but good for the price. I wasn't too impressed with the pool and hot tub, but again price!
The staff was really nice and friendly, the rooms smelled clean and looked clean. The bathroom was a bit run down, and the toilet a little interesting, but it was again, clean! I liked that it was right off the highway and within walking distance to a lot of fast food and mexican restaurants and the outlets. Will totally stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the service and value we received at the King Oscar in Centralia, WA. We expected a typical motel experience, but quickly discovered they were above average. The rooms were very clean, spacious with large comfortable beds, great parking, and large clean bathrooms. Nice decor, comfortable desk area, welcoming lobby, friendly staff.

Free breakfast (if ya wake up early enough) and easy freeway access. From the east side of the hotel we had NO freeway noise! KOM had well lit parking and outdoor areas with decent foliage.

Overall this was a great stay however the Internet connection at the Kind Oscar is horrible. They do not have Wi-Fi, but instead provide you with a network cable to connect to their in room modems (free of charge) which is inconvenient. Who doesn't have wireless these days? This dinosaur technology took forever to connect.... the connection was slow, and the service was intermittent.

We were also a bit surprised by the level of precaution taken at the time of check in. The clerk took our ID's and made a copy of them, and also would not take cash which was inconvenient. What do they need a color copy of my ID for.... seemed strange.

Room Tip: Get a room on the east side if you don't like the soothing sound of Interstate 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HippieStarFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
252 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the King Oscar on a whim. I was headed south, it was late and just too tired to go any further. I pulled up the nearest motels on my iphone and this one came up with some excellent reviews. The reviews were accurate. The prices were outstanding, beds comfortable and room clean. I ended up leaving something valuable in the room.. I called the next day and they promptly located the item and shipped it to me. Just an overall positive experience with the King Oscar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeneMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I've paid hundreds of $s for rooms that were awful. Here, rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is bend over backward friendly and accommodating, and the price outrageously low. I'll definitely use this mpyel again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicordppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
1.3 mi away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 11 in Centralia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppermill Empress Inn
Peppermill Empress Inn
#3 of 11 in Centralia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Centralia
Motel 6 Centralia
#7 of 11 in Centralia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Oscar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Oscar Motel

Property: King Oscar Motel
Address: 1049 Eckerson Road, Centralia, WA 98531
Region: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — King Oscar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the freeway, close to resturants,outlet shopping, Lucky Eagle Casino, and The Great Wolf Lodge,and youth sports arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your King Oscar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Oscar Hotel Centralia
King Oscar Motel Centralia, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing