We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unexpected in Chehalis”

Mackinaws Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Chehalis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Unique meats and fish selections from the Pacific Northwest; catering; located in an historic restored hotel. A man cave on site serving beer and wine. Chef Laurel Khan.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very unexpected in Chehalis”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Met with some of our family in Chehalis because it is about half-way between where we live and where our family lives. Wasn't sure what to expect in this town since we had never been there other than passing by on hi-way to some where else. Never looked like there was anything impressive there.

Since it was supposed to be the best place in the county reservations were made on line for dinner. As we drove into town, noticed many storefronts empty, most places closed (Saturday afternoon) and very old buildings. Hum. Found the restaurant, which shared the building with another business next to it, near the end of the street. Our reservation was for 5:00 pm and as soon as we arrived was greeted warmly and seated. The seating arrangement seemed to be make-shift along the side of a wall, 2 of our party sitting backed up to the aisle the servers used going back and forth. It did seem like it was the only table arranged like that. After saying all that we were surprised at the the quality and tastyness of the food. It was very good and all of our party enjoyed what they had ordered. Their bread and garlic butter was excellent and plentiful. Over all, the food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and friendly. However, I would agree with other reviews that it is a bit over priced for this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food/Pricey”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a pricey restaurant for Chehalis. The food was good and the service was just average. It was in a cool old building but the decor was really lacking. We would try other places next time only because the prices exceeded the value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JT1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Lewis County for fine dining experience”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My Husband and I went there for Valentines Day and they were prepared to make it a very special evening. We were greeted by the aroma of the Traeger Grill smoking our New York Steak. Ah, that set the tone, the smell was so inviting. The owner warmly greeted us and showed us to our table and explained their menu... OKAY.. now we are talking! This is what I would expect in Seattle, but not here in Chehalis, right? Think again.. okay that was then, but will they be able to do the same again? The following month, 4 lady friends dined and not one of us was disappointed.. NOW Beat those odds!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKMVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little gem tucked away in Chehalis”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very nice atmosphere. Tiny little place tucked away here in Chehalis WA and the food is wonderful. All the flavor of any upscale restaurant in bigger cities. Would highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat58394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a dinner-only restaurant in downtown Chehalis. I'd call the decor kind of "lodge-type" (fishing, hunting, wildlife decor). We have been here several times and always had good meals. The menu is small and everything is freshly made. My favorite is probably the chicken ravioli (though everything I've tried has been good). I think this is one of the few really high-quality restaurants in the Centralia/Chehalis area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mackinaws Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing