We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Mackinaws Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Chehalis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique meats and fish selections from the Pacific Northwest; catering; located in an historic restored hotel. A man cave on site serving beer and wine. Chef Laurel Khan.
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Service was excellent since the moment we arrived. We were told there was an issue with printing the daily menu so we had to wait a little while. This was not an issue for us, as we understood this place to be a small, local owned place with a changing daily menu, plus, the server was apologetic and attentive. The food was very good and it was prepared just as requested (picky eater here), filet mignon extra well done. My husband got the Arctic char. We also tried the chocolate mousse for dessert. It was good but extremely rich! The sides were very good also. We have absolutely no complaints about the food or service. It did get pretty hot in there though, we were sweating as we were eating. Not sure if it was just because it was unusually hot that day or what but I definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shootingforthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local owner, chef = great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The atmosphere is wonderful for a quiet night of dinner or a group dinner for a dance from the high school or middle school. There is the Man Cave in the back for the bar and tv for those that just want to relax and have a few. The food is wonderful though. Laurel has done amazing with the place. My son signed his Letter of Intent there and Laurel came out and took a picture with him. What a local favorite.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dodif9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very unexpected in Chehalis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Met with some of our family in Chehalis because it is about half-way between where we live and where our family lives. Wasn't sure what to expect in this town since we had never been there other than passing by on hi-way to some where else. Never looked like there was anything impressive there.

Since it was supposed to be the best place in the county reservations were made on line for dinner. As we drove into town, noticed many storefronts empty, most places closed (Saturday afternoon) and very old buildings. Hum. Found the restaurant, which shared the building with another business next to it, near the end of the street. Our reservation was for 5:00 pm and as soon as we arrived was greeted warmly and seated. The seating arrangement seemed to be make-shift along the side of a wall, 2 of our party sitting backed up to the aisle the servers used going back and forth. It did seem like it was the only table arranged like that. After saying all that we were surprised at the the quality and tastyness of the food. It was very good and all of our party enjoyed what they had ordered. Their bread and garlic butter was excellent and plentiful. Over all, the food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and friendly. However, I would agree with other reviews that it is a bit over priced for this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food/Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a pricey restaurant for Chehalis. The food was good and the service was just average. It was in a cool old building but the decor was really lacking. We would try other places next time only because the prices exceeded the value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JT1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Lewis County for fine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My Husband and I went there for Valentines Day and they were prepared to make it a very special evening. We were greeted by the aroma of the Traeger Grill smoking our New York Steak. Ah, that set the tone, the smell was so inviting. The owner warmly greeted us and showed us to our table and explained their menu... OKAY.. now we are talking! This is what I would expect in Seattle, but not here in Chehalis, right? Think again.. okay that was then, but will they be able to do the same again? The following month, 4 lady friends dined and not one of us was disappointed.. NOW Beat those odds!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKMVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackinaws Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mackinaws Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing