We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room interior, fantastic location-awful guest experience with poor staff response”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chelan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was my third stay at Campbell's. And first I'd like to mention that my first two visits were very pleasant. This time I came over mid-week for a conference at the hotel. The conference facilities were great, even the food - which is not usually the case with conference food. The staff present at the conference events were also extremely helpful and friendly. They did a tremendous job.

Since the room's rate during the conference was the same post-conference, I decided to have the bf drive over Friday and we would stay through Monday. That's when my stay went south. Beginning Friday night there were a number of boys' baseball teams staying there, made up of 9-12 yo, I would guess. We stayed in room 4125, which is a ground floor unit in the last building. (The room itself, btw, was nice and well appointed. No complaints there.) BUT the room is located approximately 30-40 feet from a hot tub. Which, again, by itself is not bad. But when the hot tub is constantly populated by tween boys who don't realize that just because you're outside you don't have to yell, it makes having a room in close proximity to a hot tub no longer an amenity. After giving the group a night to get their rambunctious-ness out of their systems, so as not to be labeled a 'childless crank,' I was hoping that Saturday night would be better. It wasn't. Tweens were louder and the parents and coaches were drunker. After asking the young men directly to lower their voices and pointing out their proximity to my bedroom and receiving blank stares, I called the front desk and made them aware of the situation (as well as learning they would be checking out Sunday). I was told that they did have a security person on duty that night, so i figured that they would send that person down to politely and tactfully address the situation. Nope. Instead they continued to scream and yell and stay in the hot tub until close to 11pm - an hour after quiet hours began and two hours after kids are prohibited from the hot tubs - or so stated the materials I received at check in.

At that point it would have been a MAJOR inconvenience to switch rooms, had it been even possible, since I'd been three days already and was leaving Monday morning. And it had already been made clear that the hotel had no intention of rectifying the situation. So I gave up on a relaxing/romantic weekend, stuck my ear plugs in and downloaded a new book to my kindle - uh, yay for free wifi? :/

But hey, Sunday, after checkout time, the stay was pleasant again. There were several families with children enjoying the swimming pool and hot tubs in a typical, non-silent but reasonable manner.

I realize that this is just one experience, and in fairness I have had two other very nice experiences at Campbell's in past years. However, based on this I'm not sure if I'd stay again...at least I'd do my homework first as to other large parties of certain ages staying as well. I'd also avoid the bottom floor and rooms directly adjacent to the pool and hot tub areas.

My suggestions for Campbell's management: be proactive about controlling large parties so as not to allow undue nuisance to other guests; and consider adding better insulated sliding doors and windows to ground floor units directly adjacent to hot tub/pool areas.

The staff individually we're all very polite but their seeming unwillingness to address an unruly group was disheartening and frustrating. I suspect this was a very large booking group and that the hotel wasn't too concerned about the affect it had on the stay of one or two other 'smaller' bookings. This experience will definitely weigh in on my decision of where to stay on my next visit to Chelan.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms next to pools/hot tubs can be extremely noisy due to close proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

We wish to apologize to this guest.
We didn't do enough to enforce our quiet hours and we are sorry they were disappointed with their stay.
Our belief is that this unfortunate occurrence is not typical of the guest experience at Campbell's.
We are attempting to make contact with this guest and invite them back.
We hope they return and we thank them for their feedback and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Campbell's is at the top of our list in Lake Chelan. It's right downtown and on the lake. You can walk to shops or Safeway. The rooms are very nice, some face the water with a balcony and fireplace. The indoor restaurant is cozy and comfortable and has excellent food and service. The bar & outdoor restaurant are on the second level and overlook the downtown area. The food is good as well as the service. We go every year and are never disappointed. In summer, go early or late to avoid waiting.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and beach will be noisier and more expensive but have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at the resort the last week of February. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed for a total of 3 days. The staff offered us a room with a kitchenette and a fireplace. The room rate was $89.00, plus tax. The room was comfortable and roomy. The room overlooked Lake Chelan at sunset. Although the outside temperature was in the 30's, the fireplace and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake made the experience memorable.

The summer rate is 3 times higher and demand is high, so for an off season experience, I would recommend the resort. It was quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the kitchenette and fireplace and the higher the room, top floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We come back to Campbells every year, it's such a great place to stay, ideally located on the shores of Lake Chelan and a very short distance from shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are always exceptionally clean and the staff are extra accommodating. The outdoor pools and hot tubs are clean and inviting and they even have slips out front to store your boat between outings.
Also available are kayak and rowboat rentals, fun for traveling along the shoreline near the hotel.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent 3 days at Campbell's resort in Chelan. First of the "the staff" they are great. From the dining staff to the maids...First Class...and friendly. The food in the Pub was great. I would return....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thanks for the kind words about our Housekeeping Department. They do an awesome job. Also appreciate the good review of our Pub. We're pretty proud of our food and beverage program. Thanks again for the review and your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Resort thinks of itself as 5 star and they charge accordingly but it really is overpriced 3 star. Rooms are adequate at best and food is so so. In fact none of the restraurants in Chelan are that good.Tourist town and tourist prices.

Room Tip: Lake side is quieter but cost alot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackpounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Very nice hotel on the lake. We have a view room 2212 looking north up the lake. Awesome Winter View. Rooms are old and need updating. Very small tv compared to the size of the room. Very quiet this time of the year which is nice.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Buffman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelan
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#4 of 12 in Chelan
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#11 of 12 in Chelan
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Resort
0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chelan
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 8 in Chelan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan

Address: 104 W Woodin Ave, Chelan, WA 98816-9715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chelan
Price Range: £86 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #1 Resort in the Northwest by Evening Magazine two years in a row and earning Trip Advisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Campbell's Resort has been a chosen family friendly Washington resort since 1901. Offering upscale accommodations, award winning restaurant, a day spa and the best mid-size conference center in Washington state. Our mission is to provide the best resort experience in the Northwest through genuine hospitality and crisp service at our Lake Chelan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell`s Resort On Lake Chelan Hotel Chelan
Campbells Hotel On Lake Chelan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing