We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok resort but no good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Chelan
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok resort but no good value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just stayed at the Campbell's for three nights. The resort is ok but nothing special - and if you think about the (high) price for room with two double beds, you should really think twice. Throughout our visit, we at times were not sure whether the resort really has the customer in mind first or is just trying to make as much money as possible. For a resort that wants to cater to kids, you would expect facilities to change diapers in the restrooms - nowhere to be found. Asked for a crib - crib was not ready (just put the bag in the corner). when we asked a person to fix it the person could not do it but had to ask someone else... add to that the fact that the check in was really late (they called us at three minutes to four to beat their 4pm deadline....) and that I did not have the feeling that the cleaning maids were really in a rush to get the rooms ready for new customers... - we want to come back to this beautiful area (the day trip to Stehekin was the highlight - peaceful and beautiful spot!) but will not stay in the same property again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    125
    45
    17
    22
See reviews for
126
108
7
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a conference and there were pluses and minuses and overall it was a positive stay.

Stayed for a conference so the registration was taken care of for me. Check in was quick and with pleasant staff. Stayed in Lodge 5 which had two bedrooms, kitchen and dining room with patio/porch overlooking the lake. The rooms are older with dated furnishings - one bathroom with a 70's greenish-teal tub. The bathroom was smaller for what one would expect. The beds were comfortable. Overall the rooms were well maintained, but dated.

The conference rooms were more contemporary and well staffed. The hotel has several pools and hot tubs, a couple of beaches, fire pits, volleyball nets and is family friendly. The staff was very friendly at all times. I met one of the owners sons while walking around the property who was very friendly and offered to assist in anyway possible.

Overall, a very good stay in a a dated but maintained facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CougRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Top notch resort in Lake Chelan. We took our staff and booked 25 rooms. The grounds are very well kept including the pools and hot tubs. We had a lot of fun at the fire pit relaxing by the ocean one night. The rooms are modern and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

You would think that a large hotel that has been here for over 100 years would have the hospitality industry down. But Campbell's Resort disappointed us. The rooms were Holiday Inn-ish (despite the steep nightly rate). The staff would not help us store out bicycles (we came to Chelan for a bike race) they were fussy about late checkout and in general had the attitude of being the biggest name so why bother giving good service. We'll look for the competition next time we stay in Chelan.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of lake chelan, apparently. that is the best part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patag0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It is true that we were constrained in giving out late check-outs for these guests, in that our property was full the day of their check-out. We wished we could have better accommodated them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Used to come here years ago and remembered it fondly. Returned recently and was so disappointed. The grounds are still lovely with the lakeside beaches and pools but the rooms are just average and over-priced. The restaurant, despite being packed with employees, offered terrible service -- again at inflated prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We take all of these reviews seriously. We’re sorry these guests were unhappy and wished they would have contacted us so we could have made things right during their stay. We wish them well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I was here for a conference which went well. The staff, especially the food staff, was great. But, the accommodations were outdated and dirty. There was mold in the shower as well... And that was with an upgraded room. I didn't have a bad time, just average. Although I don't stay in Chelan much, so it might be the best one there. I don't know.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate this guest's feedback, wished we would have known about the housekeeping issues and encourage this guest to contact us so we can find out more about his stay and invite him back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went to Campbell's during the Memorial Day weekend. We stayed there for 3 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it.
What's great:
- The location. Right by the lake, across the street from Starbucks and Safeway :)
- Lake view. Let's face it, this is what we're here for, and Campbell's did not disappoint. Our room in Building 3 had a very good lake view, and we can enjoy the sunset clearly from the balcony. I don't think there is any room that doesn't have a lake view, although I could be wrong.
- Security. We had never been to Lake Chelan, but we knew it was a popular destination, especially for younger folks looking for fun. Nothing wrong with that, but we have small kids, and would rather have a quieter scenery. When we arrived at the resort, we were asked to put on one of those event bracelets that we have to keep wearing throughout our stay. We were a bit annoyed when the front desk asked to come with us to our parked car because she wanted to put on the guest bracelet herself on our son who was waiting in the car. What, she didn't trust that we would put this on our kid ourselves? But after our stay there, we were soooo happy they put all this security in place. There's always a security personnel at both gates. We went to the city park right next to another hotel on our second day, and could hear the party and loud music coming from their pool. We had none of that in Campbell's.
- The beach and the pool. Our kids love playing on the beach and in the pool. The hot tubs were great too.

What's not so great:
- Pricey. Well, I guess this is kind of a given. Everything on Chelan is pricey for that time period it seems. Or the whole summer for that matter. But at least we felt like we got our money's well worth at Campbell's.
- Bugs. They're not the biting kind, just the kind that hovers over your head and in front of your face the whole time. Yes, they're all over the area, nothing the resort could hardly do anything about, but it still bugs us (heh... pun intended).
- It is an older property. They maintained it really well and everything is clean and well taken care of, but the age shows here and there. Not enough to put a dent on a great vacation though.

So there you go. We're definitely happy with our stay, and will stay there again next time, and hopefully we can get a slightly better rate next time :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soekotjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClintonDCampbell, Owner at Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We appreciate these guests taking the time to write a review of their stay with us over Memorial Weekend. Thank-you for your feedback and patronage. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelan
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#3 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#6 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 8 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan

Property: Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
Address: 104 W Woodin Ave, Chelan, WA 98816-9715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Chelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #1 Resort in the Northwest by Evening Magazine two years in a row and earning Trip Advisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Campbell's Resort has been a chosen family friendly Washington resort since 1901. Offering upscale accommodations, award winning restaurant, a day spa and the best mid-size conference center in Washington state. Our mission is to provide the best resort experience in the Northwest through genuine hospitality and crisp service at our Lake Chelan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell`s Resort On Lake Chelan Hotel Chelan
Campbells Hotel On Lake Chelan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing