We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelan House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Chelan B&B and Inns
Harpenden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Chelan House is in a great location, close to the town of Chelan, just a short walk across the bridge, or take a peaceful walk round part of the lake close to the B&B. We stayed in Suite 1, it was perfect, a great size room, a small area for making drinks and heating up food if required. Everything seemed to be taken care of, mugs, bowels, plates etc. Our hosts Lisa and Steve were very friendly and helpful. Steve's breakfasts were very good, the only down side for us was the breakfast was a little late, at 9am but that was our only criticism.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a Wonderful Experience!! We spent two glorious days at this beautiful, quaint B&B located on the water at Lake Chelan. The B&B is a short distance to the center of town with an extremely well maintained walking path around the water.
Lisa and Steve's hospitality exceeds ALL others and they made us feel like part of the family immediately!!! Even Lucy their dog was happy to see us!! We stayed in Suite 2 which was extremely spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast every morning was absolutely delicious and always a treat!! Lisa and Steve make a wonderful team and they make everything look effortless!! They went out of their way to make sure we had all the information needed for our day's adventure. It was fun sharing our daily activities with them at the end of the day!!! They really enjoy their work!!
If you want a truly amazing visit to the area, stay at the Chelan House B&B where memories are made!! We were not ready to leave but we guarantee we will definitely Be Back!!!! Thanks again for a FANTASTIC VISIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardnercdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our return to Chelan House and meeting new owners Lisa and Steve--and Lucy. The updates are lovely and it is apparent they care about their guests. Chelan is centrally located in a quiet neighborhood. There are walking paths nearby. Breakfasts were great! We'll definitely return when we are in the area again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toristterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

What a delightful place for a 4-day (3-night) get-a-way! Lisa and Steve are wonderful hosts, and so much fun to visit with. They've been Inn owners for a short time, but it is obvious they love what they're doing and have a nack for making their guests feel like family. Even Lucy, the dog, was happy to see us every time we walked up to the yard.

The house is at the Chelan river's edge just off the main highway (Alt 97), and is very quiet (the pub/bar on the other side of the river can be a bit loud when in full swing on Fridays and Saturdays; but after a long day of walking and enjoying the sights, it didn't seem to keep us from getting a good night's sleep). We stayed in Lisa's favorite room ... Suite 3, which was just redone. The basement layout (with a private entrance) proved to be very roomy, and included a VERY comfortable King size bed, a sitting area, a separate bathroom (yes, the towels are big and fluffy, as mentioned in previous reviews), and a closet-size kitchen with sink, microwave, small refridgerator, coffee-maker, and silverware, plates/bowls, coffee mugs, and wine glasses. Near the end of our vist, Lisa found at a local flea market the perfect table lamp that will be added to the sitting area.

Note ... remember that this is a B&B so there is no room service. This was not a problem for us as there was plenty of space to put away our belongings, and it was easy for us to clean up after ourselves as we prepared for our day. If there was anything we needed or wanted, all we had to do was ask.

The backyard is nicely appointed with lounge chairs and side tables, and the side yard has a patio with table, umbrellas, chairs and BBQ grill. Both spaces are just steps beyond each room entrance, and overlook the river and town. My husband and I spent one of our evenings on the patio watching the boats glide by on the river, gazing at the stars, and enjoying a bottle of wine from one of the local wineries -- what a life!

The Riverwalk loop is a few feet away from both the front and back of the house, and provides easy access to Historic Downtown Chelan. Via the loop, we walked into town several times to check out the Farmer's Market (Thursday afternoon, Saturday morning), walk through the various shops/galleries on 'First Friday' (merchants stay open 'til 8:00 pm), purchase a bottle of a locally-crafted wine at the Red Apple, or relax at a nearby park/beach to watch the sunset (Chelan has their fireworks display on the Saturday following July 4). There's a Starbucks on the northwest edge of town, which we frequented for our daily iced latte or chai tea. A "Where's Waldo" event was underway on the Thursday and Friday of our visit ... we were delighted in watching (and helping) the participating merchants interact with the kids to find Waldo in their store.

We also enjoyed ice cream cones from Sojourner's Cafe, veggie sandwiches at BC McDonald's (at our request, they added cucumber slices -- not on the menu, but a refreshing addition to the sandwich on a hot summer afternoon), and a late lunch at Lovo's Bistro. We popped into Bear Foods Natural Market & Cafe for water, and noted that they, too, carry some of the local wines (be sure you have cash on hand - there's a fee to use debit cards for purchases under a certain $ amount). The museum is fascinating ... be sure to stop in if you're interested in the local history.

Our breakfast meal was ALWAYS at the Chelan House (coffee and tea available at 8:00 a.m., family style breakfast served at 9:00 a.m.). Lisa and Steve put together a tasty spread of goodies that were different each day! They are mindful of their guests' allergies, likes and dislikes, and made sure there was something for everyone's palate (and plenty for second helpings). The local coffee roaster (Blue Spirits) put together a special blend of coffee just for the B&B, which I savored each morning during and after breakfast.

Of the 18 advertised wineries on both sides of the lake, we managed to visit three of them (note that roadside signage is difficult to see if you're not familiar with the area and are traveling at the posted speed limits -- we mentioned this to the wineries we stopped at). Each winery has their own personality and 'gimmick' (selection of award-winning wines, location/view, restaurant or BBQ, and/or live music), so if you see one, you HAVE NOT seen them all. My husband doesn't drink much, but tasted all of the wines I thought he might enjoy -- he was pleasantly surprised that each was uniquely different. He loved the venues and the views, and wants to go back to try out all of the other wineries.

We will DEFINITELY visit with Lisa and Steve (and Lucy and the cats) at the Chelan House again. When my husband says he loves a particular place, I make sure we return for repeat visits. We truly felt like we were part of the Chelan House family, which made the trip that much more special. And, of course, I must see how that flea market lamp looks in its new space!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbartl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Really enjoyed our visit. Lisa & Steve are hard working, really interesting and very friendly. Chelan House is very centrally located in a quiet neighborhood. An ideal getaway. Also really enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently stayed with Lisa and Steve at the Chelan House Bed and Breakfast. The B&B is in the perfect location - it overlooks the river and is a short walk from town over the little bridge. We stayed in Suite II, which has a king bed, a wonderful large shower and a little sink area with a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. The sitting area is cute and comfortable with a table for your laptop. The door opens to the garden with seating to gaze up at the stars or get a little sun and watch small boats and kayaks glide by. Steve and Lisa provided a lot of information on local wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was relaxed and delicious. They easily accommodated my egg allergy. Warm and sweet hosts, with two cute cats and a dog to boot.

The weekend we went, a classic car show was in Chelan, which was very cool.

In town, we had dinner at Sojourner's Cafe - wonderful sandwiches and ice cream. Lunch at Lovo's Bistro was sublime. And don't forget to hit Bear Foods Natural Market & Cafe. Worth it. Outside of town a bit, another dinner at 18 BRIX Restaurant - KARMA Vineyards was spendy but fantastic! Get the petite filet and Zen red wine mix - you won't regret it.

For wine tasting, Karma and Benson Vineyards were terrific. Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards really disappointed - don't believe the hype.

We are diehard kayakers, but found the currents extremely difficult to navigate. Try early in the morning on a non-windy day and stick close to the shore. We rented from Ship 'n Shore. They offer a couple of recreational (sit on top) or sea kayaks (sit in).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey_Audra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My group of three couples, which twice annually has spent B&B weekends together from the Oregon border to southern British Columbia, stayed over the Memorial Day holidays at Chelan House, reprising a visit from three or four years ago. We enjoyed ourselves very much. The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfasts were high in quality without too much quantity, and our hosts, Steve, Lisa and Lucy the dog, made us feel right at home. As the years have gone by, it has become clear that Chelan House ranks among our favorites from more than a dozen Pacific Northwest cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelan hotels
0.2 mi away
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
0.5 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#3 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Inn Motel
Apple Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Chelan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Lodge and Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverwalk Inn
Riverwalk Inn
#1 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chelan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chelan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 311 S 1st St, Chelan, WA 98816-9615
Region: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chelan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelan House B&B is a beautiful 1937 Craftsman style home that features three spacious suites that offer both comfort and privacy, making it a wonderful couple's getaway. Each of the three non-smoking suites has its own private entrance and bathroom with a beautiful tiled shower/tub. Each comes complete with a cozy place to sit and relax along with large fluffy towels and a comfortable king/queen bed. Each suite also comes with TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot with coffee, tea and bottled water. Free high speed wireless internet access is also available. Chelan House B&B is in an ideal location, peacefully nestled along the Riverwalk Trail with beautiful views of the water, city lights by night and picturesque mountains by day. In the summer the yard surrounding the house includes a garden setting that provides privacy for reading or relaxing. We are just minutes from the heart of downtown Chelan and many guests enjoy the short walk into town to shop, enjoy a variety of restaurants, take in the fun events, wine tasting, visits to local art galleries or just a relaxing stroll through Riverwalk Park. Regardless of the season, winter, spring, summer or fall there are always so many wonderful things to do and see in the area and Chelan House Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing