We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delightful for Clallam Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winter Summer Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clallam Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winter Summer Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Clallam Bay B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Delightful for Clallam Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I normally am not much of a fan of B&B's, but Sandy at the Winter Summer Inn may just change my mind.

Options for a stay in the area are extremely limited if you aren't camping, or heading to a fishing resort, and especially if you are only looking for one night's stay. WSI is definitely the place to go if you are looking for comfortable, clean, and convenient to the area's geography.

The B&B seems to be the back 2/3 of the house, and it is on the road side of the house (meaning, it is not water facing.) We arrived after dark, and I can't say I noticed a view of the water at all, but so much of the coastal drive is along the water that we didn't miss it at all.

We stayed in the Quilt Room, which features a queen sized bed and private full bathroom. Thoughtful touches are throughout, and like many b&bs it feels a bit like an overnight at your favorite grandmother's house.

We were the only guests, but had full access to the shared living room and full kitchen. This is where Sandy will cook for you in the morning, and she joined us for breakfast where we had a lovely chat. This would be a great option for people traveling as a group if you were able to take up the entire space just because it would lend itself very well to a group who knows each other well.

Sandy was also knowledgeable about the sites in the area, hours of operation, etc.

I do encourage you to plan ahead when traveling in the region to ensure that if you are planning on dining out that you can get to a restaurant prior to closing. Again, options are very limited and they may close as early as 7pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyoftheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This B and B is right on route 112, a windy road along the north shore of the Olympic Peninsula. Clallam is an old village next door to Sekiu, a fishing mecca. Winter Summer Inn looks run down with a plant covered porch right on 112. But step in the doors to a lovely, homey atmosphere. If you get the main floor bedroom, you have the entire front house to yourself; the living room with a big screen TV, a hugh kitchen and dining room. Outside on a path to the rear is a deck that overlooks the river and a sandbar, and then the ocean. Access to the beach is two blocks away and a short path to the beach. It was quiet and peaceful. The owner, Diane, provided a lovely breakfast of her homemade cinnamon rolls, eggs any style, and bacon. She asks in the evening what you want for breakfast. We chose scrambled eggs, and in the morning she went out to her garden to gather herbs for the eggs. She does it all: inn keeper, chef, gardener, and maintainance worker.
We think it worth staying there, not only because it is the only B and B in the area, but the experience was also worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardinalhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The setting is wonderful to sit out on the deck and watch the sunset or the newly hatched little ducklings swim by. We arrived later in the evening and our host Sandy had an emergency come up and her wonderful neighbor Donovan greeted us and made us feel very welcomed. There was another couple staying as well and we immediately started chatting and discussing our travels. Our room did not have a shower, but did have a toilet and hand sink and we used another bathroom to shower and it really wasn't a problem. The Inn's frig was stocked with beverages for us and that was a nice touch. In the morning Donovan came over and made our breakfast and did a nice job.

The rates are very reasonable here and well appointed. Great value for your money.

We were sorry to miss Sandy as she was very helpful on the phone when booking, but Donovan did a great job.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigglebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This bed and breakfast is very quaint and country in style. The view from the deck is very impressive. Unfortunately for nonsmokers, the place does allow smoking and the smell indicates that as well. The owner is hospitable and pleasant natured and the town is very small. The hot water situation has been mentioned by previous travellers, and that was our experience as well - there was a shortage at times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Random709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Your first impressions of Clallam Bay may not be good, but be not afraid.
It's a bit of a no-horse town, but if you're after a bit of peace it's a great place.
The B&B is well-situated by the beach with a pretty veranda.
B&B is clean & tidy. Like the other reviewer, we ran out of hot water filling the bath so it more sprayed water about but then I loved "Perfect Storm".
Sandy, the owner, is very friendly & helpful. The pancakes at breakfast were wonderful and she was full of sightseeing advice.
If you're staying in that area, this is the place to stay.
Free wireless very handy for keeping up to date with riots in England.
But watch out - there's nowhere to eat or drink in town (apart from a scary liquor store).
Breakwater Diner is a mile away but don't try to walk. We started, but bottled out as no pavement and cars are going fast. Shame, as they do great beer and the food is fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ant_jone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My partner and I spent one night at the Winter Summer Inn as part of a trip to the Olympic Peninsula. It's one of those B&Bs which is like staying in someone's house: you get to choose what to have for breakfast and when, and the owner Sandy has a very personal touch (including hugs on departure!) The inn has a lovely deck overlooking the beach which is a pleasant place to while away an hour or two.
Be warned: there's not much to do in Clallam Bay (we ate at the nearby Breakwater Inn which was the only real option, and which fortunately turned out to be a decent diner). If you are travelling from the east, I would recommend taking the route via Lake Crescent rather than the Juan de Fuca highway, which isn't quite as 'scenic' as advertised.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Pleasantly surprised, this B&B exceeded our expectations. It’s in a lovely home with a great location by the water. The Quilt Room was perfect for us – nicely decorated, very clean, with a big bathroom, including a shower stall and a tub. Our only complaint would be that there was not enough hot water to use the Jacuzzi tub but that was just timing in relation to water usage by the other guests. There’s not much choice for dinner nearby so plan to cook dinner at the B&B since there’s full access to a nice kitchen. We really enjoyed getting to know our hostess, Sandy and if we find ourselves in Clallam Bay again, this is definitely where we will stay.

Room Tip: Quilt Room has private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjaynehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clallam Bay
1.9 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
22.0 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
22.0 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
22.3 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
21.8 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Summer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Summer Inn B&B

Property: Winter Summer Inn B&B
Address: 16651 Highway 112, Clallam Bay, WA 98326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Clallam Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clallam Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat breakfast on the water viewing the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Centrally located to the Hoh Rain Forrest, Lake Ozette, Cape Flattery, and Neah Bay. Ocean beach within walking distance from the B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing