We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, atmosphere and service!”
Review of Parlour Car Bistro

Parlour Car Bistro
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Cle Elum
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American, European, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Relaxed, Eclectic family friendly Restaurant... For you & your friends. Home-like atmosphere... Eat a little Food, Drink a little Wine, Listen to a little Music, Talk Business, or Not... Open: Wednesday Through Saturday 5pm - 10pm. Specials that change weekly. Thank you for considering us! We can accommodate allergies & Special Diets. (Vegan, Vegetarian, Gluten Free )
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome food, atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had dinner here with some friends and laughed til we almost peed our pants. We didn't even get in trouble for being so boisterous but we did feel a little bad. (We have been interrupted by loud guests when trying to have a quiet dinner before.) Regardless, the wait staff was like part of our dinner group she was so cool. The food was exceptional and very well presented. The atmosphere was candlelit and inviting. We shall return, and we'll try to behave next time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank posibility409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is seriously the best in town. Moving from Portland, we were looking for somewhere to fulfill our foodie cravings and this place did just that.
My husband had the buffalo terrine app w/bone marrow and chantrelles (he had already had a salad prior to) and I had the house salad & pork schnitzel. We also had cocktails! Our food was the bombbb! But wait for it. The best was dessert..
The black truffle creme brûlée with popcorn ice cream was to die for.

The service was also exceptional! We heard that they had a new chef and all I've got to say is - keep up the great work! Very happy. We may even be returning this week.. ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsniewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find !!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Driving back to Seattle late-- CleElum our last option for food--what a find !!! First glance at the exterior and we weren't sure if there was food here--so very glad we went in --warm & inviting decor--the open and friendly staff (turns out they are owners) answer any and everything with a smile & a laugh --you can't help but feel comfortable right away !! Then you look at the menu and the choices all look great--it's really hard to decide--everyone will like something--we ordered the ox tail and rosemary chicken--both came with a salad(we had Caesar) as we continued to enjoy our wine and food we also enjoyed our talk with the owners--since it was almost closing time when the chef came out front and she was told we ordered the popcorn ice cream she came right over to the table and we had a lively talk with her too !! We've been told the menu will have some changes to go along with the weather--and as we are going to the area in December with friends we can't wait to eat --drink--and be merry all over again !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jclcseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cle Elum Gem”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After a disappointing dinner experience, we headed out for a short walk around Cle Elum, and discovered the Parlour Car Bistro a block of the main street of Cle Elum. A cozy wine bar and dinner spot, it made us regret our dinner location choice even more. Even if we only had a single glass of wine apiece, we were made to feel quite welcome by the staff and never felt rushed to leave our couch by the fire. Staying later in town the next day than we had thought (my bicycle ride went 20 mile longer than planned due to a bad case of testosterone poisoning on my part), we decided to come back for dinner. A very wise choice as the food was as good as the menu promised. We were told that the current chef has been there only a few weeks, but has already made significant improvements to the menu. The gnocchi in marinara was very nice, and the braised ox tails just perfectly done. We’ll be back when we can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and friendliness”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We were searching for a restaurant with some character and good food one evening - not an easy feat in eastern Washington! Fortunately, we happened upon Parlour Car Bistro, an over-21 restaurant on a back street in Cle Elum. It is not easy to find as it has little street presence (apparently lighted signage is in the works). The bistro is divided, with half regular dining tables in a softly lit room, creating an intimate ambiance. The other half is structured similar to a lounge with bar height tables for two. The cocktail menu is diverse and complete, providing a pleasant choice of high quality alcohol. The menu is well-structured, offering a selection of salads, sandwiches, and entrees. We had a vegetarian selection of polenta, mushroom, and lentils. Pleasing sauced and an appropriate potion for being full, but room enough for dessert. Also, the steak Diane was cooked to perfection. Both entrees came with a spring mix blend salad, lightly dressed with a tangy lemon vinaigrette. And, the creme brulee is extraordinary! But, the best part of this adorable bistro is the owners and staff. We immediately felt like regulars (as many of the patrons apparently are) - exchanging banter in the lounge. The staff is knowledgeable, patient, and amusing - a perfect trifecta! Leaving with our stomachs full and feeling like we had new friends, Parlour Car Bistro is sure to be a regular stop in our travels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parlour Car Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Parlour Car Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing