We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ive never stayed in the hotels but absolutely loved the comedy nights!”
Review of Arkaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arkaba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I disagree with any of the negative reviews, i thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the arkaba, I've never stayed there. I always enjoyed the comedy night. Good value.
Only negative is that it draws in mostly older crowds but it's not the end of the world. Good for a dinner or quiet night out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Topknotpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review - we have some great changes happening at the Ark - Sportys Bar + Arena shows all sport all the time on the many screens with 2 Big Screens and our lounge bar with laid back music and our brand new Enomatic Wine Dispensers.

Our staff are very excited about the changes and hopefully will continue to give good and friendly service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Thought we would give it a go again. Last experience was terrible. We got to the bar and the service was just sooooo bad. The man behind the bar whilst clearly seeing us decided to ignore us and pack up glasses etc - I mean why serve the customers? When he did decide to come back to service he said who was next - we said we were as other people had now arrived and he ignored us again so we had been waiting for five minutes already - another patron said they were first and he still decided to serve different customers - so that was our experience we didn't get our bottle of champagne or a table for dinner - we decided why stay here? We got in our car and went home - you do not have to accept service like that - plenty of places to eat. Can't comment on the rooms but I would say based on service alone skip the Arkaba!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank angelah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

I am so sorry your had bad service when you came to the Ark - we pride ourselves on friendly hospitality and it is so disappointing when some on our staff let the whole team down.
Could you please email leanne@arkabahotel.com.au with your phone no - or call Leanne on 08 83381100.
WE have some great changes happening soon at the Ark and would love you to be a part of them - including new menu, new cocktail list and new and interesting wine list

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stay at the Arkaba about 3- 4 times a year. I always find the Staff friendly, helpfull and proffessional.
Each time I visit something has always changed whether its with the lay out or the meals. I find they are always trying to improve things for their guest which is highly comendable.

Rooms are always clean and meals reasonably priced and of a good consistant standard.

The newly refurbished Sportys Bar is a must for the sports mad people of the world with a heap of giant screens showing any and every sport you could ask for.

I have stayed with my family on occassions and always find now problems with the staff accomadting any needs we have had for the Kids.

Highly recommend it

Room Tip: Superior room if by your self if with the Family try to get a loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

To Darren
Thank you for your wonderful review, we here at the Arkaba Hotel are always striving to improve our service and produce, Comments that you have made are the reason why we do it. We look forward to seeing you next time you stay here.

Daniel Wilson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I booked this accommodation near a friend's house to attend a party. The rooms were booked through hotel.com and were the same price as listed for the room if booked directly. The rooms were spacious but very dark. Bathrooms were old and linen threadbare, one face washer for two people. The only toiletries provided for two adults was one tiny tube of shampoo and two small cakes of soap. There was nothing else for a $149 room. When the cleaners came through the next day their trolley was loaded with toiletries. I was left wondering if the hotel stripped the rooms for hotel.com bookings. Be warned if you expect more for your money .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noname20113006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRH2010, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

To Noname20113006, Thank you very much for your review, We here at the Arkaba Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best service to all guest so i was disappointed to see that our rooms didn't live up to your standards or ours, Your comments have been noted and there will be some changes regarding the amenities within the room from now on, so i would like to thank you for pointing these issues out to us. I look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future

Daniel Wilson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at the Arkaba for 2 nights on a recent business trip to Adelaide. The hotel seems awkwardly arranged with divisions of space in the centre of the ground floor and doors leading everywhere. It has a retro/casino/sports lounge feel of dark woods and interesting art pieces as well as cabinets full of sports memorabilia. Upstairs in the hallways there is a definite art deco feel to the halls thanks to the decorative bevelled mirrors and wall mounted light fittings.

Overall I found the hotel clean, the staff helpful and the proximity to the city was handy with a bus route just outside and a taxi fare to Rundell Mall or Gouger Street costing in the realms of $12.00. The room was clean and well equipped with a large TV and foxtel channels. Downstairs the communal areas are a bit of a rabbit warren and it takes a couple of minutes walking round to orient yourself to where to find the sports lounge/bistro etc.

The continental breakfasts on offer were basic but quite tasty, consisting of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, milk, toast and some assorted danish pastries. Service of tea and coffee was slow and both mornings my colleague and I had to approach the counter and ask the waitress to serve us tea and coffee. You had the option of ordering a full cooked breakfast if you preferred. The meals offered in the bar/bistro at night are huge and of reasonable quality. Mainly very oriented to 'pub food' burgers, schnitzel, salt and pepper squid etc.

The only real drawbacks I found were the wifi rates $10 for 2 hours. I don't travel for business very often but I really would have thought in this day and age, wifi would be free to all hotel guests given so many people rely on it. If McDonalds can provide free wifi, surely an inner city hotel can! The pillows were also a bit hard but for a short stay, this wasn't really an issue. Had I stayed any longer, I may have gone in search of a softer option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HurleyHotelGroup, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you for your review – the ARK is a little confusing and it is a Dodecagon – 12 sides – even our staff become confused sometimes!!!
We are constantly upgrading our accommodation, bars, dining and function facilities - we will attempt to add some signage.
Internet access is problematic – we will be looking in to that soon
Hope to see you again soon – check with reception for pillow options

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Jan with 5yr old & 7yr old children. Our room was plenty big enough, the kids had a king single bunk and we had a queen. Everything was spotless and well appointed. From start to finish the staff could not have been friendlier, we were able to check in a little early without any hesitation from the management ( a very welcome touch after a long and wet journey). We only ate breakfast in the hotel but it was terrific, again the children were very welcomed and well looked after by the wait staff, the kids were offered complimentary juice with brekkie and extra yoghurt to go with fruit salad if required ( a small touch but very appreciated). The hotel itself is perfectly positioned, easy access to the city and the hills. Next door is a fab super market and nearby are parks to cook a BBQ tea if you're on a budget travelling through. There is also a small playground just across the road. We could not have been happier with our stay, wouldn't hesitate to come back or to recommend to others travelling with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazzleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

To Sazzledaisy

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments, we hope to see in soon

Daniel Wilson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Had Christmas lunch there with my wife was very happy with service, quality of food, the amount, ( main course was luke warm but everything else was spot on ) the taste, friendly staff and quiet very pleasant surroundings .the desert was a great platter I expected usual small Xmas pudding but it was a feast terrific chocolate to die for range of treats , highly recommended for special occasions ,book for that special occasion you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajs241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullarton
2.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
1.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#27 of 56 in Adelaide
305 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaba Hotel

Address: 150 Glen Osmond Rd | Adelaide, Fullarton, Adelaide, South Australia 5063, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide > Fullarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Price Range: £73 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arkaba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WiFi - FREE Parking - Cloud toppers on ALL beds for a comfortable sleep. Winner - TripAdvisor - ***Certificate of Excellence*** 2014 *A Venue for All Occasions* Iconic Hotel - Superb decor - Stunning Menu - Stylish Lounge Bar - Fun Sports Bar - Elegant Gaming room - Function Rooms - Premium Wine Selection - Bottle shop and Wine Cellar. A family hotel since 1991. Close to all the action *Adelaide Airport - 9km *South Tce - 2.6Km *Adelaide Oval - 5km *Stirling -12km *Hahndorf - 22km *Burnside Village Shopping Centre - 2km *Hutt St - 3km *Victoria Pk - 1.5Km (Clipsal 500) Winner *Best Accommodation (mid-range)-(2013 SA Hotel Awards) + Winner *Best Sporting Entertainment (2013 & 2014 Australia Hotel Awards) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arkaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing