We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arkaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arkaba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stumbled across this hotel, looking for an overnight stay on our way home to Melbourne. We were greeted by Nick and he handled our non-reserved check in with a minimum of fuss. We took the basic level Superior Room (which Nick explained had been newly refurbished). It had everything you would expect of a standard hotel room. Two queen beds, large screen tv. Water pressure in the shower was ok but the floor was dangerously slippery.

We had dinner in the restaurant that night. The food was excellent and priced very reasonably. Perfectly acceptable place to stay for an overnight stop - even though the lack of secure parking for hotel guests again is a major bugbear of mine.

Room Tip: Top floor likely to be quieter as the floors are paper thin. We could hear those above us all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review - we just won an award for the Best Accommodation (mid-range) 2013 AHA SA Hotel Awards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    73
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
54
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the arkaba over the June long weekend,we got a fantastic deal, although there was a couple of issues with the room they were dealt with quickly by staff and we could enjoy the rest of our stay. We also dined in the bistro and our meals were fantastic and service was great. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crofts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feed back - hopefully next time their will be no issues!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Recently had to attend a two day meeting and the venue was the Arkaba. Not our original choice but the organiser felt it was ok.

Room was extremely comfortable with everything you needed eg comfortable bed, great water pressure, nice towels and good pillows. Check in was nothing special, just fill the form in and get your room key. Our group used one of the executive rooms for our meeting as there was a desk and we organised a few chairs from other rooms. Was only 5 of us.

Had dinner in the restaurant on the Sunday evening with a few drinks outside before we ate. Outside is very noisy but to be fair is on a main road.

Breakfast was basic, nothing special e.g. tinned fruit, kellogs cereals and thin bread for toast. Coffee was so so but then I am a bit of a coffee snob.

Overall the room was comfortable but if staying for longer would have liked to be in or near the cit or at the beach.

Room Tip: hotel is in the middle of suburbia so doubt if any orientation would help. My room was on first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Millsie58

I am very glad you enjoy your time at our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a night as we were going to a show at the venue. The room was very clean and well appointed. The venue itself was great and although we had gone to see a particular band there was a disco and another band that we sussed out too. Lots of choice!

Breakfast was great too and all staff during our stay were lovely.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear CJ & JJ
Im very happy you enjoyed your time here, we always take pride in giving great service and providing everything a guest would want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Travel with my husband on business.
We have stayed at Port Lincoln and return constantly to the Ark - is just a great place to stay in Adelaide - easy parking - great food and i love the sports bar - was able to listen to the A-League with shound - how good is that

Room Tip: We usually stay in a Luxury Suite - but this time stayed in an Executive - huge room with a spa bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmithfield83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Ms Smithfield

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, i'm very happy you enjoyed yourself here.

Look forward to seeing you back soon

Daniel Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I disagree with any of the negative reviews, i thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the arkaba, I've never stayed there. I always enjoyed the comedy night. Good value.
Only negative is that it draws in mostly older crowds but it's not the end of the world. Good for a dinner or quiet night out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topknotpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review - we have some great changes happening at the Ark - Sportys Bar + Arena shows all sport all the time on the many screens with 2 Big Screens and our lounge bar with laid back music and our brand new Enomatic Wine Dispensers.

Our staff are very excited about the changes and hopefully will continue to give good and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Thought we would give it a go again. Last experience was terrible. We got to the bar and the service was just sooooo bad. The man behind the bar whilst clearly seeing us decided to ignore us and pack up glasses etc - I mean why serve the customers? When he did decide to come back to service he said who was next - we said we were as other people had now arrived and he ignored us again so we had been waiting for five minutes already - another patron said they were first and he still decided to serve different customers - so that was our experience we didn't get our bottle of champagne or a table for dinner - we decided why stay here? We got in our car and went home - you do not have to accept service like that - plenty of places to eat. Can't comment on the rooms but I would say based on service alone skip the Arkaba!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
I am so sorry your had bad service when you came to the Ark - we pride ourselves on friendly hospitality and it is so disappointing when some on our staff let the whole team down.
Could you please email leanne@arkabahotel.com.au with your phone no - or call Leanne on 08 83381100.
WE have some great changes happening soon at the Ark and would love you to be a part of them - including new menu, new cocktail list and new and interesting wine list
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullarton
2.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaba Hotel

Property: Arkaba Hotel
Address: 150 Glen Osmond Rd | Adelaide, Fullarton, Adelaide, South Australia 5063, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide > Fullarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arkaba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WiFi - FREE Parking - Cloud toppers on ALL beds for a comfortable sleep. Winner - TripAdvisor - ***Certificate of Excellence*** 2014 *A Venue for All Occasions* Iconic Hotel - Superb decor - Stunning Menu - Stylish Lounge Bar - Fun Sports Bar - Elegant Gaming room - Function Rooms - Premium Wine Selection - Bottle shop and Wine Cellar. A family hotel since 1991. Close to all the action *Adelaide Airport - 9km *South Tce - 2.6Km *Adelaide Oval - 5km *Stirling -12km *Hahndorf - 22km *Burnside Village Shopping Centre - 2km *Hutt St - 3km *Victoria Pk - 1.5Km (Clipsal 500) Winner *Best Accommodation (mid-range)-(2013 SA Hotel Awards) + Winner *Best Sporting Entertainment (2013 & 2014 Australia Hotel Awards) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arkaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing