We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh......”
Review of Arkaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arkaba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a girls night at the ark and booked 4 rooms. The rooms were great and good value but the food was another story. We had 20 for dinner and I have food allergies. The only vegetables I could get were Asian greens, no peas, beans, cabbage or brussel sprouts. So plain schnitzel it is, it came out burnt and dry so that was a let down, and looking across the table not many we're impressed. Looking at the breakfast menu it sounded delish, after a big night of dancing and sleeping at the hotel we headed to breakfast to be dissapointed again! I ordered poached eggs with bacon and sourdough bread. I was stone cold and my eggs were boiled, total let down, when I mentioned this to the waitress I was looked at and completely ignored. Will never eat here again and neither will my 20 friends.
P

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ppfftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am pleased you liked our rooms here at the ARK - we are very proud to have won the best accommodation (mid-range) for SA at the AHA hotel awards.
We do pride ourselves on providing quality food and are extremely disappointed when we don't live up to our own expectations.
I do apologise for your bad experience in our food department - if you could either email our Manager, Tony Waterman on tony@arkabahotel.com.au or phone him either 83381100 or 0420582061 he would love to be able to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We attended this venue for dinner only as we thought we should give it another go! The decor is dated and it feels cluttered and sort of dirty. The staff on this occasion we excellent - all of them - especially Georgia who was working in the restaurant. They were all very attentive and I can't fault the service at all.

The food is another story- we started with a trio of dips and it was below average - tasted like supermarket variety and even the bread was average. We were unable to eat this dish which was a waste of $15.

I ordered a chicken schnitzel as I thought it was impossible to mess that up! I was wrong! It was soggy and I only ate the chips so for $18 it was pretty bad.

My partner had the garlic prawns - the menu suggested they were South Australian however he was pretty sure they were not!

We attended a show upstairs and the venue there was excellent. Just skip dinner or eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems you had at the ARK the other night.
I am thrilled you had good service and enjoyed the show in the Top room
BUT
I am so sorry you have had another bad experience at the ARK - we do pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and are disappointed when customers are let down.
Two of the dips were NOT house made and we have spoken to Chef and that will not happen again.
Our bread offering was wrong and we are going back to hot bread rolls
The schnitzel should not have been soggy - I do apologise.
The prawns are Australian wild caught - we do have difficulty consistently purchasing SA Prawns
WE would love to welcome you back sometime - please email Tony Waterman our new manager or call him on 0883381100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stumbled across this hotel, looking for an overnight stay on our way home to Melbourne. We were greeted by Nick and he handled our non-reserved check in with a minimum of fuss. We took the basic level Superior Room (which Nick explained had been newly refurbished). It had everything you would expect of a standard hotel room. Two queen beds, large screen tv. Water pressure in the shower was ok but the floor was dangerously slippery.

We had dinner in the restaurant that night. The food was excellent and priced very reasonably. Perfectly acceptable place to stay for an overnight stop - even though the lack of secure parking for hotel guests again is a major bugbear of mine.

Room Tip: Top floor likely to be quieter as the floors are paper thin. We could hear those above us all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review - we just won an award for the Best Accommodation (mid-range) 2013 AHA SA Hotel Awards -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the arkaba over the June long weekend,we got a fantastic deal, although there was a couple of issues with the room they were dealt with quickly by staff and we could enjoy the rest of our stay. We also dined in the bistro and our meals were fantastic and service was great. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crofts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feed back - hopefully next time their will be no issues!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Recently had to attend a two day meeting and the venue was the Arkaba. Not our original choice but the organiser felt it was ok.

Room was extremely comfortable with everything you needed eg comfortable bed, great water pressure, nice towels and good pillows. Check in was nothing special, just fill the form in and get your room key. Our group used one of the executive rooms for our meeting as there was a desk and we organised a few chairs from other rooms. Was only 5 of us.

Had dinner in the restaurant on the Sunday evening with a few drinks outside before we ate. Outside is very noisy but to be fair is on a main road.

Breakfast was basic, nothing special e.g. tinned fruit, kellogs cereals and thin bread for toast. Coffee was so so but then I am a bit of a coffee snob.

Overall the room was comfortable but if staying for longer would have liked to be in or near the cit or at the beach.

Room Tip: hotel is in the middle of suburbia so doubt if any orientation would help. My room was on first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Millsie58

I am very glad you enjoy your time at our Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a night as we were going to a show at the venue. The room was very clean and well appointed. The venue itself was great and although we had gone to see a particular band there was a disco and another band that we sussed out too. Lots of choice!

Breakfast was great too and all staff during our stay were lovely.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear CJ & JJ
Im very happy you enjoyed your time here, we always take pride in giving great service and providing everything a guest would want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Travel with my husband on business.
We have stayed at Port Lincoln and return constantly to the Ark - is just a great place to stay in Adelaide - easy parking - great food and i love the sports bar - was able to listen to the A-League with shound - how good is that

Room Tip: We usually stay in a Luxury Suite - but this time stayed in an Executive - huge room with a spa bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSmithfield83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Front Office Manager at Arkaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Ms Smithfield

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, i'm very happy you enjoyed yourself here.

Look forward to seeing you back soon

Daniel Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullarton
1.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#26 of 55 in Adelaide
339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide
2 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,488 reviews
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaba Hotel

Address: 150 Glen Osmond Rd | Adelaide, Fullarton, Adelaide, South Australia 5063, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide > Fullarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fullarton
Price Range: £64 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arkaba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WiFi - FREE Parking - Cloud toppers on ALL beds for a comfortable sleep. Winner - TripAdvisor - ***Certificate of Excellence*** 2014 *A Venue for All Occasions* Iconic Hotel - Superb decor - Stunning Menu - Stylish Lounge Bar - Fun Sports Bar - Elegant Gaming room - Function Rooms - Premium Wine Selection - Bottle shop and Wine Cellar. A family hotel since 1991. Close to all the action *Adelaide Airport - 9km *South Tce - 2.6Km *Adelaide Oval - 5km *Stirling -12km *Hahndorf - 22km *Burnside Village Shopping Centre - 2km *Hutt St - 3km *Victoria Pk - 1.5Km (Clipsal 500) Winner *Best Accommodation (mid-range)-(2013 SA Hotel Awards) + Winner *Best Sporting Entertainment (2013 & 2014 Australia Hotel Awards) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arkaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing