We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin size varies”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concrete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ovenell's Heritage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently stayed in the Woodsman cabin and I must say it was both uncomforable and tiny. It is a lovely location but do request one of the larger cabins if you plan to go as a couple.This particular cabin has a queen size bed shoved up against the wall in the corner of the bedroom so the bed is only accessible on one side. It would be fine for one person but if you are a couple, the person on the inside has no way to get out of bed without disturbing the other person. If you like a HARD BED, then this would work for you. The bed is barely one step up from sleeping on a wood floor! There is a futon in the living room with a very hard cushion/mattress. It is the only seating option other than four wood dining chairs. There really is no decent lighting for reading in the cabin if you like to snuggle up with a good book. There are lovely bright ceiling lights but I don't like reading with overhead lighting. There are two tiny side lamps in the cabin, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. These tiny lamps (maybe 10" tall) had very low wattage bulbs, unsuitable for reading. So, if you like to read, bring your own itty-bitty book light or something similar. On the UP SIDE, the cabin has a wonderfully cozy gas fireplace that heats the entire cabin quickly and provides nice ambiance. There are all the basics in the kitchenette, although the pots are old or cheap or both. One non-stick sauce pot had been both burned and heavily used so the non-stick coating was peeling. There is a little flatscreen TV on the kitchen counter in the living space. It has a built-in DVD player but the manager did not know this as she sent told us to feel free to pick out some VCR tapes to take down to the cabin when we checked in. There was no VCR player so we were out of luck. The women who run this place are very kind and pleasant. The place was clean. I would recommend staying here but do choose your cabin wisely.

Room Tip: Ask the management to clearly describe the cabins. Know what you want as far as comfort, accessibili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephC843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Wrangler cabin while visiting Concrete to see the eagles. I loved our little cabin! It was cozy with a propane fireplace, feather bed, and all the amenities you could possibly need. All the extras are included, throw on the sofa to snuggle with, cooking and kitchen items, books, games, and a tv. We walked some of the trails around the ranch, too. It was a quiet and peaceful retreat!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplelotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We arrived during their branding time so it was a bit busy. Had a nice walk on one of the many trails described to us. We were traveling with two other couples one couple had a single cabin and the other couple shared the two bedroom cabin with us. This became the "party" spot and was very cozy. We ate dinner at a great local place on the highway with local pickers providing music.

Room Tip: Ranch hands sleep nearby and are up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Lovely little cabins near the banks of the skagit. Wonderful hiking and relaxing. Perfect location on the north cascades highway. Great amenities including a gathering spot for family groups. The only negative was that the futon sofa wasn't very comfortable for sitting, but I suppose it was needed for extra sleeping space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We started our trip to the National Parks of Washington by staying here in Concrete, of all places.
Eleanor was very helpful at check-in, pointing out places of interest and possible hikes on the maps she highlighted for us. We took the walk beside the river, enjoying the wild blackberries along the way. Our night in the Fisherman cabin was delightful. We ate at Annie's Pizza out on the highway...a fabulous meal. The cabin had everything we wanted, including some spices. Breakfast with the extra blackberries was marvelous. We would happily return for more time at this restful place, before moving on to a North Cascades campsite again.

Room Tip: The cabins are isolated at the end of a field at this very large, 3rd generation farm. They are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtogo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for just one night in the Fisherman Cabin, but could have easily spent more nights if time allowed. The grounds were very bucolic and when the sky is clear the view of Mt. Baker is gorgeous. We arrived in the afternoon from Seattle and were leaving the next morning to drive through the North Cascades so this was a perfect stopover and the flexibility of staying just one night was great. When we checked in the woman who greeted us recommended a hike up Sauk Mountain and she could not have made a better suggestion. Though we would go on to see North Cascades National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, and Olympic National Park, our hike to the top of Sauk Mountain remained a highlight of our trip. As some have suggested the dining choices in the area are limited but there is a nearby grocery and our cabin had everything necessary to prepare simple meals. The room didn't have an air conditioner, but as I'm sure is the case quite often we didn"t need it. The night air was cool and having the windows open was just fine as it was quiet and well away from the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim and Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked this cabin due to the reviews and description from the owners. We were told we would have a full kitchen, not! we had an upscale hot plate, toaster oven and refrig. given the total lack of eating establishments in the area, we wanted a kitchen and you will want one as well. the room was rustic but clean. the housekeeper made sure our room was clean and freshened each day. finally, our check in experience was quite interesting, the owner was abrupt and scolded us for showing up so late. As I explained, if we were expected to check in by 2pm, we would have but that was not communicated on the phone or in email confirmation. we were keeping her from going out due to arriving at 7pm. overall, it was fine and not sure you can find anything else in the area. also, there are zero dining options in the area outside of burgers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FredSanfordus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freespirit045, Guest Relations Manager at Ovenell's Heritage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

All of our AAA cabins have small kitchenettes or a full kitchen. The kitchen in question has a two burner stove, not a hot plate as mentioned. We also have several very nice resturants in our area; Annie's Pizza, Perk's Espresso & Deli, The Washington Cafe(newly opened), Cascade Burgers and The Sissy Bar. Being in a smaller town most resturants will close by 9PM. When a guest makes a reservation we always mention that check in time is between 2pm to 5pm. If they will be arriving later than 5pm special arrangements can be made. The owner of the establishment was on duty at the time of check in and had made dinner arrangements with family(which she missed) based on the arrival times of our guests. All of our accomodations have "rustic" decor as we are on a working cattle ranch. Many of the antiques are from the ranch. Our cabins are "upscale" with feather beds, down comforters(winter time) and all the amenities including wine glasses and air conditioning. All information regarding our establishment is listed clearly on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ovenell's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovenell's Heritage Inn

Address: 46276 Concrete Sauk Valley Rd, Concrete, WA 98237-9217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Concrete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Concrete
Price Range: £87 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovenell's Heritage Inn & Log Cabins is located on a historic 580-acre cattle ranch in the heart of the North Cascades National Park and borders the banks of the Wild & Scenic Skagit River. Beautiful views of Mt. Baker and the surrounding Cascade range are breathtaking. Our plush log cabins offer modern amenities with kitchen facilities, private bath and BBQ's. We are open year round for things such as; fishing, hiking, eagle watching, rafting, guided float trips and more. Bring your hiking boots and camera for a memorable stay, wildlife and wildflowers are abundant in the North Cascades. A birders paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing