We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, very comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concrete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ovenell's Heritage Inn
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, very comfortable”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is the closest place to stay on the west side of the North Cascades Highway. There are several cabins nestled together in a treed area -- very quiet and private. The cabin we stayed in was very comfortable. There are fully equipped kitchens, bbq's, decks, etc. Staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If it's going to be hot ask for a cabin that does not face due west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff is friendly and accomidating. The place is a country slow paced gettaway. if you are looking to get away and slow down and relax, this place is perfect. Not many modern amenities, no nght life in the nearby town, in fact most places close by 9:00PM. If you want an all inclusive resort this is not the place. Many outdoor activities just minutes away. I thought it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.F. Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

For the price, we felt it should have been better. We made this a destination place rather than passing through. We were there 4 nights. We went for hiking around Mt Baker, so you really have to drive to go anywhere. Our room didn't have a DVD player or can opener. We called and Kris came over right away with the DVD player and can opener, although the DVD player didn't come with a remote. There was a VCR player but all the movies were 20 years old and who uses that anymore. The town of Concrete was limited to markets and restaurants with only one good place in town to eat. There isn't anything to do in Concrete and the whole town closes by 8pm. Also, if you want internet access don't stay in the Eagle cabin. We had to walk about 20-30 feet away from the cabin to get access, but when we got access it was fast. The area is beautiful, great hikes and super nice people but not so sure we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Eagle cabin if you want internet access. Also, confirm your room has a DVD pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Got2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freespirit045, Manager at Ovenell's Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Lodging in the North Cascades National Park is quite limited and to get to Alpine hikes you will have to drive a bit. We have DVD/VCR's in all of our units as we have numerous customers who are overjoyed to find we have classic movies and newer movies also. The local Red Apple market also carries the latest in DVD movies. Like other small town in America, Concrete has limited facilities, however, we have a booklet in each cabin that explains about the area restaurants and "things" to do . We even have a historic theatre that's gone digital! Yes, Wi-Fi is limited due to the spacing between the cabins. Please ask which unit Wi-Fi is available in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently stayed in the Woodsman cabin and I must say it was both uncomforable and tiny. It is a lovely location but do request one of the larger cabins if you plan to go as a couple.This particular cabin has a queen size bed shoved up against the wall in the corner of the bedroom so the bed is only accessible on one side. It would be fine for one person but if you are a couple, the person on the inside has no way to get out of bed without disturbing the other person. If you like a HARD BED, then this would work for you. The bed is barely one step up from sleeping on a wood floor! There is a futon in the living room with a very hard cushion/mattress. It is the only seating option other than four wood dining chairs. There really is no decent lighting for reading in the cabin if you like to snuggle up with a good book. There are lovely bright ceiling lights but I don't like reading with overhead lighting. There are two tiny side lamps in the cabin, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. These tiny lamps (maybe 10" tall) had very low wattage bulbs, unsuitable for reading. So, if you like to read, bring your own itty-bitty book light or something similar. On the UP SIDE, the cabin has a wonderfully cozy gas fireplace that heats the entire cabin quickly and provides nice ambiance. There are all the basics in the kitchenette, although the pots are old or cheap or both. One non-stick sauce pot had been both burned and heavily used so the non-stick coating was peeling. There is a little flatscreen TV on the kitchen counter in the living space. It has a built-in DVD player but the manager did not know this as she sent told us to feel free to pick out some VCR tapes to take down to the cabin when we checked in. There was no VCR player so we were out of luck. The women who run this place are very kind and pleasant. The place was clean. I would recommend staying here but do choose your cabin wisely.

Room Tip: Ask the management to clearly describe the cabins. Know what you want as far as comfort, accessibili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephC843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Wrangler cabin while visiting Concrete to see the eagles. I loved our little cabin! It was cozy with a propane fireplace, feather bed, and all the amenities you could possibly need. All the extras are included, throw on the sofa to snuggle with, cooking and kitchen items, books, games, and a tv. We walked some of the trails around the ranch, too. It was a quiet and peaceful retreat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplelotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We arrived during their branding time so it was a bit busy. Had a nice walk on one of the many trails described to us. We were traveling with two other couples one couple had a single cabin and the other couple shared the two bedroom cabin with us. This became the "party" spot and was very cozy. We ate dinner at a great local place on the highway with local pickers providing music.

Room Tip: Ranch hands sleep nearby and are up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Lovely little cabins near the banks of the skagit. Wonderful hiking and relaxing. Perfect location on the north cascades highway. Great amenities including a gathering spot for family groups. The only negative was that the futon sofa wasn't very comfortable for sitting, but I suppose it was needed for extra sleeping space.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ovenell's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovenell's Heritage Inn

Property: Ovenell's Heritage Inn
Address: 46276 Concrete Sauk Valley Rd, Concrete, WA 98237-9217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Concrete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Concrete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovenell's Heritage Inn & Log Cabins is located on a historic 580-acre cattle ranch in the heart of the North Cascades National Park and borders the banks of the Wild & Scenic Skagit River. Beautiful views of Mt. Baker and the surrounding Cascade range are breathtaking. Our plush log cabins offer modern amenities with kitchen facilities, private bath and BBQ's. We are open year round for things such as; fishing, hiking, eagle watching, rafting, guided float trips and more. Bring your hiking boots and camera for a memorable stay, wildlife and wildflowers are abundant in the North Cascades. A birders paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing