We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ovenell's Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concrete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ovenell's Heritage Inn
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The view of Mt Baker almost makes it worth staying here by itself. The cabin we had was adequately comfortable to get a good night sleep, but very dated. There were lots of toys and games and the place seems to be designed for family stays of several days or more. We did not have much interaction with the staff, but they were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    25
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stayed over night before going on a Skagit Eagle watching trip on September 12th. We stayed in the "Fishermans cabin" it is a very nice one room plus bath. The property is great right on the Skagit River, it has 500 plus acres of trail walks. The family that owns Ovenell's is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snydershandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Using TripAdvisor, we rounded out our Cascades Loop trip at this awesome ranch cabin. We hadn't called to reserve a room, but rather wanted to see the place first. Now, the town of Concrete is a block off Rt 20 and you're through the town in minutes. So we drove to " the ranch" and were pleasantly surprised with the lovely home with a picture window facing snow-capped Mount Baker, the cattle in the pasture and the pleasantness and flexibility for giving us 1/2 the last cabin for a wonderful price ( and their respect for veterans was also appreciated! It was LOVELY and absolutely nothing was missing.(they even had a basket of toys for kids!). Plus, everything was squeaky clean (thanks, Natasha). After dinner, we sat in the back yard and watched the herd of elk! To top it off, Christine told us of a wonderful drive to take the following day... An 8 mile drive up Salk Mountain on a dirt road with lots of twists and turns. But the view when we reached the top was worth any anxiety of driving up (and back down again, too).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and i were obliged to spend the night in Concrete because of a mud slide on Highway one. Cute historical town,very nice people, but the great place is Ovenells. Great period log cabins, very clean and the nicest family runs the resort
Walk down to river, go wander through their garden(yum,rasberries picked by me and eaten by me!) and do not miss a wander in their yard amazing and gorgeous flowers.
We sat outside our cabin and had wine and counted the elk. Great experience for us, terrible nuisance to them
Take a week-end- enjoy yourselves

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mamawolfe215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ovenell's is a working ranch with a long history in the area, and the accommodations are somewhat rustic. We chose a cabin for the extra space and quiet. Breakfast comes only with the rooms in the main inn, but the cabin kitchen was well equipped (if rather small) for cooking a simple meal. The negatives: the mattress was a bit sway-back, the bathroom sink tiny, the furnishings dated, and the resident herd of cattle a bit too close for comfort. We had to climb the fence to access the "river walk," which was basically a pasture walk on the other side of the trees from the river itself, which you can access only in one place. On balance, though, we were satisfied with our stay, especially given the limited options in Concrete: everything was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the cabin well-sized for the two of us (would be a definite squeeze with 4), plus the front porch, covered swing, and grill offered good extensions of the space. No children in our party, but the grounds are well set up for them, with ample playground equipment, as well as videos and toys inside. A bonus: if you're lucky, a great view of Mt. Baker from the access road to the cabins (as well as from the main inn).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were on a backcountry camping trip in north cascades national park this august.At first we were just looking for a campground full services too relax one day after 4 nights in the bush.But everything was sold out. We ran into this place where we were greet by the owner. We only stay one night in the house use as a bed and breakfast. Wow super clean ,amazing view on mt Baker, and the best warm welcome make you feel like home. there s also some log cabin for rent on there beautifull ranch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hularelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

For the location, it was ok. We stayed in the Eagle Room. The bed was too soft and bedding was outdated. Bathroom & kitchen were small & with tight quarters. Utensils, outdated. Coffee creamer packets, outdated and like a rock. Thankfully no issues with cable tv or Wi-Fi. Only downtown restaurant open on a Sun night. Otherwise this small town has no action. Owner was nice and gave recommendations on trails, etc. Only issue is the guidebook that she told me would be in the cabin was nowhere to be found. Good thing I had GPS. I get better value at Marriott Residence Inn stays, including breakfast. If you're desperate to find lodging near the Cascades, as we were, then this place might work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UCIAlumni1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freespirit045, Manager at Ovenell's Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
The bed in this unit is a year old as is the bedding. All bedding & décor is rustic and wildlife theme specific. Artistic style not to everyone's liking if you like modern or streamlined décor. Small rural towns offer peacefulness that large cities do not. If your guidebook or any other amenity is missing please call the office and it will be replaced promptly. Large chain hotels can offer better pricing, and have more amenities etc. small family businesses cannot too high cost ratio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concrete
22.7 mi away
Three Rivers Inn
Three Rivers Inn
#3 of 4 in Sedro Woolley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ovenell's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovenell's Heritage Inn

Property: Ovenell's Heritage Inn
Address: 46276 Concrete Sauk Valley Rd, Concrete, WA 98237-9217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Concrete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Concrete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovenell's Heritage Inn & Log Cabins is located on a historic 580-acre cattle ranch in the heart of the North Cascades National Park and borders the banks of the Wild & Scenic Skagit River. Beautiful views of Mt. Baker and the surrounding Cascade range are breathtaking. Our plush log cabins offer modern amenities with kitchen facilities and private bath and BBQ's. We are open year round for things such as; fishing, hiking, eagle watching, rafting, guided float trips and more. Bring your hiking boots and camera for a memorable stay, wildlife and wildflowers are abundant in the North Cascades. A birders paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing