We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concrete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ovenell's Heritage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2009

My wife and I went up to view the bald eagles we saw 30+) and hike in the old growth Rockport Park. The cabins were crazy clean with everything you need to cook and be comfortable. The Ovenell family was a pleasure to meet as well. The drive from Ballard was less than 2 hours. Perfect weekend getaway. This is the first review I've ever written about anything. The experience was so great I felt compelled to say so.

Dan

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dannyvates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2008

My wife and I stayed in the "Foreman" cabin three years ago. When we returned to Washington state this fall we had such fond memories of the cozy and picturesque ranch that we just had to go back for another stay.

The Ovenell family is friendly and accommodating. Just as in 2005, they supplied a loaf of homemade zucchini bread for us to take back to our little kitchen. In '05 it might have been pumpkin bread. Whatever the case, both were excellent.

The cabins are across the road from the main farm, far enough back, toward the Skagit River, to provide peace and quiet. We were lucky enough to have clear skies providing excellent views of snow-capped Mount Baker and the surrounding Cascade Mountains.

The Foreman is designed for two people, small, warm and comfortable. A gas stove provides more than enough heat on cold autumn nights. There's a bedroom, bathroom with bathtub/shower and counter-top sink, a little dining area with table and chairs, fully equipped kitchen (including microwave, kettle and toaster) and a living area with a sofa and small TV complete with cable.

Especially appreciated are all the thoughtful amenities. The Ovenells thought of everything. Maybe they've had one too many guest call from across the road asking for this and that! I should have written all the goodies down. A partial list includes tea/coffee/creamer/sweeteners/hot cocoa, salt and pepper and even instant oatmeal in the kitchen; soap, shampoo, air freshener, plenty of bathroom tissue, etc. in the bathroom and quite a few other comforts of home that I can't remember.

The rooms are decorated with cowboy prints and assorted Western and rural artifacts - old horseshoes, flour tins, antlers, etc. The effect is a homey feel like you've been transported back in time...that is except for the modern appliances.

One reviewer mentioned a lack of things to do in the area. Concrete isn't exactly a hopping town but it depends on what you're looking for. Outdoor activities are the main attraction. If you're not into fishing, boating or hiking, you might, other than viewing fantastic scenery from your car window, be at a loss. Restaurant choices are limited but there are a few along Route 20 between Concrete and North Cascades National Park. My wife and I are hikers so we absolutely love it up there. You won't find a better choice of trails or more spectacular country anywhere. I live on the East Coast but my screen name describes where my heart is.

As with restaurants, lodging choices for the North Cascades area are limited. From what I've seen and heard, Ovenells Heritage Inn offers the best choice of accommodation for the money. There are a variety of cabins to choose from, ranging in size to fit the needs of most families. If/when I'm back in the area, I'll be back on the ranch. Maybe next time we'll try out one of the other cabins.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northcascades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

This Heritage Family Farm is hosted by three generations of "Ovenells" and all made us feel right at home. They bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, and even offered some of their garden's bounty for one of our meals. The accomodations were cozy, well-stocked, and beyond our expectations. Add to this that the farm is located on 500 beautiful, pastoral acres with an incredible view of Mt. Baker! Best of all, they had accessible cabins for my wheelchair-bound husband--a real rarity in the "B&B" category!! I heartily recommend a stay for your family for a real taste of the country life!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ne1home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I loved the beautiful setting of the cabin we stayed in, but my husband felt the bathroom was too small and the table was not level. I enjoyed setting on the front porch and watching the sunset, but I was dissapointed that we did not get any breakfast, because we did not stay at the inn. The cabin had just about everything you would need for a short stay and the price was not bad. The staff was very helpful. One thing that we missed was there was no internet service, although we did have cable TV and that nice sunset.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmahazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2005

I must say I didn't expect much from this small town nestled in the mountains however The Heritage Inn was a delightful surprise. Located on a large ranch property, there are cabins as well as rooms in the farmhouse. We stayed in one of the log cabins which was immaculately clean and well stocked. There is a small kitchenette with everything you would need to prepare meals. There is a local grocery which we stopped at before arriving. AAA discount.

5  Thank lady frobisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rooster4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ovenell's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovenell's Heritage Inn

Address: 46276 Concrete Sauk Valley Rd, Concrete, WA 98237-9217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Concrete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Concrete
Price Range: £86 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovenell's Heritage Inn & Log Cabins is located on a historic 580-acre cattle ranch in the heart of the North Cascades National Park and borders the banks of the Wild & Scenic Skagit River. Beautiful views of Mt. Baker and the surrounding Cascade range are breathtaking. Our plush log cabins offer modern amenities with kitchen facilities, private bath and BBQ's. We are open year round for things such as; fishing, hiking, eagle watching, rafting, guided float trips and more. Bring your hiking boots and camera for a memorable stay, wildlife and wildflowers are abundant in the North Cascades. A birders paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing