We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for hikers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cougar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfort's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Cougar B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for hikers!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Not so great for a romantic getaway. The owners, Marilyn & Gary are great and the place is comfortable but do not go expecting the normal bed and breakfast. The reason I say it is great for hikers is because the breakfast is orange juice, cup of fruit, muffin and a granola bar. The TV is only for movies so do not expect to watch Late night TV to go to sleep. There is a great common room between two of the rooms with a kitchen, table, TV, and a daybed which is great for family game night or just sitting down to eat. Our biggest complaints would be that there is no closet space and only 3 hooks to hang clothes on. Not a problem if you are just out there for a hike or two. The second complaint would be the shower. The water pressure was so low that I could not even wash my hair. We did leave with a smile on our face because Gary sang us a few songs which made us laugh and smile. They are really nice people.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms. Two are shared by a common room and the third is by itself so if you need two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fresno
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Used Monforts as a base for exploring the Mt St Helens area. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were outstanding. Mrs Monfort welcomed us like royalty, and set us up in our room. Our first night was in the detached building, which shares a large living room / kitchen area with a second bedroom. The second night, we stayed in the main house, in a room with a private entrance. A spotless clean facility which is not plush, just down home quaint. We will never forget Mr Monfort showing up at our door with his guitar and singing us several songs....amazing. The Monforts are wonderful people who go the extra mile for their guests.....stay here when visiting the south side of Mt St Helens

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ks404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This B & B is located 20 minutes from the Climbers Bivouac which is the starting point of the hike to the summit of Mount St. Helens. The owners Marilyn & Gary Monfort run a great B & B. When we walked in we were struck with two things....the wonderful air conditioning which we really appreaciated on a hot August weekend and the smell of clean! The place was spotless, clean bedding, great jetted soaker tub in one of the bedrooms and full size fridge for all our water and hiking food. The suite we were in had two separate bedrooms each with a queen size bed, adjoinging bathrooms, living area with kitchen, dining table, day bed with a trundle bed underneath. It was spacious and spotless. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestcoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We had reservations to stay at a nearby "resort" the night before our scheduled climb, which also coincided with a once in a life time heat wave. Unfortunately the "resort" lacked A/C so we hustled to find alternative accommodations. Luckily we found Monfort's about 250 feet away

The rooms are large and clean, if a bit outdated. There is a full kitchen which is a nice feature when prepping for the climb. Did I mention that it was very clean? The hosts were great also.

Highly recommended.

Andrew

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krankyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cougar
23.5 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
22.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Battle Ground Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Lone Fir Resort
Lone Fir Resort
#1 of 1 in Cougar
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Lewis River Inn
Lewis River Inn
#1 of 3 in Woodland
172 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Monfort's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfort's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Monfort's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Cougar Loop Rd, Cougar, WA 98616-9703
Region: United States > Washington > Cougar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cougar
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing