We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Timmons - Monfort's overflow lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cougar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfort's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Cougar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Monfort's B&B was booked, so we were told to stay at their overflow place, the Timmons' home. This is only lodging; not a B&B. Wow, what a pleasant surprise! The Timmons are super nice and their trailer home is super clean, smells like flowers, and so quaint, like staying at Grandma's country home! They allowed us to use their living room (TV) and kitchen to make our own continental breakfast. It was worth $70 per night and close to our hiking destination.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Technogality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

No not a romantic get-away, but it is exactly what we expected for a B&B in Cougar, WA. The night before we visited Mt. St. Helens we stayed at Monfort's B&B. It was a nice room for a good price. I wish we would have spent more time talking to Gary. I have to believe he has many more wonderful stories to tell about the region. The breakfast was very modest.. Marilyn put a few items in the refrigerator the night before that got us through to breakfast. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Made a motorcycle road trip, from California, to Washington to see Mount St Helens, we stopped at the Jacksons observatory, which in itself ws amazing and something that no-one should miss. We stopped for the night at a quaint little BB called Monforts in a the tiny village of Cougar. If you are looking for luxury, forget it, but if you are wanting a home from home, away from all the modern technology, this will be the getaway for you. There was a Jacuzi that I really did enjoy soaking my weary bones in tho. No TV reception or cell phone, but DVDs and video tapes that you can borrow. A microwave, fridge and coffeee maker in the dinning area. A shop was a stones throw away and across the road a bar and grill run by friendly staff, so no need to prepare your own food if you don't want too. The couple that run the BB were very welcoming and made you feel like part of their family. The ride to it was lovely, up on the mountainside in the forest.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the Jacuzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyawatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We needed a place to explore Mt St Helens area and Cougar was our choice. But in Cougar you do not have too many choices to stay and we decided to go for the Monfort's. And that was the right choice. The Monforts are just a fine couple with a very personal touch. And Gary loves to entertain its guest with his guitar but only if you want it. Listen to their stories and you will understand more about life in this remote part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pstaehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Not so great for a romantic getaway. The owners, Marilyn & Gary are great and the place is comfortable but do not go expecting the normal bed and breakfast. The reason I say it is great for hikers is because the breakfast is orange juice, cup of fruit, muffin and a granola bar. The TV is only for movies so do not expect to watch Late night TV to go to sleep. There is a great common room between two of the rooms with a kitchen, table, TV, and a daybed which is great for family game night or just sitting down to eat. Our biggest complaints would be that there is no closet space and only 3 hooks to hang clothes on. Not a problem if you are just out there for a hike or two. The second complaint would be the shower. The water pressure was so low that I could not even wash my hair. We did leave with a smile on our face because Gary sang us a few songs which made us laugh and smile. They are really nice people.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms. Two are shared by a common room and the third is by itself so if you need two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Used Monforts as a base for exploring the Mt St Helens area. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were outstanding. Mrs Monfort welcomed us like royalty, and set us up in our room. Our first night was in the detached building, which shares a large living room / kitchen area with a second bedroom. The second night, we stayed in the main house, in a room with a private entrance. A spotless clean facility which is not plush, just down home quaint. We will never forget Mr Monfort showing up at our door with his guitar and singing us several songs....amazing. The Monforts are wonderful people who go the extra mile for their guests.....stay here when visiting the south side of Mt St Helens

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ks404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This B & B is located 20 minutes from the Climbers Bivouac which is the starting point of the hike to the summit of Mount St. Helens. The owners Marilyn & Gary Monfort run a great B & B. When we walked in we were struck with two things....the wonderful air conditioning which we really appreaciated on a hot August weekend and the smell of clean! The place was spotless, clean bedding, great jetted soaker tub in one of the bedrooms and full size fridge for all our water and hiking food. The suite we were in had two separate bedrooms each with a queen size bed, adjoinging bathrooms, living area with kitchen, dining table, day bed with a trundle bed underneath. It was spacious and spotless. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestcoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monfort's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfort's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Cougar Loop Rd, Cougar, WA 98616-9703
Region: United States > Washington > Cougar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cougar
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing