We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite stop”
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weinhard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years and always try to include it whenever I'm in SE Washington. I'm a big fan of older, historic hotels and this one is a great example, as well as comfortable, the staff is great, and it's right in the center of Dayton (an easy walk to anywhere in town). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper hallway have easy access to the second-floor deck at the back of the hotel. A gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Cris, Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor! We so appreciate your continued patronage. Best Wishes in all your travels! Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for the first time in September of 2012 and enjoyed the hotel and surroundings so much, we returned 3 more times within the year - most recently in August 2013. You can't ask for a cleaner, friendlier, more unique hotel experience than the Weinhard. The rooms are large, beautifully furnished, quiet, and the beds are very comfortable. We've stayed twice upstairs and twice downstairs - and have not been disappointed! Locally owned and so much better than the corporate chain hotel options make this an easy choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PattyPan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

It's so great to hear that you have returned to stay with us several times in the last year! Thank you for your continues support of our small business! You only need to stay 11 more times in order to try each and every room. :)
With great appreciation,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently traveled back to Dayton WA, at the foot of the Blue Mountains, where I graduated High School. We had the great opportunity to stay at the beautiful Weinhard Hotel in Dayton. This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and each room has been individually appointed in century old pieces. It is very comfortable with it's pillow top beds and only the best linens. We stayed there for 2 nights in restful luxury. The staff are very friently and informative and even provide fresh fruit and dark chocolates. They have recenly added refrigerators to each room and every morning before dawn, there is fresh brewed coffee just steps away from your room. I love the big fans in the room which provide a fresh air environment with the 12 ft ceilings! I stay here each time I visit historical Dayton and would stay no where else. You are pampered from the start with their coffee/wine bar and only a few doors away from fine dining, although you are right in the middle of town, all windows face off the main street, so there is NO NOISE! We were even on the bottom floor this time and there was still NO NOISE! This century old establishment is a real treat. There is a lovely Saturday market next door at the Historic Depot if you are lucky enough to visit in the summer. Another great amenity is the terrace garden on top, providing a lovely place to read or sip your coffee. We have stayed all over the country, including the best of Europe and Asia (the Ritz) and this hotel stands up to the best of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyBurton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, Cathy! We are so pleased that we can be part of what makes coming "home" to Dayton such a treat for you. Thank you for sharing your experience with others!
Wishing you the Best, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a pleasure it was to stay at The Weinhard Hotel! We could not be more impressed by the hospitality and accommodations. The rooms are beautifully appointed and maintained. Rooms that are not reserved are open for guests to view. The upstairs patio garden is reminiscent of European patio. Perfect for reading in the morning! We loved the proximity to Walla Walla and the many wine tasting rooms. Thank you for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dianna, Thank YOU for a delightful review! Now that you have viewed the unoccupied rooms during your recent stay, you'll have to come back and try each one to be sure they are all just as comfortable. So glad you enjoyed Dayton and Walla Walla wine tasting. Cheers! Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here passing through between Pullman and Walla Walla. Everything was perfect! The staff was friendly the lobby and the room were both immaculate and charming and the breakfast was elegantly served and yummy. We will definitely try to stay here again.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelingteachers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We are glad to accommodate 2 Travelling Teachers! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you have occasion to visit us again. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Wishes!
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a wedding anniversary, Iwerecently stayed 2 nights at The Weinhard Hotel and was very pleased with the experience. Everything was perfect....location, cleanliness, ambience, and price. The lobby and rooms were roomy with beautiful antiques. The staff were friendly, the entire experience was charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheMcPikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Congratulations on your Anniversary, Mr. & Mrs. McPike.
Thank you for choosing to spend it at The Weinhard Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again when you are in Eastern Washington!
All the Best,
Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Weinhard Hotel. It is at (approximately) at the half way point between two cities we regularly visit (Portland and Spokane). I just know that we will stop again at the hotel. We stayed in room 15. It was terrific! Next time, we'll stay in that room or in room 16. Both rooms are great. We also had a wonderful meal at the Weinhard Cafe (across the street). And, we really enjoyed exploring around the town of Dayton. If we weren't really happy in our own home community, I would seriously consider moving to Dayton. It's a very pleasant place. Overall, our time at the Weinhard Hotel was (seriously) a highlight of our summer. It's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 15 are best. Room 16 is right off the rooftop garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you, David, for taking the time to review us!
Dayton is indeed a charming town - I have been fortunate enough to live here all my life and am always pleased when others can see all that keeps me here. I'm thrilled that your time with us was a highlight to your summer. We will look forward to your next visit!
All the Best to you, Shellie McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Hotel & Suites
24.6 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Dayton Motel
Dayton Motel
#3 of 4 in Dayton
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
179 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Walla Walla
260 reviews
23.7 mi away
Green Gables Inn
Green Gables Inn
#2 of 12 in Walla Walla
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Address: 235 E Main St, Dayton, WA 99328-1352
Region: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weinhard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Weinhard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton
The Weinhard Hotel Dayton, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing