We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomdating”
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in one of the cabins which allowed us to bring our two four legged girls. The private hot tub as well as the fireplace were huge plusses for us. Breakfast was quaint with items placed for us in a picnic basket and cold items in our little refrigerator. We also took advantage of the onsite restaurant which we enjoyed but felt was a little overpriced. We never met our hosts, they trusted us to come and go as we pleased by placing our room key in a bag in the office ready for us to pick up. Although I did like the relaxed nature of the check in procedure a little personal interaction might have been nice. The grounds probably could have been a little more manicured but I assumed our hosts like to maintain a more natural experience. All in all we had a great stay and would definitely recommend Deer Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorbinT0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My two children (ages 10 and 9) and I enjoyed a memorable two night stay in a very quaint and well appointed Deer Harbor Inn cottage (#2). Our hosts were there but not there. We frankly saw more of their adorable cats than we did of them. Breakfast was provided in a cute picnic hamper. We watched some great classic dvd's when it rained and enjoyed some magnificent hikes when it cleared up.
How to improve...perhaps open their fine restaurant more frequently than only on the weekends...although we do appreciate the realities of island demand here.
All in all a wonderful stay. Thanks Carpenters!
ps...take your swimming gear for the cottage exclusive Jacuzzi's on the back deck. Beautiful setting
for a tub and a (plastic) glass of wine

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

TV didn't work and the poorly organized breakfast was really a let down, unless you consider a banana, English muffin and a bag of cereal in a large picnic basket very filling. We saw some staff that said "sorry about the TV"-and cleaned our room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54westnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhinn, Owner at Deer Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

The Deer Harbor Inn would like the opportunity to respond to this guest's comments.
We are sorry the cable TV did not work but was beyond our control.The cable company had an outage and the system was down about 12 hrs. We know how several hours with out media imput can be disturbing but it was beyond our control. As far as the breakfast, it was as discribed on our web page and all promotional material,homemade glueten free granola, hard boiled eggs,orange juice,whole grain english muffins bannanas and bottled water along with Starbucks coffee
Thanks Craig Carpenter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely Island! Able to get pics of deer and rabbits right in our own back yard! Stayed in The Pond Cottage. Lovely! Tempurpedic beds (I think, didn't check the tags). Granite counter tops and country sink in the kitchen. Stainless steel appliances. Washer and dryer. Only con: take the Hot tub cover off right away and turn the temp to something you can sit in. It took at least 2 hours to cool to a usable temp. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Pond Cottage was worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at Deer Harbor Inn, not knowing what to expect. We were pleased to experience a quiet, relaxing time. It reminded us of a retreat center, rustic but peaceful. There were large rabbits roaming around, along with sauntering cats It wasn't the best time of the year to embrace the outdoors, however, we enjoyed the lovely dinner at their restaurant and the slowness of time. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, and we smiled at the quaint breakfast snacks to munch on in the morning. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a room with better wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBTravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We didn't see one person who worked there. Everything is self service (even check in where anyone can just grab your key). Our groupon said breakfast was included which was a joke. Two English muffins in a Baggie with a banana and some granola cereal wrapped up in plastic. Is that even sanitary? Who knows how long it had been there. The curtains in our cottage did not even close all the way and my husband and I woke up as soon as the sun came up because it shined right in our eyes!! He was not very happy . So much for a relaxing sleeping in weekend!! There were dust bunnies all over . The property looked like some kind of compound and not very inviting. Such a disappointment !!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmmchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We really wanted to rate this place 3 stars and it has tremendous calling for some but we expected much more for the monies charged for an Orchard Cottage.

We knew this was a County Inn and the property layout is cute. There is a restaurant on the property, we enjoyed a meal there one night and the food was moderately priced & put together well. The rooms were very clean and as many previous reviews stated, you pull in, park, find your bag and show yourself to own place & it's pretty simple. The rooms were cute with "country décor and a log rustic type theme which was nice. Propane fireplace kept us warm, it was surely romantic, pet friendly and the grounds were pretty quiet. The bunnies that wander about are as big as any cotton tails I've ever seen and deer walked through the rear of the property just after sunrise.

We know Orcas Island and were very underwhelmed here and we wanted to just love it but only loved part of it. The property is located about 1/4 - half a mile away from the water with only peekaboo views at a distance. Cell phone's don't work unless you stand on a picnic table outside away from the rooms and there were no telephones in the rooms. We like to cook our own meals and are glad we brought a cooler as the refrigerator was ultra tiny, the silverware & glasses dated from the 1950's, the coffee maker 2 cup and the mattress had a foam pillow top which was uncomfortable to both my wife & I. The cottages were to have BBQ's which ours did not and after walking to find staff because there was no phone, we were told to go take the neighbors BBQ at the next cottage which we were not comfortable with yet we had no choice as we brought steaks. The TV was really-really small, the hot tub was so hot we couldn't get in (109dg+ and we own one), one of the two buttons were broken and there was a chlorine float, loaded with chlorine tablets which would have ruined our suits and again, there was no telephone to call staff or ask for assistance in any of our issues.

We are not pretentious people and feel badly writing a challenging review as our two interactions with the Owner and staff were pleasant, the grounds pleasant, the restaurant good but we expected far more for the monies charged to stay here. Had the rates been 50% off or more than the advertised rates, this would have been a 3 star review.

Room Tip: Cottages are much larger than private rooms. Cell phones don't work nor are there telephones i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBlueMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhinn, Owner at Deer Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

The Deer Harbor Inn thanks you for your recent visit. Just to clearfy a couple for your comments, we use bromine for a sanitizer in the tub and test it daily to be within state standards. The tubs are only capable of heating to 104 as per state standards. Also want to state that the mattress was not a foam topper but a top end memory foam mattress that other guests have said was the best they have slept on. We are sorry about the cell service but that is what it is in Deer Harbor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range: £129 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing