We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent partners and friends for outdoor life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kruger Escapes

Kruger Escapes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have two boats! The sailing vessel Tomahawk is a 51' Custom German Frers Sloop. She was built for the southern ocean races, and is now based in the Pacific Northwest on Orcas Island. She is available for Day Sails and Custom Multi-day trips. The sailing vessel Winkapew (Wing-KAH-poe) is a 61' Custom C&C Ketch, designed for comfort, speed and offshore cruising. She is available for Custom Multi-day trips, Adventure trips, and special events.
Dörrenbach
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent partners and friends for outdoor life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

With a group of German hikers we met Jess Kruger and her friend Mary many years ago on the Juan-de-Fuca-Trail, Vancouver Island: a real pleasure to share with them our love for nature, adventure and (outdoor) live. And what an excellent continuation of these ideas now with Kruger Escapes!
Hermes Peter Herrmann, Doerrenbach, Germany

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrugerEscapes, Owner at Kruger Escapes, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hermes! Thank you so much for your review, and how we would love to take a sailing and hiking trip with you!! Such great memories of our Vancouver Island hiking....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sailing in the San Juans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We sailed with Carl, Jess, and little Dagny on an overcast day, but had a brilliant time zipping through the waters around San Juan Island. They picked us up at Roche Harbor and we sailed our into Haro Straight, each of us getting to take a turn at the helm and learn some of the basics of sailing on their zippy, fun sailboat. My son, Evan, also had a blast playing with Dagny and getting a full tour of the insides of the boat from her - she's a great addition to the team with her hostess skills and only at age 3! We also had the fortune of getting up close and personal with a pod of whales on our sail back toward the Harbor. What a treat! Carl was fantastic about guiding the boat so that we had prime viewing. And it was equally fun learning about the adventures of living on a boat from Jess. I'd heartily recommend taking the time to book a sailing trip with the Kruger's when you make it to the San Juans. We'll definitely be repeating another adventure with them again in the future.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing day on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had the great fortune of going on a day sail with Karl, Jess and their daughter Dagny. It was incredible! Not only was the scenery unbelievable but the boat and company was so much fun. Jess and Dagny made us feel right at home which is a plus since we have a three year old and seven month old. Karl was very knowledgeable about the marine life, tides, weather, and sailing. We felt very safe and comfortable on a truly amazing boat. If you have the chance and find yourself in the San Juan Islands, do not hesitate to take a trip (long or short) with them. You will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 60878Jessica_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went for a half day sail with Karl, Jess and their daughter in July. Nicest people you can imagine. We had little wind at first, then were able to sail. Our son in law got to sail quite a bit of the time and he was in heaven. It was fun to sail around different islands. Other members of our family went out a couple of days later. We all agreed it was a blast. We had great weather and temps. Part of the family had to really bundle up...but they too really loved their sail. We highly recommend this activity.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedgeclipperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kruger Escapes also viewed

 
Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Kruger Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing