We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
233
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
2
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseorcas islandeach morningback porcheggs florentinehelped us planchef johnpublic roomsevery guestperfect retreatharvest suiteperfect sizebread puddingliving roomwhale watchingstayed two nightsartwork
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I simply cannot imagine a more luxurious, pleasant, and welcoming experience than offered by hosts/owners John & Jeremy at their impeccably appointed inn. Walking distance from Deer Harbor, the inn is situated on an expansive property adjacent to a tidal slough that features visiting sea otters and a harbor seal. The breakfasts are the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is the 10th year we've stayed at The Inn on Orcas Island, each time is like a new experience. The warmth and friendliness of Jeremy and John is the same, so genuine. The delious breakfast changes each day as does the china it is served on. Breakfast can be private or shared with travelers from all over the world. We marvel at Jeremy's flower gardens, if he's not serving breakfast he'll be found somewhere on the property working in a garden. If you are lucky enough to catch John he is so interesting and may share his passion of horses with you, we always leave better people than when we arrived. Deer Harbor is special also, if you arrive by boat it has absolutely one of the best marina's in the San Juans, and if you need a boat repair there's a great funky boat yard near by. Orcas Island is laid back, warm, friendly and as full of as much adventure as a person has energy. We love it and will be back.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days, consider the Carriage House, it is private, a complete apartment with kitchen, and way more room than any traveler normally enjoys.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Water63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

It took us nine years to return to the area of the Juan de Fuca strait, that island-dotted sea channel between mainland British Columbia and Vancouver Island. Our first glimpse of the San Juan Islands had been from a zodiac boat out of Victoria harbor -- we found no whales that day, but we did see the San Juans and Mt. Baker in the distance.

On this week-long re-visit (in June 2012) we flew into Seattle-Tacoma, transferred to Anacortes, WA, for the Washington State Ferry to Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. Several days later we ferried over to Orcas Island, picked up our rental car in Deer Harbor and drove a short distance to the magnificent The Inn on Orcas Island. This Inn had been recommended by a friend and it far exceeded our expectations.

Innkeepers Jeremy and John built the Inn over a 10-year period and then spent 10 more years finishing and furnishing the property -- and what a lovely, thoughtful result! The Inn's pubic spaces and grounds are inviting; it was built for quiet and comfort. Our room overlooked the sculpted back lawn and tidal pool. A bonus: the entire Inn is filled to overflowing with visual art and crafts, the walls are covered with interesting works -- did I mention the breakfasts; the welcoming bottle of champagne; the robes and jetted bath; the luscious cookies on our nightstand each morning?

Jeremy is a cordial and extremely helpful host. And John's fine breakfasts speak for themselves. We urge you to visit them on Orcas Island even if you have to go out of your way to add this stop to your itinerary -- it's worth your visit!

B&B Yarkon
New York, USA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our stay couldn't have been more relaxing and beautiful. This stunning location was something out of a magazine of a perfect inn. Jeremy couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. The cookies on the bed were decadent and though we had to leave too early for breakfast on our last day he made sure we had a breakfast to take with us.
Karen & Paul
NYC

Room Tip: Book this spot early.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend at the Inn on Orcas Island. It was fabulous. Jeremy is the perfect host, making sure you have anything you could possibly need while John cooks amazing gourmet breakfasts. We felt so spoiled. Every detail has been thought of at this place. It is so rare to see such a well run establishment.

The inn is in a beautiful private setting overlooking the water. Our cottage had a fireplace, luxurious bathroom and a patio with chairs with a view of the water. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews