We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banks, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I spent 2 nights at this absolutely lovely Inn and was so happy that I did. Jeremy and John provide a beautiful, restful, hospitable atmosphere---the Inn itself is lovely, but the warmth and attention to details made it even better. As mentioned in another earlier review, the cookies and champagne were a really nice touch----did I mention the cookies? John is a cook and baker extraordinaire! The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious. The location of the Inn was wonderful also---right near an estuary-you have a beautiful view from your room plus a really nice big porch at the back of the house with chairs to sit and relax and watch the wildlife ( bald eagles, deer, great blue herons). The beds are extremely plush and comfortable and the common rooms are very comfortable and inviting. I would definitely return here---Jeremy and John are terrific hosts and the location is really nice for wildlife watching and quiet. Jeremy gave me great ideas for exploring the island and hiking---thank you both for my wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Toile Room, one of the Queen rooms. It was very comfortable and had a very good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We spent Memorial Day Weekend at the Inn and it was so very relaxing and peaceful that we wished we never had to leave. As mentioned by other reviewers, Jeremy and John thought of everything. The cookies and champagne were a nice touch. Our ferry back to the mainland was extremely early and John packed us a breakfast bag with the yummiest blueberry breakfast cake. This inn is a little treasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoNowOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Orcas Island was the third of the San Juan Islands we visited on this trip and The Inn at Orcas Island was a spectacular end to our trip. John and Jeremy have thought of everything to make a stay special. The rooms, decor,views, breakfasts were over the top good. More importantly Jeremy and John offer a warmth and friendliness that make you feel like you are visiting very special fiends or family. We enjoyed sitting on the back veranda with a glass of wine viewing the estuary and tree covered hillsides. Visiting the San Juan Islands was relaxing and tranquil vacation which allowed us to re-charge the batteries. We could not have been more pleased with the two bed and breakfasts we stayed in; The Inn at Orcas Island on Orcas Island and Wildwood Manor on San Juan Island. These two sets of innkeepers and two bed and breakfast inns provided a very very memorable trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoomisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The service at The Inn on Orcas Island was impeccable, and there were multiple small touches that made the stay memorable. There was a small bottle of champagne in the room (complete with 2 champagne glasses chilling in the fridge!) along with 2 fresh baked chocolate chip cookies waiting for us on the bed. The B&B is spacious and comfortable, as was the room that we stayed in (Wisteria Room). The gardens are beautifully landscaped, and were a pleasure to walk around when it wasn't drizzing! Jeremy made my husband & I feel immediately welcome, and was a fount of useful information on places to go and things to see. My only criticism is that it was a challenge to find the Inn, as there isn't a sign from the main road to point the way, and your phone's navigation system may not work well on the islands. Regardless, it was a wonderful place to stay, and I'd wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone visiting Orcas Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha_ann_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here! From the moment we arrived, Jeremy treated us like old friends and special guests. He and John seem to have thought of everything in creating this special place. We stayed in the Carriage House, and I would highly recommend it! Beautiful, private, comfortable and cozy. Our breakfast conversations with Jeremy were a highlight of our weekend, and when we left we felt like we had a new friend on the island. As a vegan, I was truly grateful for the obvious time and thought John put into making my breakfasts just as gourmet and delectable as my husband's non-vegan version. Just one more example of how Jeremy and John go the extra mile in creating this beautiful haven for their guests. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you want to feel like you are staying in a comfortable palace, complete with beautifully decorated rooms with chandeliers, art and beautiful music, this is the retreat for you. John's chocolate chip cookies and breakfasts were not only very tasty, but beautifully presented. Our room was immaculate, and spacious, with views of the pond and surrounding area. We agree with other posts, what made it the most special was Jeremy's way of treating you like an old friend, always ready to ask questions and provide recommendations, or tell you about the island. Our breakfasts in the day room overlooking their property were the highlight of our visit to the Island. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I would go back to Orcas Island just to stay here! It literally felt to me like straight out of a fairy tale or from The Secret Garden. The house itself is like an elegant manor with timeless art and decor.

The food (cookies and breakfast + their orcas island coffee) were amazing. The room itself was magical, as well as the bathroom. They were wonderfully decorated, neat and obviously well kept, as well as spacious.

But the 5 star rating really belongs to the hosts. NO WORDS can describe their genuine sincerity. It felt like we were simply visiting friends we have just not seen for a very, very long time.

Can't think of any complaints whatsoever. Will most definitely come back during the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich24mich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
0.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Orcas Island

Property: The Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 114 Channel Road, P.O. Box 309, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No guests under 18 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Deer Harbor
The Inn On Orcas Island Deer Harbor, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing