We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have traveled the world...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Short Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We have traveled the world...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

My husband and I travel quite extensively around the world. We had a medical conference in Whistler, so we decided to travel to Orcas Island, thanks to a NY Times review... WOW!! From the moment you board the ferry at Anacordes to the time you go home, Orcas Island is tranquil, beautiful, friendly, homey and perfect. The Orcas Inn was by far the best B&B that we have ever stayed in. The entrance is captivating, the inn is breathtaking and is decorated the way you would love your home to be. Welcoming is an understatement. The colors, the artwork and the ambiance are just make you want to let out a nice sigh of relief that finally you can now relax and unwind. We stayed at the inn for only 3 nights and took the recommendation from Jeremy on everything. Things to do, see, explore and restaurants... it was all great!! However, it was the little things that Jeremy and John did that were very special. You arrive at your room to freshly baked chocolate chip cookies on your pillow, with a little bow. At breakfast I recommend eating 1/3 of the first course and saving room for the actual main dish. John will wrap up the 1st course for you to take with you. I don't know where they learned to make these kinds of meals, they were out of this world! I could sit and write forever about John & Jeremy and the Orcas Inn, but I am running out of room on this site. I know that you will love it and agree that 3 nights is not enough time. Have fun and enjoy the tranquility that the Orcas Inn has to offer. Ps. Remind Jeremy to wear his hat!! He has very fair skin!!

  • Liked — the warmth exuded from the inn keepers and the inn
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

Most travelers know the San Juan Islands through the name island and its commercial hub, Friday Harbor. For a change of pace, try nearby Orcas Island -- a less-trafficked, verdant, endearingly hippie-dippy place that blends aspects of Martha's Vineyard, Vermont and Berkeley. On the west side of the island at Deer Harbor is the Inn on Orcas Island, a stylish, five-year-old inn run by Jeremy and John. The hosts spare few details -- from WiFi in the spacious sitting room to morning coffee in the sun room to the delicious cookies on the pillows. The hotel has bicycles and a canoe for paddling on the inlet out back, and is withing walking distance to the marina, where you can sail, whale-watch or catch a seaplane. Jeremy was extremely helpful with recommendations, including when to show up for which ferry. You'll leave refreshed and like you've met some new friends.

  • Liked — The hosts extend a warm welcome.
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like -- but it was predictably pricey.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

My wife and I just spent two days at the Inn on Orcas Island and can give it a strong recommendation. The Inn is beautiful with lots of wonderful artwork. It is on a small inlet that has Osprey and other wildlife. The owner (Jeremy) was friendly and very helpful with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. His breakfasts are excellent. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. We would certainly stay again if we came back to Orcas.

  • Liked — Quiet and beautiful location
  • Disliked — Distance to other activities
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWGWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

We just returned from celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at this magnificent Inn. It truly was an amazing couple of days. We have visited the island before but this was our first at the Inn. From the moment we drove onto the property we knew we had found a place we would return to. The gardens, the building, the interior decor and the food was beyond our wildest expectations. We stayed in the Serenity suite, beautifully decorated, comfy beds, a beautiful fireplace and an amazing view from our little balcony. The outdoor porch complete with wicker chairs is a wonderful place to sit dreaming away the afternoon. We took a blanket, a bottle of wine, cheese and bread down by the waters edge and dreamed our afternoon away. Jeremy -the host- is the most wonderful person who immediately makes you feel like you have arrived at your "home away from home" and can't do enough to make your stay absolutely perfect. John- your chef - is the most marvelous cook and breakfast quickly becomes the absolute highlight of your day and his cookies are "to die for". We left feeling like we had just made 2 new friends and looking for any excuse we could come up with to return again soon. I almost didn't write this recommendation knowing that once the word really gets out it on how truly wonderful this place is it will become almost impossible to find a vacancy here. Thankyou guys for making our 30th so wonderful. We'll be back soon.
Ken and Marg

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

The Inn on Orcas Island Date: October, 2006
Reviewers: Eugenia & John Potter, Lousiville, KY

Run, don't walk to the Inn on Orcas Island. Owner John is the indefatigable, entertaining host. Owner Jeremy is the creative chef extraordinaire. You enjoy sublime breakfasts in a serene dining room overlooking an enviable setting. The view from front porch is nature's bounty: birds & deer up front and close. Attention to exquisite detail is evident everywhere you turn. John exudes a naturally warm hospitality that enlightens you on local lore and where to eat on Orcas AND Seattle. A fountain of knowledge that turned our trip into a grand success. We cannot wait to return.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank DerbyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

Every year we celebrate our anniversary on Orcas Island where we were married ten years ago. For the past three years we have been coming to the Inn on Orcas Island (or John and Jeremy's home as we have come to call it). The personal care and welcome we receive is truly like coming home for us and we will never stay anywhere else! We'll usually find Jeremy tending the beautiful flowers when we arrive and after we catch up for the year it's off to our room. Each room is beautifully appointed with exceptional art work and specially designed linens, pillows and decor (by John). The beds are so comfortable (especially for naps and "early to bedders".) Each room has it's own character and view of the pond and wildlife from the private balcony. Last summer we stayed in the cabin on the property and we felt like we had our own special place with lots of privacy and room to relax under the trees or on the covered porch while watching the birds on the pond through our binoculars. The gourmet breakfasts are the best we have had while traveling! Usually a three course menu starting with a breakfast cake from a recipe belonging to one of John's aunts from the midwest. It's always a special surprise every morning and entree selections range from "Huevos Orcas" to fabulous bread pudding. John and Jeremy will always give recommendations for special dining places on the island and activities to match the day and your mood. (You may just want to stay there and enjoy the grounds or relax in the living room surrounded by books and soft background music - or sit in a wicker chair on the porch and sip on wine while watching the tide in the pond come in (or out). We can hardly wait for our next visit with John and Jeremy next summer - it is one of the highlights of the year for us!

  • Liked — Excellent ambience, service and food!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything...
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonleyJohannesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2006

As you approach the Inn, the picturesque setting is the first of many wonderful treasures you will experience during your stay. We have just returned from our fourth visit to The Inn On Orcas Island and we find something new to love each time. Innkeepers John and Jeremy leave no stone unturned in making your stay memorable. The beds are dressed in down and envelop you from head to toe. Each morning a sumptuous breakfast is served on English china. Find a book to read and retreat to the back porch or go for a bike ride. The Inn's tasteful interior is relaxing and elegant. Take your time strolling through the gardens so as not to miss a thing. The Inn On Orcas Island is 'the' destination on Orcas Island.

  • Liked — I liked everything. There isn't one specific thing.
  • Disliked — There is not anything I didn't like.
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjklarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
0.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Orcas Island

Property: The Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 114 Channel Road, P.O. Box 309, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No guests under 18 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Deer Harbor
The Inn On Orcas Island Deer Harbor, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing